Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lived history - excellent read
A brief snapshot of the human, lived experience. Heart-warming and heart-breaking in equal measure. Although some of the language may have aged, the issues, emotions and thoughts of home could be lifted from the letters of the modern day soldiers at war. Something's endure.

The letters stop the light of life is extinguished, a name on a list and a the father,...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. J. C. Bell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An incomplete story
Delves into the personal thoughts of a simple soldier caught up in the war. It is a pity that the replies of his many letters from his wife has not been saved.
Published 5 months ago by Film maker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lived history - excellent read, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
A brief snapshot of the human, lived experience. Heart-warming and heart-breaking in equal measure. Although some of the language may have aged, the issues, emotions and thoughts of home could be lifted from the letters of the modern day soldiers at war. Something's endure.

The letters stop the light of life is extinguished, a name on a list and a the father, son and husband is snuffed from the family. The measure of this loss can never be conveyed. May he rest in peace and thank you to his family for sharing the letters.

Lest we forget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an informative read, 25 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Heather Nelson "Heather" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
My uncle was in the first world war, and I wanted to know what it was like, this book was so real, I am also involved in an art programme where we all have to make, paint or do something related with WWI and this book was easy to read and understand, never boring, but making the best of a really bad time.
it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad reality of the war, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
You can feel yourself there with the author and the hardship of being a father and a husband so far away from home. And paying the ultimate price and the sadness that his family must feel and his son growing up without a father . Just one family in many hundreds of thousands who died .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
A great read for anyone wanting to understand what they had to go through. We could all learn what it means these days to be a MAN, not the boys that think they are men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The modest soldier, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
Through his letters we learn to understand what a horrendous war this was. Harold rarely if ever complains although one suspects that he is being very careful not to worry his family too much. His language is of the time, a very well read guy with a heart of gold. We should all salute this solidly proud man who like millions with him upheld our country's honour with their lifeblood. RIP Harold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
A must read book on the First World War with a tragic end. Even though you no the ending you want it to carry on and wish he had made it back home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Insight, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
This book was so engrossing, I finished it in 5 hours. I couldn't put it down and when I did stop reading ( to eat.) I found myself thinking about what was happening to Harold and how he was going to carry on.
I found myself there with the all in the trenches and felt personal involved.
His little drawings made me smile so much.
You can feel the love he had for his wife, son, mother and mother in law, as well as the worry and fear for them.
Everyone should read this book, not just those with an interest in war, as it gives you a real, true insight into what was suffered in the trenches. Not just the fear of war and dying, but also fear and worry for those left behind at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant but tragic read., 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant read bringing together, for the Reader to actually feel, all the joy then misery, wounds and death the First World War contained: but it also refers, in an off beat sort of way, to the politics (with a small 'p') the ordinary man began to feel about those surrounding him; the arrogance (to begin with) of the middle and upper class man and woman [the various working classes consisting then of several types of lower-than-the-bottom disparate manually working beings] - thank God, we have eventually, as a consequence, gone upwards and really are all mostly the same (equal) now - everything starting with/at the beginning and cause of the actuality of the First World War - without which fundamental change we would have become quite different (not such good) types of persons: so, then, millions died or were wounded for our advantage: what a price though they paid for us. But, at least, it brought about the downfall of people like the querulous-Kaiser and queer-Kings ('queer' in the old fashioned sense).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brave man, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. J. C. Taylor "Honest John" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
gripping sad story. I am so lucky as to not of had to fight in any war..God bless them.heroes all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An incomplete story, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ONE MAN'S WAR: Letters from a Soldier Killed at the Battle of Loos (Kindle Edition)
Delves into the personal thoughts of a simple soldier caught up in the war. It is a pity that the replies of his many letters from his wife has not been saved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews