Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Aleph
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2013
Aleph features less of the "bangin'" Front 242-indebted E.B.M. that was showcased on Gesaffelstein's sequence of excellent pre-L.P. singles, but that's to be expected... an album constructed entirely of austere Blitzkrieg synths, disembodied dominitrix vocals, & pounding anodic rhythms would be very one dimensional, I think?

Instead, it's a very dark, VERY French collection of eerie crepuscular electronica that bears comparison with the lurid 4am drift studies of Bo'Tox & Discodeine - but don't panic, there several ferociously hammering techno cuts too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
This one's hard to describe - when I feel that way about an album I know I'm probably going to like it for a long time. Things sound out of place at time's here because it's influences cover about three decades of 'tech' music: the best sounds of Nitzer/Front 242, the darkest Plaid (listen to Dead Sea), bleepish LFO circa 'Frequencies' up to and including the darkest/dirtiest/thug thumpin' sounds of hip hop without all the (w)rappings (Hellifornia) - amazing/some of the house vocals seem out of place and odd but I think that's why they're there.

I've been listening to older cheap Belgian techno cd's lately and can't help but wish they had the recording technology we have now - the recording and sound here is incredible - for those who truly appreciate the sound of electronics.

It's a dark and heavy trip at times and you have to be in the right mood for it - but there's something to be said for music that confounds you.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
What a great album from start to finish! If you like Daft Punk, Chemical Brothers etc, you need to buy this!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
Gesaffelstein is my favourite new producers in years!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This is like art Electronic \ Techno that is much deeper than average dance floor stuff.
I love all the tracks and it became one of my favorite CDs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Banger of a record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Dark and noisy electro-house. However unlike his singles released on Turbo label which had a sexy techno groove and sounded like dancefloor remixes of Depeche Mode circa 1988, this recent effort is more like the worst excesses of the electo-house scene of 10 years ago. Plodding tempos, dull rythms, and excessive use of atonal squeaks and squelch to create a wall of sound that is more like a 4x4 Brostep (Dubstep's uglier, noisier cousin) than techno.
A more commercial effort perhaps, and less dancefloor orientated (perhaps to be expected in a album), and most likely influenced by his work with Kanye West. A few tracks bring it down, (such as the title track) and hark back to earlier material but none of the tracks seem quite as sophicated as Mr Levy thinks he is...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
meh, besides a couple tracks, this just sounds like the same song on repeat... boring, wouldn't recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I've heard mike levy ,real name, for a while now. Great tracks. Brilliant minimal euro techno
Like to see him DJ in UK more.
Good follow up from his iTunes catalogue
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.19
£0.99
£4.95
£2.19

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)