Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly It's Christmas
A big problem with DVDs - in fact, with television in general - is that it is very difficult to capture the atmosphere of an occasion. Oh yes, you can point a camera at a performer and they can sing to perfection but you rarely get the same 'feel' that the attending audience experiences. Now, as one who was more than a little disappointed at not being able to attend this...
Published 10 months ago by Jeff Carter

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Christmas music
This is a very typical Libera offering and the boys do a good job. However, even though this was recorded live, which is always more difficult, they need to do some serious work on their breathing techniques.
Published 9 months ago by Jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suddenly It's Christmas, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Jeff Carter (Newport Pagnell, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
A big problem with DVDs - in fact, with television in general - is that it is very difficult to capture the atmosphere of an occasion. Oh yes, you can point a camera at a performer and they can sing to perfection but you rarely get the same 'feel' that the attending audience experiences. Now, as one who was more than a little disappointed at not being able to attend this concert in August due to the short notice of the publicity, I was hoping that this would be something special capturing the spirit of the occasion and not failing as so many 'live' videos do.

I need not have worried. This DVD is nothing short of brilliant, not only capturing the atmosphere but even enhancing it with superb camera shots, lighting, editing and sound mixing. Tight close ups and spectacular crane shots make this DVD something very special. I already have Libera's DVD of their Holland concert and, excellent though that is, this Christmas offering makes it look like a home video. Yes, I know it was shot in the middle of Summer but when you watch it, it is suddenly Christmas. The boys' performance is, of course, as faultless as ever. Having been to many of their shows, it never fails to amaze me how professional these young performers are and how much work must be put in to achieve and maintain that standard. Robert Prizeman is, apart from being the nicest man I have ever met, a genius. How he manages to handle that many boys and optimize their talents is quite beyond belief.

But let's get back to this amazing DVD. Buy this and you'll hear lots of Christmas songs, some that you know and a few that you don't and the most moving version of 'Danny Boy' you are ever likely to hear sung completely unaccompanied and is alone worth the price of this DVD.

So, a superb DVD and a must for all Libera fans and, indeed, anyone who appreciates high quality young talent. But a word of warning. This DVD was shot in NTSC format, presumably to accommodate our transatlantic friends. This is not a problem if you have a reasonably modern PAL DVD player but, if it is a few years old, it might be a good idea to check that it is NTSC compatible. If it isn't, buy a new machine...it will be worth it to see this incredible video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Libera - Live, authentically pure and at their festive best, 3 Nov 2013
By 
RJ (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although always a firm admirer of Libera and their music, I have sometimes thought in the past that their CD's have been produced with quite a heavy influence of synthesized instrumental support. Whilst in no way detracting from the vocals, I have often found myself wishing we had the opportunity of listening to their pure and unplugged vocals complemented by a small live orchestra much like their recent concerts. Then just in time for Christmas comes the CD/DVD combo we've been waiting for since their debut DVD in 2007.
This authentically staged production features superb arrangements of some classic Christmas carols/hymns. The combination of Libera's excellent choral sound and the Celtic instrumentals inc strings, flute, drum etc.. really do make you feel like you were part of the lucky audience who got to see them on that August evening at St Patrick's Cathedral, Armagh.
All the Libera boys are talented goes without saying, and I don't like to single out any particular favourite, but sometimes there is a performance that really does take your breath away for it's outstanding execution. Isaac London (10yrs), "Danny Boy"...... just go and listen to it... A cappella heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angelic Christmas!, 18 Dec 2013
By 
D Stephens (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Once again LIBERA has created a masterpiece of seasonal music - this time with an Irish twist!
This recording of new arrangements by Robert Prizeman is truly magnificent and is undoubtedly the best Christmas music I have heard in a very long time. It is even better than their previous Christmas album of 2011 and was recorded in the most beautiful catholic cathedral of St Patrick's, in Armagh.
The ambience and acoustics of this place really does lift the Libera Sound to a whole new level. This concert has raised the bar considerably for the boys of Libera and, as always, they have risen to the challenge. I expect this DVD and the attendant CD to be the sound of Christmas for many years to come in households worldwide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, better, best, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was at the concert-recording in Armagh in N.Ireland. It was a beautiful concert as it was. But seeing the dvd recording on my computer is mind blowing. When you sit in the cathedral you have your attention on the choir. With the 5 or 6 cameras used so much more is to be seen. I am so glad I have a good monitor with my computer. I cannot watch the dvd and not get tears in my eyes, it is so beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
What a really special Christmas DVD this is!

Really ticks all the Christmas music boxes. So beautifully put together by the TV crew and all the team who had to put so much into this lavish production - both sound and pictures.

Fantastic!!!

When will we see another of this kind from such a great choir?

Thanks Libera!!!!

Richard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas in the summer., 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
It was interesting to find out the recording was filmed in the summer. The additional features give a perspective of how the boys enjoy what they do. The music is, as one would expect from Libera, outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for xmas, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
this as been the best christmas music collection i have ever seen or heard it has been a joy watching it i rate it 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels Sing, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
What can you say about the greatest choir in the world, have waited for this Dvd for a long time, since the Amsterdam tour many years ago this is the first to be released, I only hope that the youngsters coming into the choir are as good as those that gave them such prestige, I saw them live at Arundel Cathedrel, amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Libera the great sounding group., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
As all the CDs and DVDs from the boys, are great, nice to be able to watch them in concert. As I live in Melbourne Australia, and getting on in years will never see the live. So the DVDs are fantastic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saw concert on PBS and bought it!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I sang in boy choirs from age 9-18 and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is one of the best boy choirs I've had the privilege of hearing. I bought a copy to gift a friend of mine who has a MA in Choral Direction. I think that he will really enjoy it. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels Sing - Christmas In Ireland [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews