Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely
After Tales from the Barrelhouse I didn't expect that Sean would make a cd that equalize it, but he did. This cd is as good as the 'Barrelhouse'.
Published 6 months ago by G. van den Hof

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Word of Mouth
If you’re hoping this will be a foot stomping return to some of Seth’s earlier work you will be sadly disappointed. Seth has continued with his tuneless dirges interspersed with a couple of songs that actually have some melody, cord changes and some good old fiddling. Like the Barrel House, disappointing, but if you are into songs deeply relating to...
Published 5 months ago by S W Weller


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
A great new album from Seth. Unmistakably Seth Lakeman but better than his last offering I think. if you are a fan you are unlikely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 24 Feb 2014
By 
G. van den Hof "folk.45" (Alphen a/d Rijn, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
After Tales from the Barrelhouse I didn't expect that Sean would make a cd that equalize it, but he did. This cd is as good as the 'Barrelhouse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
Love the songs, the lyrics, the story behind this cd, the book style case. Highly recommend it. Thanks Seth Lakeman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
SM (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
We collect Seth Lakeman CD's in this house so were pleased to see this released.

Seth Lakeman has a full band put together in Word of Mouth which is a lovely contrast from the CD he released in 2012 called Tales From the Barrel House. Both are lovely but the contrast is big. The only (slight) difficulty with Word of Mouth is that it seems slightly too smooth - as though all the basic raw edge of the folk style has been edited out. For me, that is part of the charm of this type of music. However, the new songs are really good and I love the fact that they are based around interviews with local people (Devon and Cornwall) giving them authenticity and meaning.

I've been really pleased with this recording and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More encouraging work from Seth Lakeman, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
Seth Lakeman is one of a generation of young musicians, including his own brothers, who have shown an encouraging ability to build on traditions in English music and create a sound and a style which, if they might have seemed strange and alien to the collectors of folk music of a century ago, demonstrate the continuing strength and persistence of the music of our forebears. There is nothing really innovative in this new recording that will seem unfamiliar to those of us who know his earlier work, but he maintains his high standard with interesting and clever arrangements of attractive songs, using excellent musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good we booked ticket to the tour, 23 Mar 2014
By 
JA Hopkins "Pony mad mother" (Suffolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
After being slightly disappointed with his last album 'Tales from the Barrel House' This for me is Seth at his best again. If you are a fan of the up beat ballads like 'Cherry Red' or the more haunting melodies, this album has both. As always high quality lyrics and outstanding musicianship are a given. After hearing it for the first time I booked tickets to see him in Northampton via the ticket master website (Fifth row!) Even my 17 year old daughter is coming- what more can I say...fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful - back to proper Seth!, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Tom Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
This is an incredible album which goes back to the 'real Seth'... He's dabbled with more commercial records in the last few years, but with Tales From The Barrel House and this new album Word of Mouth we see a return to what Seth has always been about: telling real stories in an earthy, real way. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Seth album!, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
I think this is one of those albums that a musician would like to do but chooses to wait until they are an established artist. Slightly different to his more 'fiddle and trad' albums; slightly more complex , if that is the right word, however my toddler has given it the jigging up and down thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent album, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Mogo (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
As you'd expect from Seth, another very classy album indeed. Many good songs and a couple of excellent. If you have never listened then starting here is as good a place as any. Very classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A corker of an album, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Word Of Mouth (Audio CD)
Seth has done it again! I originally heard his stuff from the Freedom Fields and Poor Man's Heaven albums, which were also fantastic, thus leading me to purchase his newest work. It's no wonder this album has won awards in the Folk category. It's full of high energy blazing fiddles, well structured musicianship and vocals, All in all a well produced album which is full of happy and sad songs alike. A real hair-raiser and spine-tingler.

If you're into your folk music, It certainly won't disappoint. The delivery was quick and efficient from Amazon and so far I've had no problems with the quality of the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Word Of Mouth
Word Of Mouth by Seth Lakeman (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews