Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars31
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
A brief snapshot of the human, lived experience. Heart-warming and heart-breaking in equal measure. Although some of the language may have aged, the issues, emotions and thoughts of home could be lifted from the letters of the modern day soldiers at war. Something's endure.

The letters stop the light of life is extinguished, a name on a list and a the father, son and husband is snuffed from the family. The measure of this loss can never be conveyed. May he rest in peace and thank you to his family for sharing the letters.

Lest we forget
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
My uncle was in the first world war, and I wanted to know what it was like, this book was so real, I am also involved in an art programme where we all have to make, paint or do something related with WWI and this book was easy to read and understand, never boring, but making the best of a really bad time.
it is a good read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
You can feel yourself there with the author and the hardship of being a father and a husband so far away from home. And paying the ultimate price and the sadness that his family must feel and his son growing up without a father . Just one family in many hundreds of thousands who died .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
A great read for anyone wanting to understand what they had to go through. We could all learn what it means these days to be a MAN, not the boys that think they are men.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Through his letters we learn to understand what a horrendous war this was. Harold rarely if ever complains although one suspects that he is being very careful not to worry his family too much. His language is of the time, a very well read guy with a heart of gold. We should all salute this solidly proud man who like millions with him upheld our country's honour with their lifeblood. RIP Harold.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
A brilliant read bringing together, for the Reader to actually feel, all the joy then misery, wounds and death the First World War contained: but it also refers, in an off beat sort of way, to the politics (with a small 'p') the ordinary man began to feel about those surrounding him; the arrogance (to begin with) of the middle and upper class man and woman [the various working classes consisting then of several types of lower-than-the-bottom disparate manually working beings] - thank God, we have eventually, as a consequence, gone upwards and really are all mostly the same (equal) now - everything starting with/at the beginning and cause of the actuality of the First World War - without which fundamental change we would have become quite different (not such good) types of persons: so, then, millions died or were wounded for our advantage: what a price though they paid for us. But, at least, it brought about the downfall of people like the querulous-Kaiser and queer-Kings ('queer' in the old fashioned sense).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
The subject of this book has to give a very personal insight into the man and his times. Harold's accounts of some of the awful sights and sounds he witnessed in France are naturally toned down in order not to create a sense of panic at home and also probably to get them past the censors who would have ruled out any references to the true horror of this time in our history. "Reading between the lines" and with a general knowledge of the conflict in which he suffered and eventually died, it is easy to imagine what he might have written or indeed what he wanted to write to convey the truth or the whole terrible episode.
It is perhaps a pity that some of the letters and replies from his loving family to him, which he refers to often, have not survived to give an account of the War from their perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
This is such a poignant and imaginative read, written for his wife and child, that I have been unable to finish the book, knowing his fate. Nothing demonstrates the unfairness of what happens in war than such a personal and charming account. |
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
This book was so engrossing, I finished it in 5 hours. I couldn't put it down and when I did stop reading ( to eat.) I found myself thinking about what was happening to Harold and how he was going to carry on.
I found myself there with the all in the trenches and felt personal involved.
His little drawings made me smile so much.
You can feel the love he had for his wife, son, mother and mother in law, as well as the worry and fear for them.
Everyone should read this book, not just those with an interest in war, as it gives you a real, true insight into what was suffered in the trenches. Not just the fear of war and dying, but also fear and worry for those left behind at home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A must read book on the First World War with a tragic end. Even though you no the ending you want it to carry on and wish he had made it back home
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)