Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album slayer have done., 19 Mar 2002
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
Metal kings Slayer display their musical abilities on this album rather than just their agressive power.This is not to say that the album is not about thrash because it just just exudes thrash metal magic.Probably the most impressive part of the album is the way that Slayer merge dual lead guitars (unique in a band to my knowledge.The drumming is outstanding and this is coming from a bass player who has minimal skill with regard to drums.It sounds like the drummer might take off if he moved his arms any faster.This speed is matched by the other band members but dont think that they are not in control.Beneath the exterior are four very talented musicians who are incredibly skilled with their instruments.The songs themselves are best listened to end to end.Whereas many bands successfully produce a collection of songs on an album, slayer produce a whole album with pauses between the songs.There have been times i've listened to this and had to check whether i was on the next song or the first was still carrying on after a pause.Highlights for me are Blood Red,Expendable youth,Skeletons of society and the title track.The highlight from the guitar side is Blood red in which Hanneman and King bounce solos back and forth between each other until they play a total of six.The whole album though is fantastic and well worth getting.
To any hardcore fans i may have offended by stating this as the best of slayer i apologise.I have yet to get Reign in blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What? No other reviews?, 15 July 2007
By 
The Conman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
Well, I guess I'll have to be the first to review this superb album. If you're reading this, you probably know already that Slayer were one of the pioneering thrash/speed metal bands in the 80's, whose 1986 album Reign in Blood is often seen as one of the best and most influential metal recordings of all time. That album was known for its extreme speed and utter relentlessness. However, for their 1988 follow-up, South of Heaven, Slayer slowed things down a little and put in a bit more melody. This album was met with mixed opinions from fans of their earlier albums, as some were put off by the new slower tempos. However, Seasons in the Abyss was released in 1990 and was well recieved by fans. It basically fuses together the two previous albums as the mid-tempo grooves of the previous album are mixed with bursts of furious speed. This gives the album more variety than previous works and gives the album a great roller-coaster feel as there are very fast songs such as War ensemble, Hallowed Point and Born of Fire and slower, more melodic (but still heavy!) ones including Expendable Youth, Dead Skin Mask and the tite track. Many songs also contain awesome tempo changes in true slayer style. Every song on the album is great in its own way and the true aggression of Slayer is still here.
One thing that marks it out from earlier Slayer releases is the incresed melody of the solos. Instead of playing fast and frantically to create horrific-sounding solos, the lead breaks are more melodic and focused. Apparently, Kerry king took guitar lessons before the release of the album. It shows, as his excellent leads give new life to the songs. The Hanneman - king guitar tag team is more effective than ever here. Not to mention drummer Dave Lombardo, whose drumming here is just incredible.
Also worth mentioning is the lyrics. Instead of focusing on hell or gruesome death, the band focuses on real life issues such as war, corrupt governments, gangs and the apocalypse. This helps make Seasons Slayer's most mature album to date. That's about it really. It may not be as mercilless and downright scary as Reign in Blood, but it has more variation, melody and maturity whilst still sounding brutal. As for the absence of other reviews, that just shows how poor much of Britain's taste in music is. Stop listening to hip-hop, dance music and other garbage like that, and listen to some proper music!! Bye bye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Of The Great Classic Slayer Albums, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
Seasons In The Abyss is among my top Slayer records, and indeed my top metal records, as for me its just everything good about Slayer. We get the speed and aggression from Reign and we get the melody and slow heavy crunch from South. Great riffs, superlative drumming, brilliant songs and sick lyrics. We even get Slayer go pop with the title track, which some diehards loathed, but is still a cracking live song today!!

The album opener War Ensemble is as ferocious an opening song as you could possibly wish for and one of the best songs Slayer have ever done. Dead Skin Mask was a song I played over and over and over and the creepy riff just never gets old. Blood Red just makes me think of seeing them live years ago and feeling Lombardos drums thundering in my chest. Unbeatable. I could go on but more eloquant than me have already posted great reviews. Suffice to say this is Slayer still on top of the game. Grunge was about to break and then Nu Metal would really destroy my love of heavy music (and just try to mess everything up in general) and it would be another 20 years before I bought a Slayer album worth having. (Decade of Aggression aside)

A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
5/5 - Hits the ground running and doesn't let up, every track outstanding, every track with a character of its own. Whilst remaining sufficently pounding this album somehow still manages to groove like hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars certainly maturing with each season!, 7 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
excellent is what i say.well being a slayer fan,i would say that!this is a very diverse album from the kings of heavy metal.diverse as in the songs,the speed shown in tracks such as 'war ensemble' the superb opener and the much slower 'expendable youth'.that is what makes this album an audible treat to listen to.it doesnt lack the 'killer' that is the trademark of a slayer opus and therefore it never fails.
a brilliant album from a brilliant band(did i mention they were brilliant)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've bought this CD three times, 25 July 2009
By 
Iaam Violidis "YannisV" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
This is my personal favourite Slayer album. I have bought it three times as I have played this CD so many times that it has been wrecked (scratched) twice. I will soon be ordering for the fourth time!!!

'Seasons in the Abyss' is a very melodical yet thrashing CD.
Very cool songs as 'blood red', 'expendable youth' and 'skeletons of society' with very groovy parts. These songs are varied with very melodical and harmonical songs such as 'dead skin mask' and 'seasons in the abyss'. The latter I dare to call a fantastic thrash metal evergreen!

This album is definately the one to have!
Yet / Therefore I recommend the following purchasing strategy:
Start of by buying the more recent less attractive Slayer albums #'God hates us all', 'Undisputed attitude', 'Christ Illusion' et cetera# only then to buy -in following order- the albums 'Divine Intervention', 'South of Heaven', 'Reign in Blood' and -yes!- finally 'Seasons in the Abyss'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their second best album...Still classic!, 10 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
Despite what some people may say, this is not Slayer's best album, Reign in Blood is...But this is a damn fine thrash album and one of my favourate cds ever...It pretty much combines the pure speed and aggression of Reign In Blood with the heaviness, and eerie feel of South of Heaven to make a superb album...
As usual the duo of King and Hanneman are on top form, and Dave Lombardo's drumming gets ridiculous in its brilliance...Tom Arays vocals here range from pure angry shouting: "WWWAAAAAARRR" in War Ensemble, to a very catchy in the title track...
The standout tracks for me are War Ensemble, Expendable Youth and Dead Skin Mask, but you won't find any filler here anyway...
If you are a Slayer fan or just a thrash fan in general, buy this! Casual fans will find this easier to get into to as Reign In Blood or Hell Awaits too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still on top form, 11 Mar 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
Slayer's 5th album and, amazingly given the high quality of Reign in Blood and South of Haven, their third bona fide classic album in a row. As with South of Heaven this is a very varied collection of songs - opener War Ensemble is an obvious attempt to write a new Angel of Death, and while it cant quite match the intensity of that song it's still a fantastic piece of speed metal, with Born of Fire and album highlight Hallowed Point being another pair of blistering tracks that wouldn't sound out of place on Reign in Blood. At the other end of the speed scale we have the moody title track, with Dave Lombardo bowing out with some fantastic drum rolls, and the chilling ode to serial killer Ed Gein Dead Skin Mask, complete with a young victims voiceover. The remaining more mid-tempo tracks continue the high quality, with the split vocals of Tom Araya on Temptation and Kerry King supplying some rhythmic chugging with Skeletons of Society and Expendable Youth. With songwriting on a par with South of heaven, and an improved gritty production courtesy of Andy Wallace Seasons In the Abyss is yet another Slayer classic, and absolutely essential to anyone interested in thrash metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb display of music., 11 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
Thrash kings Slayer display their musical abilities on this album rather than purely their muscle. Not that it doesn't have its thrash elements (War Ensemble being one of my faves), it shows shows that beneath their morbid views of world, Slayers ranter Mr Araya can actually sing as well as demonstrated on the title track, Blood Red and my probably my favourite song on the album Dead Skin Mask. If you want to move up a notch in heaviness from the Metallicas, Megadeths and Anthraxes of this world, I'd start here with Seasons cos if you don't like this you'll despise such classics as Reign In Blood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLAYER, KINGS OF METAL, 1 Nov 2000
By 
J (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
SLAYER TRULY ARE THE GODS OF METAL, AND THIS ALBUM IS THE CREME DE LA CREME. SEASONS IN THE ABYSS IS A MUST FOR ANYONE THAT CALLS THEMSELVES A METALLER. IT CLOSELY PIPS REIGN IN BLOOD AND SOUTH OF HEAVEN TO THE POST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac47d510)

This product

Season In The Abyss [VINYL]
Season In The Abyss [VINYL] by Slayer (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews