Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harder edge and back on form
This is the forth album by the rockers from Northern Ireland and I have followed them since 2006 and their first album, Rise. I found the last album "Revival" slightly disappointing without and real killer tracks but the title track New Horizon dispelled any doubts with guitarist Paul Mahon's razor sharp riff supported by James Heatley on drums and Mick Waters on bass...
Published 20 months ago by S Finnerty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Their weakest album to date.
I think these guys peaked with Everyday Demons which was probably my favorite album that year. Revival was a wee bit of a letdown but how could it be anything but, Demons was so good.

But this is a further letdown still. Revival is better than this.

"Side 1" is pretty good but from Concrete all the way through White Flag (I have the bonus track...
Published 18 months ago by Toscano Barga


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harder edge and back on form, 2 Oct. 2013
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
This is the forth album by the rockers from Northern Ireland and I have followed them since 2006 and their first album, Rise. I found the last album "Revival" slightly disappointing without and real killer tracks but the title track New Horizon dispelled any doubts with guitarist Paul Mahon's razor sharp riff supported by James Heatley on drums and Mick Waters on bass while Cormac Neeson leads with his distinctive vocal style best described as a cross between Robert Plant and Kelly Jones!

From this the album contains changes in style and tempo but keeps an edge and freshness that "Revival" lacked in my opinion and reminded me what a great live band they are, learning their craft supporting stadium bands such as AC/DC and building on this with their own style, well worth catching if you get a chance. Buy the album if you like rock or harder edged blues and for those not sure after their last album give this a try as it is a real return to form. There is an MP3 download but it doesn't appear when you search on the artist.
B00FHYYV0Y
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn Up The Volume!, 10 Oct. 2013
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
The Answer are a hard-working band who play great rock and are fantastic live, yet have enjoyed less success than they deserve. This, their 4th album, is surely the one that will springboard them into the big time - it's their best record by far. New Horizon is glorious, head-banging rock and a really great listen. Turn up the volume and prepare to be entertained big time! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Rock...AWESOME!!!, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
D. Mowforth (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
This is one kick ass album...from the heavy rock of 'Burn You Down' & 'Concrete'...to the more mellow tones of 'Call Yourself A Friend' this is definitely a no skip no filler album....and is a must buy for any true rock fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Their weakest album to date., 11 Nov. 2013
By 
Toscano Barga (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
I think these guys peaked with Everyday Demons which was probably my favorite album that year. Revival was a wee bit of a letdown but how could it be anything but, Demons was so good.

But this is a further letdown still. Revival is better than this.

"Side 1" is pretty good but from Concrete all the way through White Flag (I have the bonus track edition) it pretty much is recycling ideas and good melodies and fresh ideas are in short supply, with the exception of "Call yourself a friend" and "Real as it gets".

Not every riff is worthy of having a song built around it, maybe if they had combined all their ideas into 10 songs rather than stretch out to 14 it might have made for a shorter album, but I'll take Quality over Quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
I have all their albums and this one doesn't disappoint. I heard a while back on one of the rock radio stations that instead of churning out more of the same with each album the band try to progress and develop their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
I have owned this album for a while and it just gets better with each listen. Great songs, great singing and great playing ..... Now I want to see them live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great hardcore rock !, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
I didn't know "The Answer" until I got this CD and have been hugely impressed. I don't like to label bands as sounding like such and such so will just say for me this is just excellent main stream hard rock. All sorts of influences come through but come together for a refreshingly different sound. There is also a good mix with a couple of great rock ballads, "Call yourself a friend" is particularly good.

I would strongly recommend this to those who enjoy rock from Black Stone Cherry to Guns n Roses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This band should be massive, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
Any fan of classic rock will love this album. Buy it and enjoy. Better still go and see them live, they take no prisoners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rock Album, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (MP3 Download)
If you like classic, 70's style rock - you'll love this.

The Answer supported AC/DC on their last world tour. They are a class act, and if there was any justice in the music world - should be huge by now.

Was fortunate to see the guys play some of this live, just the other night. Outstanding!!!!

Great album, with plenty of catchy riffs thrown in. Give your ears a treat!! (see these guys live if you get the chance!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2013?, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Horizon (Audio CD)
I have been a big fan of The Answer since I saw them live on the Everyday Demons tour, I was a little disappointed with the Revival album (Still better than the majority of bands just not as good as their previous efforts!) but I have to say that New Horizon is an absolute cracker. Songs like Concrete, New Horizon and Spectacular are exactly that, plus they've added the three best bonus tracks on a release I have ever heard.

Buy it and support a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Horizon
New Horizon by The Answer
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews