Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT MORE THAN THE GUYS ON THE BEACH THAT HATE EVERYTHING
Ugly Kid Joe first burst on to the scene with their breakout hit "Everything About You" from their 1991 EP "As Ugly As They Wanna Be" a song which would launch the band in to the mainstream, the iconic video of the band playing on the beach would go on to get heavy rotation on MTV(when they actually played videos) even during the height of grunge it was guaranteed that...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by nin/ja77

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
Not a bad album, Plus the extra DVD makes up for the price. I did like there ealier stuff. But the DVD is worth a look.
Published 6 months ago by eddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOT MORE THAN THE GUYS ON THE BEACH THAT HATE EVERYTHING, 20 Jun 2012
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Ugly Kid Joe first burst on to the scene with their breakout hit "Everything About You" from their 1991 EP "As Ugly As They Wanna Be" a song which would launch the band in to the mainstream, the iconic video of the band playing on the beach would go on to get heavy rotation on MTV(when they actually played videos) even during the height of grunge it was guaranteed that video would only be a few videos away from its next airing, the resulting album "America's Least Wanted" continued the bands success and would feature another successful hit in the shape of a cover version of Harry Chapin's "Cats In The Cradle". The band would go on to release two further albums 1995's heavier sounding "Menace To Sobriety" which was followed a year later by 1996's "Motel California". However neither album could replicate their earlier success and the band would call a halt in 1997. The band quietly reformed in 2010 without much notice from the music press who once drooled over the band, now 2 years after reforming they are back on the road touring and have released a new EP "Stairway To Hell"

Thankfully it's the 1997 line up that has reformed as it includes drummer Shannon Larkin who joined the band in 1994 and was in part responsible for their heavier sound on the later albums. The album continues the bands heavier trend as it opens with the first single from the album "Devil's Paradise" which has frontman Whitfield Crane delivering a sinister sounding vocal over heavy sounding guitars, the song might be heavy but it does have a nice funk edge to it as well. On the Track "I'm Alright" Crane summons his inner Bon Scott towards the middle of the song as the band deliver an AC/DC-esque breakdown, it shows that Crane has always had an underappreciated vocal delivery.

Possibly the highlight of the album is the track "No One Survives" which starts out slow and quiet before a full on rock assault begins, the song strikes a perfect balance between quiet and loud. "Love Ain't True" which features Fishbone vocalist Angelo Moore as well as Dirty Walt who provide to give the song a real funk sound. The final track on the EP is "Another Beer" which is almost a throwback to "Busy Bee"(from "America's Least Wanted") but with a country feel to it.

So while Ugly Kid Joe might never reach the heights of their earlier success it's great to have them back as they were always refreshingly a band who never took themselves too serious whilst at the same time proving that they're a lot more that than "the guys on the beach that hate everything".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UKJ return after far too long away., 19 Jun 2012
Back in the day Ugly Kid Joe were my favourite band. I like many others discovered them through hearing "Everything about you" and discovered they had a lot more to offer. It always surprised me that Whit Crane never went on to great things, he's one of the greatest rock/metal vocalists I've heard. Sure there have been moments but nothing lasting or regular. So forward to 2012 and there is a reformed UKJ with a new EP and doing festivals, sadly I haven't been able to see them live but this EP...

Devils paradise is somewhat reminiscent of menace to sobriety with more Ozzy Osborne sounding vocals from Whit.
Where as devils paradise is like something from menace to sobriety, You make me sick would have been right at home on Americas least wanted. it sounds exactly like you'd expect from the band, both musically and lyrically.
No one survives and I'm alright are ugly kid joe through and through yet not so obviously reminiscent of what has gone before.
Love ain't true shows a different side to the band while staying true to their sound.
Another beer is one of their more acoustic songs like busy bee or cloudy skies.

It seems to me they want to stay true to the ugly kid joe sound, something I'm thankful for but very little of it seems truly fresh. On the technical side it's extremely polished, and while all the songs are good, maybe even very good but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Stairway to Hell (Audio CD)
Just Brilliant - Weakest Song: Love aint true. Strongest Song: Any of the others.

BUY IT. Ugly Kid Joe are back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad album, Plus the extra DVD makes up for the price. I did like there ealier stuff. But the DVD is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome comeback! Open a beer!, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Exodus Prime! (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stairway to Hell (Audio CD)
That's right people, the original 90's chart bothering surf metal band are back!! Whether you're excited about that or not probably depends how you felt about these guys the first time round, 'cos unfortunately I doubt this release (mini-album) will win them any new fans.
First song 'Devil's Paradise' out DC's AC/DC, especially with the vocals which is a bit of a curveball. Great song, but the second track 'You Make Me Sick' wipes the floor with it, with an irresistible slowed down thrash metal chug, similar to Neighbor or So Damn Cool. Classic UKJ.
The impressive 'No one survives' which has a very interesting lyric and nicely building song structure follows, with my personal highlight 'I'm Alright' next up. This tune should've been track 1. It showcases what UKJ do best, by bringing insane catchiness but still rocking hard. Well worth cranking up.
Track 5, 'Love Ain't True' is fun, with some parping horns but let down slightly by some awful lyrics. The last of the new songs, the country flavoured 'Another Beer' is a great melancholic closer.
That's not all though, as they've tagged on 3 acoustic versions of their songs to the end of this mini-album. They're ok, and nice to have, but after hearing them once I doubt I'll return to them too often. Definite B-side fodder.
Overall this is a very solid release, and bodes well for the future. This is the soundtrack to a great beer fuelled BBQ. Definitely one of the better comebacks of recent years. Hopefully we'll get a full album soon. Welcome back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stairway to Hell (Audio CD)
Excellent cd, ugly kid joe on top form, welcome back, it is like they have never been away, RECOMMENDED CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Uglies are back, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stairway To Hell [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Amazing music energy continuing the party from where they stopped it.Do not read what the critics write because they said some years before that Motel California was bad and that the band didnt worth.If you love music and parties BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're back, 25 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Stairway to Hell (MP3 Download)
They came back with a bang with this album; I bought it when they first released it back in May 2012 so didn't get the extra acoustic versions (but having been lucky enough to see them perform the extra tracks live a couple of times I've not missed out).

If you don't buy anything else this year, add this to your collection. For us die hard UKJ and Whit fans this is a must for your collection; for those of you that are just embarking down the UKJ route you won't let yourself down or waste your money on this ep. It's got something for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stairway to Hell
Stairway to Hell by Ugly Kid Joe
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews