Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...fast paced
This is a fast paced story , you d not get a chance to phase out or get bored , the story is always moving along. Not a literary masterpiece , just good fun.
Published 12 months ago by kim m smith

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do what I did.
Don't buy this.

First, one of the other reviewers is correct when he says that the author knows nothing about science. He obviously doesn't. Sadly, he doesn't seem to know about anything. Here's some highlights from the first 20 pages:

1. He doesn't know anything about scrapyards. (The main character grew up in one. Apparently he thinks cars like a...
Published 16 months ago by J. Maskell


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't do what I did., 3 Jan. 2014
By 
J. Maskell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Don't buy this.

First, one of the other reviewers is correct when he says that the author knows nothing about science. He obviously doesn't. Sadly, he doesn't seem to know about anything. Here's some highlights from the first 20 pages:

1. He doesn't know anything about scrapyards. (The main character grew up in one. Apparently he thinks cars like a Chevy Bel Air and other rare early American cars would have been there since his characters childhood. It also doesn't seem to sell any of the scrap, but just collect it. Forever. )
2. He doesn't know anything about the Navy. (The main character is a Navy SEAL leader AND the commander of a Naval Warship! And he's super awesome, you guys!)
3. He doesn't know anything about the military. (The main character shoots some really, really bad men from medium range with his sidearm, rather than use the H&K MP5 which is his primary weapon. He gets 5 headshots in a row and saves the day because he's really awesome you guys. His SEAL squad just watches as he doesn't bother to give them any orders to do it, just does it himself.)
4. He doesn't know anything about human psychology. (His super awesome navy SEAL character reacts in a completely blase way to stepping on a bunch of glass while barefoot [see item 1], and meeting an alien.)

Another review compared this to 20s and 30s pulp science fiction. Those old Space Operas had a lot in common with this, but they had some knowledge of the things they wrote about and made some good guesses/extrapolation for their technologies. Your average Perry Rhodan novel is better than this.

It's just really terrible writing and everything else. Don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Writing, Dire Story, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this on a whim as the reviews - at least the two that I read were rather nice about this. Hmmmm. Fooled.

It's not all bad because the writer can string the words together well enough and grammar is fine. I certainly didn't find myself grinding my teeth over it.

BUT....

The story is simply appallingly done. Seriously, this is the kind of thing one would expect a twelve year old would knock up in his or her English class. There is zero depth, no characterization and the story tears along so fast it lacks all sense of pace. It's childlike.

Now, I appreciate we are talking about sci-fi here which, by it's nature requires a bit of suspension of disbelief, however to start a story off when the first few pages goes from lead character being confined to his house - which also happens to be a scrap yard his father left him, to finding a spaceship buried in his back yard - with a full crew - who already know he is their captain, simply leaves one stunned at the lack of timeline or pace. Add to that the fact that the same time the lead finds the spaceship, Earth is invaded and his stunning estranged wife is kidnapped by the aliens, you can see that in essence this really is a badly done kids book.

So if you like Hamilton, Asher, Currie etch. Don't bother with this rubbish.

So, unlike the other reviewers I shall not be chasing this story any further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dire rubbish, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There seem to be an inordinate amount of positive reviews of this book, most of which were written by people I doubt even read it. It is absolute tripe of the worst order.

None of the justifications are even slightly realistic, from the main character, lets call him Bob (I can't remember his name and refuse to subject myself to any more of this drivel to find out), being grounded for being a naughty boy. (this is the impression the story gives, as though he is 12) But then explains the situation to make sure everyone understands he is actually whiter than white (can't have anyone doubting Mary Sue).

There is absolutely zero sense of urgency to any part of the story. Bob is desperate to find his abducted wife, who is abducted before his eyes, giving the abductors approximately two minutes head start, but Bob decides it is more important to spend four hours playing with his daughter to establish his father of the year credentials!

The entire book continues in the same vein. Absolutely cretinous writing of the most abject drivel I have ever subjected myself to.

If you buy this book, don't say you weren't warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silly story, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. K. Gardiner "kevstar" (l/buzzard uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Poor plot line, no attempt to make the story stand up to scrutiny. A very immature style of writing obviously aimed at the younger elements. If it wasn't for the infrequent bad language and even rarer sexual references, I would assume the book was aimed at 10 to 14 year olds. Sorry, Mark Wayne you will have to do much better than this to make a lasting Mark in the genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A C grade paper by an A grade student, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Before eBooks this novel would never have been published. It is riddled with defects; however this author has obvious potential. He has a nice writing style. It was an easy and reasonable enjoyable read. It feels very much like a first novel. He tries to cram every idea he has in, without considering whether it developed the plot or characters or even if they make sense. He is unable to develop any tension and the story plod from one event to the next. Sudden plot developments which come out of nowhere are used to move the story along. One side has a huge advantage then sudden a plot twist takes away this advantage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars childish novel, not worth the time, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
childish writing and does not engage with reader. I thought it was a waste of time. Not edited well either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good title - reflects the wrtiing, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I really hate being told how many damn word I have to write in a review so in future I will just use this phrase over and over again until this review policy is changed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...fast paced, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fast paced story , you d not get a chance to phase out or get bored , the story is always moving along. Not a literary masterpiece , just good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good Read, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
after the start of the years influx of larson heppner vandyke and thomas i was left at a lull. This filled the gap and kept me reading right the way through. Its not hardcore like a mil sci-fi but the action is well written and the tech comes from a great perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book keeps you interested through the tale. Looking forward to the next instalment and how the ship turns the tide of the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrapyard Ship (Scrapyard Ship series Book 1)
£3.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews