Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book!
This is a great book to add to any knitters collection!! If you're new to lace knitting this is a great place to start. There is a good variety of patterns to choose from, the instructions are charted and written out clearly and each design is beautifully photographed. If you're an experienced knitter with a huge stash of sock yarns you wouldn't be dissapointed in the...
Published 16 months ago by Perthshire Girl

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
The book is well presented: using easily obtainable and colourful sock wool produces very effective shawls, and if, like me, you have large quantities of stashed or leftover yarn, the designs will spark ideas for some very colourful shawls. The lace is exceptionally well photographed, and several of the patterns are new and very interesting.

But - and it's a...
Published 10 months ago by MTD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book!, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book to add to any knitters collection!! If you're new to lace knitting this is a great place to start. There is a good variety of patterns to choose from, the instructions are charted and written out clearly and each design is beautifully photographed. If you're an experienced knitter with a huge stash of sock yarns you wouldn't be dissapointed in the choice of patterns, there's not a bad one in this book! Really pleased I bought it and looking forward to starting a shawl, just can't decide which one to do first! Love the little addition to each pattern telling you how to make it bigger if you want. I cannot fault this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is well presented: using easily obtainable and colourful sock wool produces very effective shawls, and if, like me, you have large quantities of stashed or leftover yarn, the designs will spark ideas for some very colourful shawls. The lace is exceptionally well photographed, and several of the patterns are new and very interesting.

But - and it's a big but - some of the instructions are a disaster. They begin well (the illustrations of a tab start are the best I've come across) but the chart for the shawl I'm making is so unnecessarily complicated and unbalanced that I've had to rewrite it completely. This is a double-triangle shawl - after the first two pattern repeats you would expect to be able to work without reference to the chart, wouldn't you? Not on your life - because the beginnings and ends of each row in each triangle aren't symmetrical, you'd have to consult the chart for every knit row throughout the whole shawl, and woe betide you if you forgot which row you were on.

Once I'd written my own version, it works perfectly; I'm using three separate balls of muti-coloured sock wool, keeping to the same basic palette of red/pink/cream with sparks of contrast; shading from deep at the beginning to pale at the edge and blending in two-row "stripes" as one ball ends and the next begins. It's looking quite promising. (Later addition to review: the "sunset" shawl was a great success, and I liked the stitch pattern so much that I'm on the third variation, adding deeply pointed borders, which make a satisfactory, and easy to block, hem.)

To be fair, I wouldn't have started this shawl without the book, and it has so many good things in it that I'm glad I bought it and it's worth the money. If you're an experienced knitter with a good grasp of how lace patterns work, you might well enjoy this book, but if you're fairly new to the craft give it a miss for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knitted shawls, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose 5 stars as it is well written and good patterns and pictures .IT is a pattern book where one wants to start at the beginning and knit each one. I would recommend it to anyone who likes making shawls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Book, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love most of the patterns in this book so its good value. There are notes in the patterns for scaling up the size of the shawl if you wish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best shawl book ever, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this one blind. But what a result. everypage a different shawl and clear instructions. There's not one pattern that I do not like. Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Patterns, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't made anything yet, as I have other projects to finish first, but I can't wait to get started, although choosing which one to start with is going to be difficult because there are so many lovely patterns to choose from. Great buy, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lacy and colourful, 23 Jun 2014
By 
The major quibble I have with this book is that the "skeins" of yarn quoted/recommended have a lot more length than the average ball of sock yarn ,so you really must check yardage before you buy .But, since you probably do that anyway ( sure you do!)that isn't really a problem.
The designs are varied, pretty and tempting .The cover design is one of the few in a solid colour (but then, the title tells you what to expect!) and I think it is a pity that there weren't illustrations of the other shawls in solid colours : I think that sometimes the patterns would show to greater advantage in self-colours.
The patterns take you from lace-edged shawls to all-over patterned shawls,from triangular ones to those knitted sideways .There's one that looks like a small cape , and one that looks like a sideways knitted scarf.
I think this is a book I will use often , and I think I will use it for unusual gifts for favoured people , as well as for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sock-yarn shawls, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really great book
Handy to carry around to knitting club
I give this 5 stars because of the projects and illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shawls galore, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sock-Yarn Shawls: 15 Lacy Knitted Shawl Patterns (Kindle Edition)
Lots of lovely shawls with both written instructions and charts. It's really helpful for both to be included, especially if you are used to charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Print too small to read, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sock-Yarn Shawls: 15 Lacy Knitted Shawl Patterns (Kindle Edition)
This book does not translate into KIndle format as the graphs which illustrate the lace pattern are too small to read. Even with a magnifying glass it is not clear enough. It is therefore a waste of time and money to order this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews