Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception
Despite some reviews, I bought it. I was interested in her as she's served so long, and been a woman in a powerful position. I felt any review on here could have been politically motivated - mine is not. I simply am a working class woman all my life, now trying to reinvent myself. I didn't expect her, given it being so recent to divulge state secrets, I expected it to be...
Published 2 months ago by RAarka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable to be recommended
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.

'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who...
Published 3 months ago by Denis Vukosav


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices: A Memoir (Kindle Edition)
Despite some reviews, I bought it. I was interested in her as she's served so long, and been a woman in a powerful position. I felt any review on here could have been politically motivated - mine is not. I simply am a working class woman all my life, now trying to reinvent myself. I didn't expect her, given it being so recent to divulge state secrets, I expected it to be somewhat careful, but I still have been impressed. Even if much had already been publicized, it puts it in a chronology and cohesive manner. You simply have to appreciate all she has done, whether you agree with all the politics of her or not. You also have to appreciate how much she traveled, and given of her life to be in such a HARSH limelight and stop 100% demonizing her and everyone else in politics; to totally condemn someone like that is not a clear perception. I think she writes of decision making and the responsibility faced, and one can learn from that - especially women. I have learned how delicate it is and how pragmatic you must be to juggle things - they are not always clear cut and it usually takes concessions on all sides to make something work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable to be recommended, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hard Choices: A Memoir (Kindle Edition)
With 'Hard Choices' written by Hillary Clinton contrary to some other reviewers wrote I'm sure Hillary made a certain sign that she decided to go for President in the next election.

'Hard Choices' is a memoir that will equally divide the nation on the advocates and opponents, and although I'm often telling in my reviews the book should be judged, not those who write them, in this case I have to say that this book was a more or less big disappointment.

On the positive side it cannot be denied that this work is written in good style, while Hillary in same time does not want to be too provocative, yet strives to intrigue the reader, but the reader after closing last of its 600 pages will wonder what added value this book offers, and what new we can learn from it that is already not known.

Therefore I think one does not need to bother whether you are democratic pro or Republican contra, but to be honest and say that this book simply does nothing to justify the overwhelming publicity that has been created around it. It's fully fair to say that 'Hard Choices' doesn't live up to the expectations that were created its release, but as I said in the beginning I'm certain that the future months will prove Clinton with its book unofficially announced her candidacy as a biographical book is always a great „litmus paper“ for such things.

Inside reader will find her story about the most important events which marked her four-year time spent on position of Secretary of State, divided in six parts marked by some common denominator, such as part where she discuss time she spent in Asian countries, war in the Middle East or part about the revolutions that marked few last years in Africa and Asia.

Although it is certain that the majority of people will have their opinion about the book when they see its cover, but still if you decide to read it I guess you'll feel just as I do now – the book is not bad, but does not offer anything particularly new and valuable due to which it would be worth to especially recommend its reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EXCELLENT READ WITH FASCINATING DETAIL, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Rupert S. Fairfax (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent read with truly fascinating detail, some of which is slightly nail biting, particularly the part of the book concerned with the assassination of Bin Ladin, which as Secretary of State, Hilary Clinton, along with President Obama had sanctioned.

Hilary Clinton's time as Secretary of State was a turbulent time in the world and this powerful woman steered herself easily through it all, which stands her in good stead to run in the forth coming 2016 Presidential elections in America and hopefully, win and be elected President.

The book is clear, concise and well written, it runs at a gripping pace and in parts, you could be reading a film script for a political thriller.

Overall, it is an excellent American and worldwide PR job and shows Hilary Clinton in the best possible light as the most capable person to be the 45th President of the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does not matter is you like or hate Hillary Clinton she is one smart, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This book is a very interesting read. It does not matter is you like or hate Hillary Clinton she is one smart, strong woman. She trully believe the United States of America is the best country in the world. Her comments on other countries and leaders are not mean but you can see they are made because of her beliefs in the American Way being the only way. She is not a lady I would want to make an enemy of. When she refers to her family you can she is very much a proud of her daughter. Also you see no matter what your views of Bill Clinton are that they are a team and they do love and have an total understanding of each other. I personally enjoyed the book. If she ever became the President of the US I think she would be very strong one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMPRESSIVE ACCOUNT THAT WILL SERVE CLINTON WELL!, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
Let me begin by what everyone is looking for. Clinton is undecided whether she will run for president in 2016. She has not come to the point of taking the decision, and she has not decided yet.

Hard Choices by Hillary Rodham Clinton is a memoir that you can't avoid. It is almost everywhere. It is well-written and readable but not as explosive as expected. History will not judge her on the basis of this engaging memoir but on the basis of the works and deals executed and concluded during her tenure as America's 67th Secretary of State.

Though the book fails to give away too much, perhaps, with the coming 2016 election in mind, it has interesting information about the secret diplomacy that led to the November 2013 interim nuclear agreement with Iran. Though the agreement with Iran was reached long after she left office, Clinton did much of the spade work with the assistance of the Sultan of Oman, who offered to help in arranging direct and secret talks. America received the first feeler in January 2011. Jake Sullivan, her aide, was dispatched to Oman in July 2012, followed by another visit to Oman, paving the way for her deputy, Bill Burns, for the beginning of real talks.

Hard Choices may not live up to the hype surrounding its release, yet it provides a glimpse into and a fascinating account of Hillary Rodham Clinton's four years as secretary of state. Take a look at the contents of the memoir and decide whether the book is worth your money:

PART 1: A FRESH START
Chapter 1/2008: A Team of Rivals
Chapter 2/Foggy Bottom: Smart Power

PART 2: ACROSS THE PACIFIC
Chapter 3/Asia: The Pivot
Chapter 4/China: Uncharted Waters
Chapter 5/Beijing: The Dissident
Chapter 6/Burma: The Lady and the Generals

PART 3: WAR AND PEACE
Chapter 7/Af-Pak Surge
Chapter 8/Afghanistan: To End a War
Chapter 9/Pakistan: National Honor

PART 4: BETWEEN HOPE AND HISTORY
Chapter 10/Europe: Ties That Bind
Chapter 11/Russia: Reset and Regression
Chapter 12/Latin America: Democrats and Demagogues
Chapter 13/Africa: Guns or Growth?

PART 5: UPHEAVAL
Chapter 14: The Middle East: The Rocky Path of Peace
Chapter 15/The Arab Spring: Revolution
Chapter 16/Libya: All Necessary Measures
Chapter 17/Benghazi: Under Attack
Chapter 18/Iran: Sanctions and Secrets
Chapter 19/Syria: A Wicked Problem
Chapter 20/Gaza: Anatomy of a cease-fire

PART 6: THE FUTURE WE WANT
Chapter 21/Climate Change: We're All in This Together
Chapter 22/Jobs and Energy: A Level Playing Field
Chapter 23/Haiti: Disaster and Development
Chapter 24/21st Century Statecraft: Digital Diplomacy in a Networked World
Chapter 25/Human Rights: Unfinished Business

EPILOGUE

With a wide range of experiences from being a Sentor to First Lady to Secretary of State, her resume is quite impressive, and this memoir is her contribution to the historical record of which she has been one of the main players. Though it is still too early to judge her achievements, Hard Choices still makes for an impressive read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and balanced review of most of the world's trouble spots and problems, 10 Aug 2014
By 
R. Darlington "Roger Darlington" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This is quite a tome: some 600 pages (thankfully no footnotes or end notes). But it covers a lot of ground: the four years (2009-2013) that Hillary Clinton spent as Secretary of State during the first term of the Barack Obama presidency. Her natural abilities, plus a book team of three, ensure that it is well-written, informative and thoughtful, but there are no significant differences of opinion with Obama or criticisms of world leaders because Clinton is keeping her options open for a run at the presidency in 2016. Will she run? She simply states" "I haven't decided yet". I hope she does and I hope she wins. This was my position before reading her memoirs and my view is simply reinforced by reading the book.

When Clinton failed to win the Democratic primary race against Obama, she famously declared: “Although we weren’t able to shatter that highest, hardest glass ceiling this time, thanks to you, it’s got about 18 million cracks in it”. When Obama won the presidential contest, she had no interest in becoming Vice-President and every intention of returning to the Senate. Then, when Obama invited her to become Secretary of State, she was “floored”, turned it down, and took two weeks to be persuaded.

Obama kept his promise of access and she reckons she was at the White House more than 700 times during her four years in office. In the book, she mentions very few differences with the White House, perhaps the most important being her wish to arm rebels in the Syrian civil war and Obama's decision not to support this approach. It looks to have been a relationship that quickly developed mutual trust and at the end Obama declared that they had gone from "a team of rivals" to "an unrivalled team". She ended up visiting 112 countries and travelling nearly one million miles with more than 2,000 hours (equivalent to 87 full days) in the air. She claims that, over the years, she had developed the ability to sleep almost anywhere at any time (me too).

She describes Secretary of State as being three roles - the country’s chief diplomat, the president’s principal adviser on foreign policy, and chief executive of a department of 70,000 personnel - and she characterises the nation’s foreign policy are comprised of the 3 Ds – defence, diplomacy and development. She makes the usual distinctions in foreign policy between 'hard power' (military forces in its various forms) and 'soft power' (diplomatic, economic and cultural influences) and advocates an approach of what she calls 'smart power' - the right combination of different elements of hard and/or soft power for each particular situation.

After a couple of introductory chapters, “Hard Choices” does not follow a chronological approach but instead the bulk of the book (some 450 pages) comprises a series of chapters on different countries and regions around the globe: after a general chapter on Asia, specific ones on China, Burma, Afghanistan and Pakistan; then chapters on Europe, Russia, Latin America, and Africa; and, after a general chapter on the Middle East, dedicated chapters on the 2011 Arab Spring revolution, Libya, the 2012 death of the US ambassador in Benghazi, Iran, Syria and Gaza. Only at the end are there a few thematic chapters on global challenges such as climate change, energy and human rights. The book is dotted with some fascinating facts and figures on different countries and issues.

A key feature of the Obama/Clinton partnership was the so-called "pivot strategy", an effort to re-focus American attention more towards Asia and so, in a break from precedent, Clinton's first trip was to Japan, Indonesia, South Korea and China with a first ever visit by a US Secretary of State to ASEAN. Understandably she expresses concern about tensions especially in the South and East China Seas where China is increasingly flexing its growing military muscle. Another distinguishing feature of the new administration was an attempt to “reset” relations with Russia and Clinton even presented a mocked-up reset button to Russia’s Foreign Secretary Lavrov. However, the button was labelled ‘peregruzka’ (overcharged) rather than ‘perezagruzka’ (reset) and the effort soon ran into Putin's belligerence.

For anyone interested in international affairs or global politics - like me - this is a really interesting read which takes us through all the major trouble spots of the world, almost all of which - perhaps most notably the Arab-Israeli conflict, Iran's nuclear aspirations and the assertiveness of Russia - remain active. In each case, Clinton sets out the historic background to the challenge and then describes her efforts to improve the situation. Although inevitably in a memoir, the account is somewhat self-serving and there is very little in the way of rethinking, it is a sensible and sensitive review which reflects considerable knowledge, commitment and passion for social justice.

The only real expression of a change of view is in relation to a decision before she even ran for the Democratic nomination: the vote to authorise miltary action in Iraq. She writes: "I came to deeply regret giving President Bush the benefit of the doubt on that vote" and "While many were never ging to look past my 2002 vote no matter what I did or said, I should have stated my regret sooner and in the plainest, most direct language possible".

The theme of the book - captured in the title and alluded to many times - is that all decisions in international affairs are complicated and difficult trade-offs of principle and pragmatism. As she puts it: "Keeping America safe, strong and prosperous presents an endless set of choices, many of which come with imperfect information and conflicting imperatives". She refers to "our classic dilemma" and asks" "Should we do business with a leader with whom we disagreed on so many things in the name of advancing core security interests?".

As she explains: "The question of nations working together on some issues while clashing on others is part of a classic debate within foreign policy circles" and "Straight up transactional diplomacy isn't always pretty, but often it's necessary". In the end, she insists: "As you've seen throughout this book, there are times when we do have to make difficult compromises. Our challenge is to be clear-eyed about the world as it is while never losing sight of the world as we want it to become".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting - though hard going at times, 9 July 2014
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
This is an interesting, though long, book which covers the 4 years of Hillary Clinton's time as Secretary of State. Whilst this is clearly intended to set out Hillary's philosophy of government, and to explain her vision for the United States role around the world in advance of running for President, it is also an interesting account of the demands of high office.

Clinton's belief in the need to compromise to achieve progress is recounted again and again, as is the importance of engagement with all kinds of countries and leaders to seek peace and the development of prosperity through incremental steps.

This does not all make for easy or entertaining reading - it is too much a careful and calculated book for that. On occasion Clinton addresses areas which may be used by her opponents to undermine her probable campaign. For example she uses anecdotes of dealing with a journalist's questions about her husband's opinion, and with keeping the location of Bin Laden totally secret even from Bill, to demonstrate her independance and professionalism. There is not much here, though, that makes for revelation about the inside working of the Obama administration or about Hillary's personal life.

Clinton's dedication to human rights, and in particular to women's rights and the rights of LGBT people, is made clear throughout, and is her belief in the value of the use of American influence through aid, cultural and educational exchange, and of the need to use what she calls 'smart power' to achieve objectives.

It is all a bit dry though, and it look me an unusually long time to read, even although i found the subject matter interesting, and her philosophy of government to be intelligent and persuasive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Preparing For Battle, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Dr Barry Clayton (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hard Choices: A Memoir (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who still wonders if Hillary Clinton will run for President in 2016 will have their doubts removed after reading this book. It reeks of intent to do so despite losing out to Obama in 2008. In September this year it is widely rumoured she will be in Idaho to test the water for 1916-she was trounced there last time.

Hillary's great grandfather, Jonathan lived in England and worked in the Northumberland coal mines. He left for America in 1879 ending up in Pennsylvania. In 1900 he became a policeman, married with 11 children, among them Hillary's grandfather, Hugh Rodham who later worked in a lace factory. The family were staunch Methodists. She was born in Chicago on October 26, 1947. Her father was a rather unpleasant person. Hillary was devoted to her mother. She gained a law degree at Yale, taught at Arkansas law school where she met Bill whom she married in 1975. In the same year she thought about becoming a US Marine, but was rejected due to age and myopia. She had also toyed with the idea of applying to be trained as an astronaut!

This overlong account of her time as Secretary of State still fails to solve the key problem with Hillary namely, who is she and what does she really stand for? She has had so many makeovers all of which still leave one unsure if she is a left-wing liberal, a centrist or a whatever will win on the day politician. After many years as a liberal involved with child care, abortion and health issues she did an abrupt turn when made Senator for New York despite never having lived there. She made a play for leading Republicans in the Senate in order to get legislation passed. For years now she has been engaged in a peripatetic rebuilding and rebranding campaign.

While Secretary, Bill has been hard at work building the political network and acquiring allies in big business for 2016. The many faces of Hillary continue, however, to give voters a problem. The woman, the wife, the lawyer, the feminist, the ex senator, and the aspiring president. Which is the real Hillary Rodham? What is her real political philosophy and where does she stand on the key issues of the day? Does she believe government is the answer or, like Reagan said, the problem? This book does not provide the answer. It confirms she is an opportunist.

She attracts extreme opinions for very good reasons: for some she is, an unprincipled opportunist(see her posing with Hollande in Paris with a copy of her book held in her hand, title to the front !), for others a warm hearted feminist, and for others an ice cold politician. More intelligent than her disgraced errant husband she lacks his empathy with people. In this respect only, she reminds one of two current, prominent female politicians in this country. Two years ago the American press were referring to her as 'America's Margaret Thatcher', a very odd comparison.

Opening chapters in the book are familiar to anyone who has read accounts by American politicians. We are told, for example, how she loves her country, loves God, and is honoured and humbled to have been in high office-it is difficult to imagine Hillary ever being humble. Her staff were all marvelous with lazer-like intellects(how come then the many errors?). We learn about the millions of miles she travelled as S of S, and how she erred in voting for the invasion of Iraq, an invasion based on the lies of Bush and Blair that led to thousands of deaths and maimed plus sectarian murder and chaos that will continue for many years. The gaffe over Bendhazi, despite repeated warnings, that led to the death of the US Ambassador is, of course, skated over.It was an unmitigated disaster that should have led to her sacking. Her attempt to persuade Obama to aid and arm the Syrian 'rebels' was thankfully unsucessful, she clearly did not know they are every bit as bad as Assad. It would have been disastrous as subsequent events have shown. Recently released papers show the depths of her failures as S of S. She never, of course, mentions these.

Bill, of course, gets many a mention not for his utterly appalling serial and rampant philandering that came close to bringing America to its knees, but for'his incredible support'. Her decision to stay with him despite his serial adultery, some of it commited in the Oval Office, shocked many Americans. A few thought it was because she wished to save an otherwise good marriage, while more then and since firmly believe it was because the marriage was rocky anyway, and she saw him as a means of furthering her political ambitions.

We are not told, that, despite his appalling behaviour, Bill, who looks gaunt and aged,has earned over 90 million dollars on the lecture circuit - £400,000 a time for a speeech of 40 minutes-yes £400,000!, (why people will pay ludicrous, vast sums to hear ex presidents and prime ministers regale them with how they saved the world is a mystery. They really have nothing worthwhile to say. If only honesty would occasionally seep through, for example the errors they made and the lies they told. George Burns said he went to count the embellishments of the truth before he fell asleep), or about her previous massive book earnings, and recent talks that alone have brought in well over 4.5 million dollars. Some may remember she told the world that she and Bill left the White House 'without a penny', indeed heavily in debt. More lies.

Of course,their understanding of debt would not be quite the same as that of the thousands of struggling poor in America. Also we now know that this debt was underwritten by a very close friend. Hillary like dear Bill has problems with the truth. Indeed at times she is almost in Tony Blair's league in this respect. As I write, she has admitted that to say they were heavily in debt was 'exaggerated'. Yet another example of a sea change when challenged. In the same interview she agreed that she earned around'$200,000 a talk'. Bill she said 'recently earned $1 million in ONE WEEK doing lectures' ( see above). The truth is they are mega rich. Her opponents will use this, plus the many lies, to attack her.

The book is replete with 'awesome people'. Unlike the recent book by Robert Gates which revealed what really goes on in government, warts and all, and the insightful volumes by Henry Kissinger, there is nothing here that is critical of anything or anyone, apart, of course, from Putin (yet another example of milking the moment). Those other books were rawly candid while this is a keep your options open book. It is a dull book that lacks critical energy, and above all, honesty.

It also smacks of much 'ghost writing'. She has been very evasive about the degree to which she had help to write this account. There is a strong suspicion that a committee was used to write it. Certainly, it is very hard to believe her account that she spent 15 months writing this in her apartment in New York. Whoever is responsible, the style is best described as gush gush. In addition, ten words are invariably used where two would suffice. An article in a woman's magazine perhaps, a 600 page book by a politician no.

Here are some examples. Talking of David Milband: 'He caused me to gulp and smile simultaneously when he said......'. Guess what David said :'Yours is a Herculean job, but I think you're the right Hercules for this job'. No doubt this is why the Clintons helped David to get his well-paid job in the US. A job by the way it is said he is doing badly.

Here is another gem. She describes Hague's speech at an Embassy dinner and tells us 'it left me in awe'. How come? Because Hague quoted from Lord Salisbury about diplomacy! She says he was 'the David Beckham of toasting'. He also happens to be one of the weakest foreign secretaries this country has had in recent years. Thank goodness he is retiring from politics in 2015. Parading around with a third rate actress while Iraq and much of the Middle East burns demonstrates a man who has no sense of what really matters. Go William, the sooner the better.

We mustn't forget either how Sarkozy helped Hillary to find her shoe while in Paris. She told him he was:'her Prince Charming'. It couldn't get worse, you have to keep pinching yourself to remember these remarks are made by a former Secretary of State of the most powerful country on earth, and not by some impressionable star-struck teenager. There are times when she gives the impression she thinks she is a femme fatale instead of a woman in her late sixties and soon to be a grandmother.

Despite the rigours of her job, she, amazingly, nevertheless, still found time to help plan Chelsea's wedding and choose her wedding dress.
Her daughter's wedding to a Jew-a millionaire Jew of course-witnessed yet another sea change in mother's views, views that for years had been very pro PLO. Suddenly, these were softened and kind remarks began to flow about Israel! Clelsea by the way, prior to her wedding, was living in a $6 million apartment. Chelsea now cashes in on her name, and earns $75,000 a speech. In addition, she has earned over $600,000 a year as a TV journalist. The Clintons certainly have to struggle financially.

She paints a picture of foreign policy that is commonplace; it is we are told tiring, complex and hard. There is very little evidence of visionary zeal. Throughout, it is clear she is desperate not too offend. Whenever her policy recommendations are overuled by Obama, for example on Syria, the President is always right. We never learn the details of her proposals. Her claim that she brought Iran to the negotiating table has already been described by several players as somewhat 'exaggerated'. We are never told the reality, namely the infighting, the battles with Congress and the rows with allies. There is no mention either of how the financial and other scandals that surrounded her while in Arkansas with Bill have never gone away, and will clearly play an important role in 2016.

The book claims to be about Hillary Rodham Clinton's time as S of S, how she dealt with crises, choices and challenges. In reality it tells us nothing remotely new. It has all the subtlety of a planned military operation getting ready to go. She is reasonably bright, hard working, intense, and insists on detail;in brief, a policy wonk. She communicates with her mind, Bill with his heart. That is why they are a formidable political team as long as you ignore the numerous warts and dubious dealings.

This book is an improvement on her 'Living History', but only just. It is in part an attempt to bolster America's image, but even more it is a transparent attempt to prepare the ground for the fight ahead in 2016. It is one she will almost certainly lose. People have long memories and will not forget the many tawdry issues that have been associated with her over the years. She could help her cause if she stopped being photographed with mouth agabe and eyes popplng. This, plus pink or yellow pant suits, is too much Hillary.

By the way, contrary to what is often said she is not by a long way the first woman to run for President. She will be the first First Lady, and the first postgraduate, to do so.

An easy read that could and should have been severely pruned by at least 100 pages. Those unfamiliar with American politics will be no wiser after reading this dull as ditch water account by a hard-nosed politician who will be considerably richer, by a minmum of $14 million, for having helped to write it. Unfortunately, it is clear from many reviews that those with little or no detailed knowledge of American politics, politics that make ours look like a kindergarten by comparison, have had the wool pulled over their eyes, and how! It is astonishing to many, many Americans how anyone, mainly women, can have anything other than contempt for her husband.

Hillary is an astute politician. She is not a saint, nor is she Joan, or Antigone or Lady Macbeth, although she has played each role effectively. Her ambition is, as far as one can tell, to make the world accept her liberation, theological and radical feminist views. She is good at masking her true feelings as this book demonstrates. She is a master manipulator of the media. Only if you study what she said last year and the year before can you see behind the mask. Coy soft words are belied by harsh deeds. For many she remains an enigma. Her role, for example, in the downfall of Nixon is still not known by many. It was not something you would brag about.

The key problem with Hillary is her lack of constancy. She tailors her beliefs in accordance with the prevailing political wind. A classic example of this is her sudden and late conversion to the cause of gay marriage once opinion polls showed she was backing the wrong horse.This is not what America or the world want in the White House. They have had enough ineffective Presidents.

Her final memo to Obama advised him how to treat Putin. It reads like a 5th grade primer. One could never imagine such a memo emanating from Kissinger or any of Clinton's immediate predecessors. A 69 year-old spouting this kind of nonsense in 2016 is not going to galvanise the world. There is also the question of her health. Reports, unconfirmed, indicate this could be a serious issue come 2016. A win would of course mean another dual Clinton presidency. Oh dear!

As Edward Klein has shown in his newly published book, there is no love lost between the Obamas and Clintons. He claims there is a 'blood feud', and that Michelle refers to Hillary as 'Hilderbeest'. I wonder why?

Let the last words be those by Dick Morris in his memoirs;
'Like the moon Hillary only shines or receives affection, when her husband is most luminous. She seems most brilliant when Saturday-night Bill has strayed, gotten caught, and needs his wife to rescue him'.

A transparent, self-serving account to prepare one for the campaign in 2016. Recommended for those who enjoy fairy stories. This one, however, will not have a happy ending for Cinderella. America has had to endure some dreadful presidents, it and the world does not want another one in 2016, certainly not one like Hillary Clinton.
PS She was recently paid $235,000 for a 40 minute talk at an American second tier university! They say you can't fool people!
Two new books just out in the States. Saw heavy sales in many stores on recent visit. Both allege Bill is up to his old tricks again. Few will be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 27 July 2014
By 
Mark (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices: A Memoir (Kindle Edition)
I was looking forward to reading this, but got bored after reading about a 3rd of it and gave in. As many others have said, the book basically tells you how great everyone her supporters and staff are and what her mandate will be for president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Choices (Hardcover)
A present for my wife, who was very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Choices: A Memoir
Hard Choices: A Memoir by Hillary Rodham Clinton
£7.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews