Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little external sound card
Running this on windows 7 and 8.1 dual boot, Windows loaded up driver on inserting the usb lead and automatically disabled on-board sound so no messing about with bios etc.
My motherboard is new & is an Asus Z97pro itx so that might help.
I have mine hooked up to a Marantz hifi amp playing through B&W 685 stereo speakers and you really do notice the difference...
Published 1 month ago by Ian J

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Painful
The quality of this device is good but it is painful to get this working. I've been trying to configure this over the last two months still not understood how to get it work all the time. Sometimes it works fine and then it produces a white noise and goes blank. There may be conflicts with Operating system but whatever the issues are it is not a simple to use device. So...
Published 8 months ago by Nagarajan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Painful, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
The quality of this device is good but it is painful to get this working. I've been trying to configure this over the last two months still not understood how to get it work all the time. Sometimes it works fine and then it produces a white noise and goes blank. There may be conflicts with Operating system but whatever the issues are it is not a simple to use device. So if you are not a computer expert or risk averse person then this is not for you as you have to play with Operating system and BIOS setting quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good little external sound card, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
Running this on windows 7 and 8.1 dual boot, Windows loaded up driver on inserting the usb lead and automatically disabled on-board sound so no messing about with bios etc.
My motherboard is new & is an Asus Z97pro itx so that might help.
I have mine hooked up to a Marantz hifi amp playing through B&W 685 stereo speakers and you really do notice the difference in playing music and especially dvd's .
Obviously it's no match compared to my hifi cd player but it beats the on board sound hand down.
As others have noted the blue led light is bright but as I hide it away it does not bother me.
You do get a start up noise coming through the speakers but this is to be expected when you start up your pc, if it bothers you then don't turn on your speakers or amp until after you have started your pc.
All in all a good little external sound card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great USB soundcard., 15 Jan. 2015
By 
D. S. Keeling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
I had been using the onboard sound driver because my Asus xonar D2X wouldn't fit between my two graphics cards due to the custom cooler's. Saw this card and decided to give it a try, and I'm glad I did. It very easy to set up, just plug it in and windows recognised it straight away. Downloaded the latest software package from the website because I'm using windows 8.1 64bit, installed everything and rebooted. I'm using it with the Logitech Z5500 system with Dolby digital live on and it sound amazing. I would recommend this, for the price and the quality of the sound you can't go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needed to install drivers to get full exp but after ward it worked beautifully. Proper digital 5, 9 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
After a disappointing internal card failed to do as it was advertised this came as a relief.

Needed to install drivers to get full exp but after ward it worked beautifully. Proper digital 5.1 sound! I am running windows 8.1 which seems to be full of compatibility issues but after installing the drivers it worked a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's a definite improvement, 8 May 2014
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
i had always been told that amps/dac don't "really" change the audio quality that much. i had a very cheap dac previously and i was made to believe a dac was a dac.
Wrong.
I noticed a instant warmth in audio especially in YouTube videos, i don't know why but the sounds particularly in YouTube just sounds considerably better.
The software interface is also nice to use and the virtual eq is not only instant but is much better than itunes eqs for example.

If it were to break then i would deferentially buy another . It is a conversation starter for one.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
T. Willis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
Excellent external soundcard. Very easy installation on my laptop. Using it with my Soundblaster T20 speakers and the result is awesome. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio quality superb, as you would expect from Creative ..., 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
Audio quality superb, as you would expect from Creative,

I downgraded it one star because of the loud 'splat' on the output when the computer boots up and closes down. My old, cheap, sound card did not do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replaces limited computer audio., 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Tony "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
Just the job to overcome the limited audio facilities in the portable computer I use for streaming audio. Easy to set up and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cant get surround working properly., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
Works great in Stereo, but cant for the life of me get surround working properly with my Pioneer MCS 737 and I've worked in IT for 8 years so go figure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars only niggle is its powerd buy usb and even using ..., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX (Accessory)
only niggle is its powerd buy usb and even using an active repeater usb cable it wont power up you have to plug it directly into the computer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 Pro USB External Sound Card with SBX
£52.12
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews