Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good indeed
i have been using western digital hard drives for quite a number of years now and occasionally using other makes as well, like other computer components a case can be made for different makes but what i can say for certain is that if you buy this hard drive you will most certainly not be disappointed.It is fast very fast in both reading and writing and you will believe...
Published 4 months ago by jd belfast

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase hard drives from Amazon
I ordered two of these hard drives. They arrived through the post in a single cardboard wrapper with no padding whatsoever. Not surprisingly, when I ran the Western Digital diagnostic utility on them, one reported multiple errors.

I shall be returning the drives as I have no confidence that they have survived the trip through the post in such inadequate...
Published 5 months ago by John Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not purchase hard drives from Amazon, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
I ordered two of these hard drives. They arrived through the post in a single cardboard wrapper with no padding whatsoever. Not surprisingly, when I ran the Western Digital diagnostic utility on them, one reported multiple errors.

I shall be returning the drives as I have no confidence that they have survived the trip through the post in such inadequate packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Appalling packaging, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Amazon sent me this hard-drive without proper packaging. In fact there was no packaging. Just the anti static.
Sure this hdd has good tolerance to hardship. It arrived from abroad and it worked! Hope it stays that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2 HDDs in 2 weeks.

Amazon CANNOT package hard drives. The drives comes complete with lots of bad sectors and makes scratching noises when operating.

taping it to the inside of a box is not good enough for a hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Drive ok, but very poorly packaged, 21 Feb 2014
By 
T Still (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
The drive is as advertised, and WD drives are usually of excellent quality, so no worries there.

However, the packing it was shipped in was insufficient. A thinly padded envelope which was then loose in a larger box is not enough for a hard drive. I've run a full format and a surface test, and it all seems ok, but I suspect I was quite lucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An exceedingly competent drive treated with no respect. Take the advice of the other reviews, please DO NOT buy from Amazon., 9 July 2014
What i would expect from a 100 drive is for it to work fast, hold tens of thousands of data and to stay reliable throughout the test of time. And it does. However, what i also would of expected for a 100 drive is that it would come in - at the very least - adequate packaging. The hard drive contains sensitive mechanisms prone to being unusable should the drive be knocked and bumped around, and im sure that it would happen when the drive is sent inside a thin cardboard box with next to no protection let alone the factory anti-static bag. Until Amazon fixes their priorities, please buy from a more trustworthy provider that doesn't toss anything into a barren box and send it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very very good indeed, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
i have been using western digital hard drives for quite a number of years now and occasionally using other makes as well, like other computer components a case can be made for different makes but what i can say for certain is that if you buy this hard drive you will most certainly not be disappointed.It is fast very fast in both reading and writing and you will believe your computer is not even running it is so quiet.As i have said i have used quite a number of different makes of hard drives over the years but this is by far the best ever.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged, poor packaging, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
1 star, arrived damaged in the most appalling packaging (placed at the bottom of a cardboard box three times the size.. With paper on top???)
Sent it back

As for performance i have no idea, as it DID NOT WORK

Shame really as it would have been great with my new build.
WD drives are also some of the best in the market.

Amazon packaging for Hard Drives needs to be reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars getting more, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
mine runs atm how it should,hope it stays that way as i see comments referring to noise issues and bad sectors >.<
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top HDD, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black (Personal Computers)
Very good HDD. 931GB after formatting.

Pros
Very fast seek/read time
Very fast loading times for games

Cons
A bit of a high price.

10/10, would recommend to anyone that is after a fast HDD but doesn't want an SSD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply great!, 14 July 2014
Just received it, they clearly improved on packaging, because my HDD was extremely secured - 2 cardboard boxes, loose paper inside, and the drive itself was mounted in a plastic "shelf" sitting inside the smaller box. Nothing was loose.

As for the product itself - fantastic, as always WD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD 1 TB 3.5-inch Internal Hard Drive - Black
55.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews