Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High performance at a competitive price point
This is a very good drive indeed, and is the best performing of the regular WD drive line.

The 'Blue' series drives are the standard good drives for everyday use. (These are the only ones that come in both SATA 6 Gb/s and the older PATA 100 MB/s connection styles; all others are only SATA). The max. capacity for these is 1 TB.
The 'Green' drives are...
Published 5 months ago by Music maven

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drive ok, but very poorly packaged
The drive is as advertised, and WD drives are usually of excellent quality, so no worries there.

However, the packing it was shipped in was insufficient. A thinly padded envelope which was then loose in a larger box is not enough for a hard drive. I've run a full format and a surface test, and it all seems ok, but I suspect I was quite lucky.
Published 14 months ago by T Still


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High performance at a competitive price point, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
This is a very good drive indeed, and is the best performing of the regular WD drive line.

The 'Blue' series drives are the standard good drives for everyday use. (These are the only ones that come in both SATA 6 Gb/s and the older PATA 100 MB/s connection styles; all others are only SATA). The max. capacity for these is 1 TB.
The 'Green' drives are focused on low energy consumption and therefore have lowest spin ratings (making them slower) but keep very cool & quiet. These go all the way up to 6 TB.
The 'Purple' are designed for low spin use with ATA streaming & AllFrame technology designed with surveillance video footage recording in mind. These go up to 4 TB.
The 'Red' series drives are designed for RAID array systems. These go all the way up to 6 TB.
The 'Black' series are designed for the best performance for gamers and graphic artists with fast spin-rates, Vibration Control Technology (VCT) and Corruption Protection Technology (CPT) to prevent data loss in the case of power failure to the unit. These go up to 4 TB.

The only drive that WD make faster and better than the Black series is the VelociRapter series with the fastest spin cycles and it's own custom vibration and cooling bracket. These are more triple the price on a GB-by-GB cost ratio. See Western Digital Velociraptor - 1TB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM

These "Black" drives are really the best of the regular series for high performance computing. I have mine installed as a bootable Windows OS main HDD, and it outperforms the previous drive, even though it was only a 200 GB drive. You'd think for so little space, verses a 1 TB drive, that the 200 GB drive would be faster as there's so much less space to have to scan. But the WD Black is as good with five times the capacity.

It's very quiet and performs quickly with no read/write errors upon diagnostic scan tests.

The packaging was satisfactory (not an original fancy box). It was in an anti-static bag, with plastic spacers on each end, that was in turn in a cardboard box that was then placed in another cardboard box with filler.

One little tip: If your are replacing an old HDD that was MBR format, and intend to clone it to this drive, then format this new drive to MBR as well, not GPT (even though the latter is a better system) to prevent problems in the cloning.

The 5 year warranty is a real bonus as well. Just go to the WD web site and register the drive. Such a long warranty (the longest WD offer for a product; others being 2 or 3 years only) shows that they've really put a lot into making these unity in a high quality manner giving peace-of-mind for your data.

I would recommend these drives to anyone looking for the best drive, that's affordable, for high performance computing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
a big thankyou to all those poor unfortunate people that had product issues due to poor packaging,amazon has heard you and rectified the problem.packaging was perfect,drive was delivered in super fast time time,no damage anywhere.
took the drive out of the two boxes that it arrived in,removed the two plastic packaging mounts from each end of the hdd,then opened and removed the anti-static bag,sofar so good.

fitted the wd black hdd into my corsair 260t case,connected the two leads,then switched the pc on.re-installed win 7,and all went well.the drive is super quiet,no rattles,whirring,tapping,vibration,just quiet.that was at 11:05 this morning.have run this drive now for 13hrs straight.done all the win 7 updates,installed ccleaner pro,to clean up the disk after installs,installed auslogic defrag and used it with no problems.used convertX to dvd4 to copy 2 films to dvd,and all went well.

am pleased to say that all is still well,and will at some point be buying two more from amazon.so dont loose faith,every business has its problems.atleast amazon puts it right. happy days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drive ok, but very poorly packaged, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
T Still (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
The drive is as advertised, and WD drives are usually of excellent quality, so no worries there.

However, the packing it was shipped in was insufficient. A thinly padded envelope which was then loose in a larger box is not enough for a hard drive. I've run a full format and a surface test, and it all seems ok, but I suspect I was quite lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Appalling packaging, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Amazon sent me this hard-drive without proper packaging. In fact there was no packaging. Just the anti static.
Sure this hdd has good tolerance to hardship. It arrived from abroad and it worked! Hope it stays that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2 HDDs in 2 weeks.

Amazon CANNOT package hard drives. The drives comes complete with lots of bad sectors and makes scratching noises when operating.

taping it to the inside of a box is not good enough for a hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A review for Amazon not for WD Black, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I overlooked a lot of the comments saying that Amazon doesn't know how to package HDDs and ordered the WD Black for my new build.

Although delivery was quick, the packaging was very poor and I was surprised the HDD was working when I installed it. Or was it?
It took a day and a half for the HDD to develop a horrible grinding noise. At first it lasted for about 10-15 secs and it was happening twice a day. After a week it began happening every 15-30mins. The drive also was disappearing from "My Computer" although that could have been due to a loose connection.

I returned it for a refund and kudos to Amazon for their seamless return process, they make it so easy.
Overall, I will refrain myself from ordering HDDs from amazon for the time being. I will re-oder my HDD from another supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged, poor packaging, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1 star, arrived damaged in the most appalling packaging (placed at the bottom of a cardboard box three times the size.. With paper on top???)
Sent it back

As for performance i have no idea, as it DID NOT WORK

Shame really as it would have been great with my new build.
WD drives are also some of the best in the market.

Amazon packaging for Hard Drives needs to be reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase hard drives from Amazon, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I ordered two of these hard drives. They arrived through the post in a single cardboard wrapper with no padding whatsoever. Not surprisingly, when I ran the Western Digital diagnostic utility on them, one reported multiple errors.

I shall be returning the drives as I have no confidence that they have survived the trip through the post in such inadequate packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Died within 1h after arrival, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were a couple of funny noises but I wasn't too worried first. Although the drive was recognized in the BIOS it didn't pass the WD diagnostics-software test. But I was still able to format and copy few files. After a system restart the BIOS warned me the hard-drive was faulty (see pic) and recommended to replace it. So I had to return it to Amazon. I think I shopped with cross-cable and got a refund confirmation by Amazon very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BLACK DAY WHEN I ORDERED THIS, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
D. Symonds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Firstly I have no issues with WD Black Hard Drives.

1) The HD supplied was an OEM Drive and NOT as pictured. I spoke with Western Digital and they said the drive shouldn't have been sold, unless in a computer. They recommended I return it for a refund.

2) The date of manufacture was November 2010, OVER 4 YEARS OLD !!!

3) I’m not even sure it was a WD Black drive. Usually the sticker states “Western Digital Black. Desktop Hard Drive”. This one just stated “Western Digital” and “Enterprise Storage”. The case was also physically very different to version pictured on Amazon.

I didn’t even open the sealed anti-static bag as I didn’t want to use a suspect product that’s been kicking around a warehouse for 4 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black
£61.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews