Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps you to be in control in verbal confrontations!
This book basically tells and desmonstrate to you with examples that there is a way to handle negative verbal communication without losing control. Although most of the examples are of a police officer's day-to-day experience in handling difficult situations, but you can definitely apply to your own difficult verbal interactions. With this knowledge i can deal with...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by R. Y. O

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of waffle..
This book pretty much is about particular 'situations' where choice of words became an important factor in affecting the outcome (past tense). Problem is most of 'us' 'everyday people' are different and would use verbal judo with the same purpose but for different outcomes related to our own speccific lives. This book doesnt get to the point, it doesnt give you for...
Published on 1 Jun 2011 by TommeBarz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helps you to be in control in verbal confrontations!, 31 Dec 2006
This book basically tells and desmonstrate to you with examples that there is a way to handle negative verbal communication without losing control. Although most of the examples are of a police officer's day-to-day experience in handling difficult situations, but you can definitely apply to your own difficult verbal interactions. With this knowledge i can deal with difficult verbal interactions much more effectively in my daily life now, the more i apply the skills the better i get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for a variety of situations, 8 Jan 2011
I bought this book for two reasons, one was to help me at work but the second and main reason was to give me some new tools to diffuse potentially volatile situations in my martial arts and self defence training.

The book does a great job at breaking down the art of communication and especially how to calm people down by redirecting their anger and emphasising with them rather than just asking them to calm down. It also discusses how to talk to difficult people and how to bring them round to your way of thinking.

I can see the advice in this book working on so many different levels and in so many different areas. I was originally looking at ways to help me at work and how to diffuse potentially dangerous situations but I got a whole lot more out of it. I find myself using my new skills in loads of different scenarios.

One example where this book has helped me is when I teach the kids in martial arts classes. I find that they are prone to bouts of awkwardness and lack of concentration. However, since reading this book I'm more confident, feel more in control and the children are responding better than I could have imagined.

Overall: A superb book and one I fully recommend to anyone interested in mastering the art of verbal communication for any aspects of their life, whether it's for self-defence, work, chatting down the pub or getting your kids to do things they don't want to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading!, 22 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book - highly recommended - especially if you have friends/colleagues/family who you find it difficult to talk to cos they've got attitude or say things like "That's just the way it is" or "Because I say so". You know - those irritating people who just want to get the upper hand over you and will not give you a logical explanation for their decision. It helps you understand what things you might be saying that might not be that helpful to others, and helps you in the gentle art of persuasion.
Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 17 Feb 2012
By 
R. Agar-Hutton "Robert Agar Hutton author of ... (Minsterworth, Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the classics in the field of verbal conflict communications. It has a lot of good information that can (with a little thought) be applied to a wide variety of situations. I first read this book when a friend lent it to me and on finishing the book (and needing to return it to my friend) immediately bought myself a copy. Like most books, reading once is OK but reading it multiple times will pay dividends.How To Deal With Verbal Aggression
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense that's hard to find, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Verbal Judo: The Gentle Art fo Persuasion is a decent grounding in some of the hard to find commmon sense methods of reducing conflict in verbal encounters and persuading someone to do something you want them to.

Fair from a complete compendium, of full educational course in such methods, it instead gives a solid example and metaphore based grounding, that if an individual was truely motivated would likely lead them to becoming proficient to a medium degree in the methodologies and artistries presented in the book.

All in all a 4/5 as some sections can be slightly repetative, but it is both informative and entertaining, and helps you see your own mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of waffle.., 1 Jun 2011
This book pretty much is about particular 'situations' where choice of words became an important factor in affecting the outcome (past tense). Problem is most of 'us' 'everyday people' are different and would use verbal judo with the same purpose but for different outcomes related to our own speccific lives. This book doesnt get to the point, it doesnt give you for example a list of subjective and objective phrases and demonstrate how they can be manipulated and used to defuse situations. I'm no Verbal judo expert but i didnt expect a book full of stories. I found myself filtering through the 'waffle' of this guys life experience to see how his verbal techniques can be adapted to my life, but truth is the book's not systematic, and thats the principle of an 'art'; i.e the theory followed by the technique and then how to execute it. This book instead is a bit of information decorated with countless stories. Load of waffle really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic read, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
must be read as it really shows you how to say things differently and to be positive - all my friends want to borrow this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening read, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enlightening, practical and thought provoking.
Down to earth explanations communicating ideas and techniques in both academic and Layman's terminology. Which I'd read this book 25 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Turning out to be a very informative book, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really informative book written by an ex policemen/lecturer.
Whilst the book keeps referring to policing situations, there are a lot of instances where the information can be applied to differing situations in daily life/work/relationships etc etc etc.
This would be a very good book i feel to read before you go for a job interview, especially if that interview was for a sales job.
A lot of the information can be used to explain how you relate and react with customers ( i think anyway ).
Whilst i have not finished the book, i felt compelled to write a review now as i am enjoying it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very educational, 31 July 2008
By 
Mrs. J. Conneely "Linda" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting to read but need a lot of practice after reading the book. Going to Krav Maga exercise will give you 100% confident. Promise!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Verbal Judo, Second Edition
Verbal Judo, Second Edition by George Thompson PhD
4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews