Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn by doing
This is totally different from other programming books. Firstly you're not introduced to terms, instead you're drilled in "how to code". So if you're scared of coding - this is an amazingly fast way to learn.

If you use Windows, you'll be made to code in notepad++ and the windows powershell terminal.
It forces you to code by hand - and to run the program...
Published 5 months ago by Yay!!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for starters, but I have a couple of gripes
I'll break up the majority of this review into a pros and cons list. I'm about halfway through the book now and these are my impressions so far. I do have some coding experience in another language, so bear that in mind.

PROS

- Easy to follow exercises followed by study drills and common questions to help you understand it
- Study drills at the...
Published 1 day ago by Lord Karnage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn by doing, 16 May 2014
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is totally different from other programming books. Firstly you're not introduced to terms, instead you're drilled in "how to code". So if you're scared of coding - this is an amazingly fast way to learn.

If you use Windows, you'll be made to code in notepad++ and the windows powershell terminal.
It forces you to code by hand - and to run the program from the terminal.

Exercise 3 introduces numbers and maths. The trick to understanding the code here is to know BODMAS - the order of precedence. Python does Brackets first, Orders next, Division third, Multiply fourth, then Add and Subtract. This is stuff you learnt at school.. but he makes you revisit it and puzzle it out all over again.

The book is like an army drill sergeant... which is a great way to learn. No waffle allowed, by order of the boss.
The exercises are clear, precise and a dramatic improvement on other coding books, which are a bit of a nightmare to be honest.

I'll be buying more books from Zed, it's rare to find an author that can teach coding with ease. You'll achieve coding with this book, even if you've failed several times before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book for starters, but I have a couple of gripes, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll break up the majority of this review into a pros and cons list. I'm about halfway through the book now and these are my impressions so far. I do have some coding experience in another language, so bear that in mind.

PROS

- Easy to follow exercises followed by study drills and common questions to help you understand it
- Study drills at the end of the exercises make you think and apply what you just learnt
- Key points about coding are mentioned and talked about, ie format
- The pace is slow enough not to leave readers new to coding confused
- Nice appendix featuring a crash-course in command line
- Comes with a DVD full of video tutorials
- Competent index

CONS

- For me it feels like the author is talking to you like you're an idiot, treats you like you have no idea what you're doing (maybe that's just me?)
- I dislike how the author introduces commands in earlier exercises and doesn't explain them. The author then tells you to do your own research or that it'll be explained later in the book
- Common questions and explanations at the end of exercises generally have the same questions and usually weak answers
- Tells the reader to avoid Python 3/IDLE like the plague and doesn't explain why. It's a very consistent theme throughout the book
- The pace of the book can be too slow for some people with a background in computing or anyone with previous knowledge of another computer language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am half way through this book and so far so good. I previously completed 2 internet courses, but the stuff didn't really stick. This time around I am getting there (touch wood).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its brilliant., 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very approachable, if not a touch patronising in places. I think if you ignore that and consider its intended audience, its brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is okay for a beginner; however I ..., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. J. Zhou "Gash" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is okay for a beginner; however I could not stand the tone and arrogance of the author, who does he think he is?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with some good exercises. The best way to learn., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Python the Hard Way: A Very Simple Introduction to the Terrifyingly Beautiful World of Computers and Code (3rd Edition) (Zed Shaw's Hard Way Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great book with some good exercises. The best way to learn I think.
This is more a book for the beginners wanting to learn Python.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for learning, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Python the Hard Way: A Very Simple Introduction to the Terrifyingly Beautiful World of Computers and Code (3rd Edition) (Zed Shaw's Hard Way Series) (Kindle Edition)
If you are thinking of learning python, then this book it ideal. As the title says, it teaches you the best way, by actually typing code in, You feel a sense of achievement each time you finish each section. I am currently half way through, and already I feel if I have learned some much already.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Claims to be for beginners but its really not friendly, 31 May 2014
It's OK but for beginners it's off putting. I did coding years ago, just coming back to it and tried to give this a go, but it's just put me off. As people have said, things aren't explained well and you're just advised to look them up on the Internet. Really? So what's the point of the book then, I might as well just look everything else up and avoid the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful book for the beginner, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very easy to get going with this book. It's written in a very accessible manner and teaches you the fundamentals of not only Python but programming in general. This is for absolute beginners though, as the slightly more experienced coders will find themselves skipping certain sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 May 2014
This review is from: Learn Python the Hard Way: A Very Simple Introduction to the Terrifyingly Beautiful World of Computers and Code (3rd Edition) (Zed Shaw's Hard Way Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book is really good and worth getting. The chapters are well paced where you can do one a day ( or rather my 11 year old son did). About half way through he suddenly he throws open ended projects and says to take a week doing it. This almost put the brakes on his progress and he would have completely stopped had I not been mentoring him. What I am trying to say is that some of the later projects could be more defined so that the target audience knows when they are finished or how much they have to do.

I would also say that some of the lists he says to memorise by rote are better off being understood. Eg. bolean expressions: ( true and true = true, true and false = false....)

There is method to his teaching madness in most places (such as asking you to build a program and then explains what it does afterwards)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews