Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NETWORK/STUDIO CANAL "CAT GIRL"
Network DVD have found a real little gem-Long unseen (never by me). An "Update" of "Cat People" and dare I say it...It pretty well holds it's own against that classic, whilst not quite in the same league. Well written by Lou Russoff and directed with spirit and atmosphere by Alfred Shaughnessy, the film has to rely on it's star, and Barbara Shelley...
Published 3 months ago by A. W. Wilson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Almost Blu-Ray quality, pity about the film !
Two beautiful things here : Barbara Shelley and the transfer, but as for the film, it's a lack lustre re-working of Val Lewton's 'Cat People' (1942)
Published 2 days ago by Brian Paul Carnduff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NETWORK/STUDIO CANAL "CAT GIRL", 18 April 2014
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Network DVD have found a real little gem-Long unseen (never by me). An "Update" of "Cat People" and dare I say it...It pretty well holds it's own against that classic, whilst not quite in the same league. Well written by Lou Russoff and directed with spirit and atmosphere by Alfred Shaughnessy, the film has to rely on it's star, and Barbara Shelley excells. Beautiful and vulnerable at first, she goes through all the emotions, and acts better than I can remember in her other films. The support cast is a bit weak, but don't worry, she carries it. A lovely 4.3 B/W print with clear sound, and, I do like this about Network, an excellent series of Publicity ad repros on the front and inside the case. Extras are a trailer, and Image Gallery. Highly recomended to Shelley fans and those who like unusual British "B" pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film find, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a classic British horror film that rarely gets a showing on television. It is a minor gem for all fans of the genre. It & seller highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British Version Of CAT PEOPLE Has Much To Recommend It., 22 Jun 2014
By 
Chip Kaufmann (Asheville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
For many years CAT GIRL was nothing more than a title I had read about in David Pirie's A HERITAGE OF HORROR along with the one usual final photograph of Barbara Shelley. Finally at the turn of this century I obtained a used VHS copy of the film and so finally got to see it. To my mind it was clearly a British version of CAT PEOPLE although a good deal more erotic than the 1940s allowed CAT PEOPLE to be. Unfortunately the VHS tape I had didn't do the visual aspects of the film justice and I found Robert Ayers as the psychiatrist dumbfoundedly patronizing. Barbara Shelley though was pure gold and her performance made up for many of the film's shortcomings. On a second viewing, not that long ago, I found the film to be better than I remembered it and I began to appreciate more than just Shelley's performance. Ernest Milton as Barbara's uncle who "passes" the curse of animal transformation onto her is suitably flamboyant and has fun with the material. His secret room with all the stuffed animals in it is genuinely creepy and could easily be the stuff of nightmares.

When I saw on amazon.uk that the movie was finally coming out on DVD, I knew I had to have it. I bought myself a Region 2 player a long time ago so that I could see the original British versions of films I have long enjoyed (NIGHT OF THE EAGLE instead of BURN WITCH BURN for example) so the Regional aspect wouldn't be an issue. Having now watched the Network DVD release, I am more impressed than ever with CAT GIRL and would put it right up there with CAT PEOPLE. Both films are inexpensive B pictures that have strong central performances and both make effective use of light and shadow (I suspect to mask very cheap sets). This time around I enjoyed the supporting players a lot more and realize that Robert Ayres is supposed to be a patronizing twit who unfortunately does not receive the comeuppance he deserves as the psychiatrist does in the American film. The transfer is gorgeous and, if it's not in the correct aspect ratio, it certainly didn't matter on my TV. Along with CAT PEOPLE (Val Lewton's films have always been a personal favorite), I look forward to revisiting CAT GIRL for many years to come. Thanks, Network!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD, 31 May 2014
By 
P. Simms (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
At last an official release of this obscure film.
The print quality is simply stunning and reveals a lot more than previous old DVD-R copies.
Barbara Shelly looks stunning and the supporting cast do a great job.

A must for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BARBARA SHELLEY IS SENSATIONAL, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
THIS ATMOSPHERIC B\W FILM FRM 1962 HAS A TOUR DE FORCE PERFORMANCE BY UK HORROR STAR BARBARA SHELLEY.SHE LOOKS GREAT BUT 62 WAS A V STYLISH PERIOD.I ENJOYED THIS FILM V MUCH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cat Schlock!, 21 May 2014
By 
Montgomery Michaels (Melbourne, Vic, AUS) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
If you're looking for classic, creepy cat-themed horror then Cat Girl is a must. Barbara Shelley plays the enigmatic lead in this vintage horror thriller. A 'purrfect' movie for retro movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Almost Blu-Ray quality, pity about the film !, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Two beautiful things here : Barbara Shelley and the transfer, but as for the film, it's a lack lustre re-working of Val Lewton's 'Cat People' (1942)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cat girl dvd, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Delighted with the dvd and prompt service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect aspect ratio, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Cat Girl [DVD] (DVD)
Network boasts the film is in its correct aspect ratio of 4x3 or 1:33:1, but this is clearly incorrect as the film which was released in the early 1960's should have been 1:66:1, meaning a considerable part of the film has been cut. The same is true of Network's recent film release of 'Robbery Under Arms', released in a trimmed, 1:33:1 version despite Network's claim it was in its correct aspect ratio. Can I ask Network to refrain from trimming future releases and ensure that its customers are provided with films reflecting their actual cinema release ratio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cat Girl [DVD]
Cat Girl [DVD] by Alfred Shaugnessy (DVD - 2014)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews