Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars
Overlooking that some of the tracks now sound a bit dated or that some of the sleeve notes and pictures are a bit UK-centric; this box set deserves nothing less than 5 stars for 1) the sheer effort that has gone into the production of it and 2) the value for money - 16 CD's, 220 tracks (plus 6 via digital download) for less than £50.

Some of the original 12"s...
Published 18 months ago by Gareth Clark

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Age Ain't Nuthin' But A Number?
I could rave about the quality packaging, the amount of work spent on putting this together, the excellent remastering, the historic relevance of the music, the 100+ page book(let) and the business balls required to bring a 16-discs box set with the 1985-1989 A- and B-Side oeuvre of one record label to market in 2014 but instead I decided to tell you just my personal...
Published 7 months ago by Yemsky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars, 13 Oct. 2013
By 
Gareth Clark (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Overlooking that some of the tracks now sound a bit dated or that some of the sleeve notes and pictures are a bit UK-centric; this box set deserves nothing less than 5 stars for 1) the sheer effort that has gone into the production of it and 2) the value for money - 16 CD's, 220 tracks (plus 6 via digital download) for less than £50.

Some of the original 12"s go for double that on Discogs, so there's no reason not to buy this superbly presented and remastered box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Trax history, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is brilliant.

Some of the tracks on this sound dated, and some of them are truly awful! But they are the minority, and remember, this is a "History Of" not "Greatest Hits Of".

At over £50 it's probably only for enthusiasts. The sheer time and effort that has gone into this compilation, and over 200 tracks, many remastered, luxury packaging, and book make this well worth the money.

One tiny complaint - there are supposed to be 6 bonus tracks available for download. One track is missing (it downloads an empty file). I emailed the download website but they did not reply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome !!, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This compilation is the best i've ever listen !! (sorry for my bad English) !!!
Tha,k you for this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Must have for all true house lovers. Superb mastering, sounds great! Best compilation in years.
This is how house music is ment to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best house box set of 2013, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you like house/electronic music this is a fab boxset, from farley to ron hardy this boxset has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Nov. 2013
Excellent history on the beginning of house with the legendary Trax label on one compilation. Essential for any person interested in the history of House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Trax, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
16 Cds, 222 tracks from 1985 to 1989, featuring a sides, b sides, double a sides, eps, mini albums for £50 bargain. Included is a 100 page booklet which is also good, and a download card for 6 tracks. It may be overlong and overblown but its good, as for the basic just drum tracks you can use them as loops to make your own tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GReat Collection, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traxbox (Trax Records Remastered) [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
As a Dj, I have quite a lot of these trax on vinyl, however, now i use digital tracks when Im djing, so this collection was invaluable in terms of saving me lots of time ripping from the orginal vinyl and having to clean up the files .... Thank you Trax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding in both scope and quality, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
S. E. Gould "Simon Pachu" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential electronic music! I'm an old fan of EBM, techno and synth-pop and relatively new to house and THIS speaks to me! Whereas the likes of Front 242, Cabaret Voltaire and others were experimenting with DARK electronica, Chicago was all about fun n' funkiness but still keeping that dangerous, thrilling edge.

Firstly, this is a bargain: 16 CDs, 8 of A-sides and 8 of B-sides all catalogued chronologically so you get the feel for the progression these musicians are making. Everything from straight up party tunes to squirming, stuttering experimentalism that make LFO look like also-rans.

I'm stuck for words to praise this impressive collection. 75 12"s for under £50? Get on it, fools: jack your body!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC'S OVERLOAD :-), 21 Oct. 2013
Oh my days !!. What a box set !.All the ORIGINAL MASTERS !!!..Would have never had the amounts of tracks offered for this price !!. STUNNED !! The quality is superb !!.When is the next trxbox set out ?? ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews