Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel
I originally posted this review on Amazon.com, but thought it deserved to be ported over to the U.K. site. These books deserve their 5 star ratings. I liked both of the Aneka Jansen books that much, and hope for more!

.... I have just finished reading `The Cold Steel Mind'. It is a worthy and imaginative sequel to `Steel Beneath the Skin'. Aneka Jansen,...
Published 9 months ago by John Patin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Porn
Sci-Fi porn. What more can I say. Stories are reasonable. Less sex and more story would be better and give the stories more reason for the sex.
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent sequel, 25 Nov 2013
By 
John Patin "sfsponge" (LI, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I originally posted this review on Amazon.com, but thought it deserved to be ported over to the U.K. site. These books deserve their 5 star ratings. I liked both of the Aneka Jansen books that much, and hope for more!

.... I have just finished reading `The Cold Steel Mind'. It is a worthy and imaginative sequel to `Steel Beneath the Skin'. Aneka Jansen, kidnapped by the alien Xinti in 2011 and reanimated in an android body twelve-hundred years later, has become an accepted member of the crew of the archaeological research ship Garnet Hyde. They have returned to the wreck of the Agroa Gar, the Xinti ship on which the android body into which her consciousness was downloaded was found in stasis. There are secrets to be had on the Agroa Gar, some of which someone doesn't seem to want known. But, there may be more players in this game than the crew of Garnet Hyde even imagine...
.... I found this book just as much fun to read as the first. There is a little less direct action and a little more characterization and world building in this adventure and I found it a nice balance that held my attention from beginning to end. Once again, I could not put it down. The sex scenes that some complained about in the first book are here too, but dialed back a bit as a more complicated plot takes over. Once again, the sex is treated with a generally light (if graphic), and humorous hand with the exception of the actions of one dark character who eventually draws Aneka's righteous ire. Again, good job, Niall. I am looking forward to the next one. This is shaping up to be a memorable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Lots of angles. Would have loved a closer look at society in this future but needless to say i am definitely reading the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars continuation of an interesting story, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
While this isn't Iain banks, it is certainly entertaining. I'm comfortable enough with myself not to be bothered by the continual sex, in fact it can be quite funny sometimes, although one does wonder sometimes if a different filler could be used sometimes to fill the gaps between major events. The characters are developed well enough to continue to be interesting and overall for a piece of light hearted sci-fi it works well. I am looking forward to book three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars different, sf from a female angle, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A very good standard maintained from first book on the series, and I now Looking forward to the third book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all three story's in this series and can't wait for the next one (hoping there will be more). An unusual story line and wonderfully captivating. The only comment I would add is that I would have liked to have seen more story on the other characters with them being less in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Porn, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Sci-Fi porn. What more can I say. Stories are reasonable. Less sex and more story would be better and give the stories more reason for the sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and Fun, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A quick read, fast paced and fun. The people of the future do shag around a lot but it did not put me off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another for the holiday reader, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another in the series about this awesome young "lady", with an insatiable appetite for kickin' ass and comforting her girl friend in more ways than one! The story is somewhat believable and straight from the realms of Robert Heinlein, or a futuristic Modesty Blaize. Does that show my age? Who cares, it was worth buying and great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as enjoyable as Steel Beneath the Skin, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Aneka Jansen book, and just as good as the first. The story is well told and is coherent, without the plot holes that spoil so many sci-fi books.

I became quite drawn to the characters as well and hope that further stories will follow soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another episode of Breasts in Space!, 26 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. J. Pettefar "Nick Pettefar" (SW England often) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cold Steel Mind (Aneka Jansen Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another episode of Breasts in Space!

The story is great but the constant banging on about all the female character's breasts and sexual activities is far too much! - Please grow out of this Niall! It does NOTHING for the story!

An interesting and good read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews