Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2013
Perfect blend of psychedelic and funk music making innovative use of lower end instruments and groundbreaking techniques in the studio and with early synthesisers. Great.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Bought this CD not long ago and absolutely love it. Saw it recommended on the guardian website and there are some seriously funky tunes on this collection
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
Catchy melodys and rhythms, epic arrangements. It's all here on this album. This mans synth work is amazing, especially coming from a time (70s & 80s), and a place, (Nigeria) that you would not associate with the synthesiser. Most of the tunes on here are as funky as funk if you know what I mean. Stand out tracks for me so far are, Fantastic man good name, and body and soul. I can't be bothered to trot out his story, go to Wikipedia for that, but what a shame that he has given up on music, I mean if he went in the studio with some top notch producers, or just an engineer, the results would be truly stunning. Buy this album btw.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2016
Perfect!
Delivery on time, excellent quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
My first ever Amazon review- when my wife catches me slightly open mouthed in wonder with the scale of brilliance displayed on this album , smiles and says "yeah, it's that good, love" , that's all the confirmation I need. However, you will have some slack jawed moments, this I can confirm . Now to start a exploration of more of this stuff. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
This is a fantastic compilation, pulling together 13 hot cuts from this elusive and talented afro-disco nutter. These tracks have been traded for years at massive prices by vinyl junkies and so bringing it into the mainstream with a western release is fantastic... thanks to those hep cats at Luaka Bop.

But the vinyl version has 4 extra tracks and buyers should note that these four are not included in the free download... so you'll still not have that copy of "Smooth and Good" on download that you are looking for...
44 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
I think William Onyeabor is great. African music and synthesiser but make sure you get the version that includes "When the going is smooth and good" on
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.