Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The King of R&B
Whatever people say about his character and personal life, the man is a musical genius. No other artist is capable of such range of music - sometime for the whole family, and on this occasion wholly explicit, Throughout it all is his exceptional voice, which soars in each track on the exceptional Black Panties.
Published 1 month ago by TJPGrey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black skidmarks?
As stated in a previous review, R.Kelly really should tread carefully when walking down the p*ssy, hoes, bitches route if the alleged past accusations are taken into account
Despite his last two albums being incredibly fine romantic pieces of soul; Robert still feels the need to hang on to some kind of 'gangsta' reference which really is a well trodden, tired...
Published 5 months ago by Archie Grimwald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black skidmarks?, 23 Feb 2014
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
As stated in a previous review, R.Kelly really should tread carefully when walking down the p*ssy, hoes, bitches route if the alleged past accusations are taken into account
Despite his last two albums being incredibly fine romantic pieces of soul; Robert still feels the need to hang on to some kind of 'gangsta' reference which really is a well trodden, tired formulae in 2013. Gone are the great vocals and traditional romantic melodies and we have a return to excessive profanities and a sexist agenda which is quite frankly embarrassing. All this is served up in a formulaic produced voice distorted package which is quite frankly well short of Mr.Kelly at his soulful best.
The melodies on offer here are generally fairly pleasing for most of the album but the lyrics really do make for slightly uncomfortable listening with a special mention for 'Marry the P*ssy' which is worthy of some kind of cringeworthy award.'You Deserve Better' sounds a bit contrived for someone with Mr. Kelly's track record and one can't help thinking if this track is a bit of self-reflection on Robert's part.
'All The way' is the ray of sunshine in a field of mediocrity with a guest appearance by K.Rowland. 'Crazy Sex' really does emphasise my point; do we don't really need music to spell out a porn style impression of what sex should be like especially to impressionable young teenage fans?
The next track mentions R. kelly thanking God for saving his voice via surgery.When he says 'Shu Up' I suggest that he is referring to himself ! R.Kelly has made some great music in his career but this piece of self indulgent, glossy packaged, modern R n B is sadly at times quite really hard to swallow as a piece of serious music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different, 23 Dec 2013
By 
sheila webb (feltham, middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Not like R. Kellys soulful music of the past. I would not buy this album, bring back the love songs and i'd definatley buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened ?, 20 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Wow I think it's fair to say r.kelly has truly lost it after hearing this its crazy to think its the same artist that brought us 12 play R and tp-2.com the only song that's worth listening to is genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a Fly Album, 21 Mar 2014
Robert Kelly has run out of steam and in order to keep up with the market he has resolved to HARD LABOUR OF EXPLICIT lyrics. For a song writer, producer and arranger of music it seems his creative power in Lyric terms lacks poetic of residence! RK has been seen as the King of R&B. He has written for Trinitee 5 7 - God's grace, Samuel Jackson movie - Bad man, Love shoulda brought you home movie - homie lover friend, Batman movie, Gotham City, Muhammad Ali movie - The world's greatest, Michael Jackson - You are not alone, Thin line between love and hate - Let me be your freak tonite etc which are great tracks.
His best album is TP2.com and You saved me. Great tracks includes, You remind me of something, religious love, I decided, sweet tooth, I believe I can fly, you saved me, the storm is over, ignition etc.
This album Black panties with ladies like human duvet covering RK suggests the tailor could not deliver the cloths before the foto shoot. I would expect RKelly to deliver music which shows integrity with the exposure he has had over the years. The instruments in this album sounds very commercial and lacks depth. I believe I can fly, this is not a fly album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I think we've seen the last of the best of Kelz, for the past 3 albums I have been waiting to get back what he was releasing with classic tracks such as When a womans fed up, turn back the hands of time, step in the name of love and many many more. Unfortunately this album lacks any originality and I would only suggest buying it if you are a fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King of R&B, 16 Jun 2014
Whatever people say about his character and personal life, the man is a musical genius. No other artist is capable of such range of music - sometime for the whole family, and on this occasion wholly explicit, Throughout it all is his exceptional voice, which soars in each track on the exceptional Black Panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
I couldn't wait to purchase this album and I'm so glad I did,love this album. would highly recommend it. some really good songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On Point, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
Great comeback album. R.Kelly and featured guests brings back old school memories... Definitely an album for a special night in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In with the times BUT..., 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Panties (Deluxe Version) (Audio CD)
This album is cool for the current climate of R&B and R. Kelly always has the ability to make his music current.

The thing for me is that this man is a superb songwriter and has made some legendary lyrical & meaningful songs, with a huge catalog of hit.

This overall package fell short of what I expect from an R. Kelly album. He has got way to much experience in the game to fall so short and make music that does not fit him at this stage of his career.

The sexual nature is fine but its the beats and delivery of R. Kelly that was disappointing.
Some club banger's and great songs like Genius & All The Way (feat. Kelly Rowland)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 8 Jan 2014
Absolutely great Album. One I'll be playing for years to come. If your a real r Kelly fan you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Panties (Deluxe Version)
Black Panties (Deluxe Version) by R. Kelly (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews