Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern gritty cyberpunk
This is the second book in the Techxorcist series. I recently read the first book Artificial Evil again. The author has re-worked the second half of the book so if you were an early reader you might want to download it again. For instance if you have a Kindle head to the `Manage Your Kindle' page and find the book and choose on the download option in the actions list. The...
Published 20 months ago by IuchiAtesoro

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but does not live up to the first book.
Read the first code breakers and that was good. Bought this one but it is disappointing in many ways. The author seems to have lost control of the storyline at times and got too carried away at others. I have given it 3 stars, but I am really 2.5. It is still an largely entertaining read, lots of action and cyberpunk weirdness - just too much going on and I had to 'make'...
Published 8 months ago by Joanna Letts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern gritty cyberpunk, 14 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the Techxorcist series. I recently read the first book Artificial Evil again. The author has re-worked the second half of the book so if you were an early reader you might want to download it again. For instance if you have a Kindle head to the `Manage Your Kindle' page and find the book and choose on the download option in the actions list. The new ending makes much more sense moving on to the second book.

This is a Cyberpunk series but it is less about fancy avatars and showy battles and more about traversing networks and overloading nodes with data. In short it is more realistic but without being too obviously rooted in modern technology. There are lots of different kinds of post-humans in this book. From those with a simple interface system to advanced artificial intelligences.

Poor Gerry and Petal don't get a break in this book. Everything I thought could go wrong ended up being a much worse situation. Despite all the pain and suffering in this dystopian setting it somehow manages to exude a desperate hope that thins can and will get better for all. Not just the haves but everyone, well most people anyway.

The story starts with a bang and then is quite slow with a lot to take in during the first half of this book. The second half just flies by those. The final quarter was so punchy and gripping that I had to read it all in one sitting. I cried at the end. I don't normally do that but the fate of Petal and Gerry hit me quite hard. This is a really good read and is one of a clutch of modern cyberpunk books to revive what I thought was becoming a tired and clichéd genre. Not so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but does not live up to the first book., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
Read the first code breakers and that was good. Bought this one but it is disappointing in many ways. The author seems to have lost control of the storyline at times and got too carried away at others. I have given it 3 stars, but I am really 2.5. It is still an largely entertaining read, lots of action and cyberpunk weirdness - just too much going on and I had to 'make' myself get back into it a few times (quite a few by the end), rather than having to drag myself out of the book and back to reality. I wont get the next ones.

SPOILER ALERT!

Why has Gerry got the ridiculous new capability of bionic super-speed? He only uses it a couple of times, it ruins the flow and smacks of the author not knowing how he can get the story-line done, or cram extra 'excitement' in.
Unfortunately for me at least, the development of the characters does not work.They stop being the interesting individuals they were in the 1st book and turn into a means to an end - there is too much going on, and their personalities get lost in the maelstrom of action. As has been the case in quite a few books I have read, the separate interesting characters begin to form an amalgamated 'group' character - all sounding alike, a many-headed creature just getting to the stories conclusion - which pushes me out of the story. Petals last speech is cringeworthy and the sudden deaths of some characters we were getting to know just cut me off from the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong follow on from the first book, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
After reading the first of the series, I was hooked. The second picks up quickly and offers a lot of insight into one of the characters background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The series is growing up, 8 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
Writing pace and depth all better in this second installment. characters still have an amazing ability to assimilate new information and situations though- better sustained development could yet add even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This became a bit silly at times which is sad because the heroins story come into its own and ..., 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
I was very impressed with the first book but much less so with this one. When the hero started changing into "stealth mode" and "combat mode" and changed from being someone who was bit nervous and unsure of himself to James Bond. The issue of how our hero can always find a network to hack (even in a post Nuclear war zone) where people dont have enough to eat but seem to have lots of computers. This became a bit silly at times which is sad because the heroins story come into its own and is quite interesting. Will give the next one a go as this might just be "book 2 silliness".

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked the first two books in the series and have ..., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
IMCPU2 "imcpu2" (Portsmouth England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
I liked the first two books in the series and have now downloaded the third. It makes a change from some of the more mundane novels out for electronic download at the moment. I haven't noticed too many typos or sentences being mangled and this is an enjoyable read with plenty of action - and hey it's science fiction so don't take everything so seriously. The computer stuff sounds good to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Get a proof reader., 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
An interesting idea, but direct to ebook via amazon, although cheap, is not necessarily the best option if it means doing away with effective proof readers. Too many spelling mistakes, word and even entire phrase omissions and glaring continuity blunders. But good teenage fun and would enjoy B movie status a la Mad Max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
Having had my interest in Cyberpunk piqued by the first in the series, the excellent Artificial Evil, I was pleased to see Book 2 continue as I'd hoped - destruction, desperation, clever transhuman technology and a few more clues as to the big dark thing that was pursuing Gerry on the Family's space station at the end of Book 1.

Separated; our main characters Gerry (saviour of all things), Petal (his missing half, more than a bit confused about her origins) and Gabe (very shady, but a good guy) bring themselves and a ragtag band of whatever's left together to fight off the Family's insane plans for accelerating evolution, the Red Widow's plans to eliminate all technologically-enhanced humans and aided by Criborg with their sophisticated gadgets and many answers for Petal - the story builds to a fairly climactic onslaught of techno-wizardry, brinkmanship and ultimately, hope.

The arc for Book 3, Annihilation Point, becomes clearer, and many questions about Old Grey and other earlier characters are answered - and as the outlook for humanity becomes more bleak the ingenuity and adaptation of our embattled survivors comes to the fore.

A word - if you think that Cyberpunk means mindless technobabble that will leave you scratching your head and skipping back a page or two, fear not. Colin is adept at writing the fine line between too simple to be worth using and too complex to explain succinctly. Coding, AIs, traversing file locations via network connections - it's all here and more, and yet written in a way that enhances and expands the story. Clever stuff indeed. A worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Stuff, 4 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
I'm not a great reader so a book needs to be good to hold my interest. The first book in this series did that and I'm hoping that the others will be just as good.
The author manages to keep the plot going at a fast rate and l found myself just wanting another page before putting the book Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the story is really good BUT the dozens of spelling and grammatical mistakes and ..., 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Breakers: Beta (Kindle Edition)
Don't get me wrong, the story is really good BUT the dozens of spelling and grammatical mistakes and nonsensical sentences throughout just drove me crazy, hence the low star rating. What happened? Couldn't be bothered with a proof-reader this time round?? Hope the next instalment improves...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Code Breakers: Beta
Code Breakers: Beta by Colin F. Barnes
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews