Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big step forward
Volbeat have exchanged their fast and furious Porsche 911 for a smoother but no less powerful Bentley Continental on this album, producing to my ears at least their most melodic, diverse album yet. Singer Michael Poulsen is in fine voice and there are enough riffs in here to satisfy anyone who likes their guitars turned up to 11. From the acoustic opener to the Sabbath...
Published 17 months ago by Big Jim

versus
1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rockstar
The start of this album I found funny. So yeah , you can pluck strings. Get on with it. They did and it very nearly made it out the car window. Mix a bit of Green day meets metalica meets shania twain ( track 11) with the singer sounding like Mid ure . Like the sound of that ? Buy it !!!!
Published 12 months ago by D. Lang


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!!!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good mix of rock & metal sounds - Can't believe I only heard of Volbeat 4 weeks ago!! Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Album!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I heard the single on Planet Rock. Just a cracking album! One of the best that I have bought recently. Go on, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volbeat, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the album after hearing Lola Montez on Planet Rock - where rock lives. Glad I did, coz it's great =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outlaw Gentlemen And Shady Ladies, 22 Aug 2013
By 
J. R. Wilde "eclecticJez" (Herfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If listening to the (DAB) radio is to be believed, VolBeat came into existence with the track "Lola Montez" - albeit one of the catchiest tracks I've heard for many a year - but after listening to this album a few times, you'll come to appreciate that almost the entire album is full of gems (several just as pleasingly memorable). You'll also come to realise that there's no "selling out" (I really hate the term, even if I understand the sentiment - all bands want and, to a vary large extent, need to be successful to survive, even Hawkwind needed to make a living!), as the lyrics are still tight, the band tighter still and the music raunchy. This album may signify a level of maturity for VolBeat whereby they aren't worried about producing metal that appeals to more than just metal fans - I sincerely hope so as this is a Band and album of quality that deserves a wider exposure and audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great variety!, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After hearing Lola Montez on Planet Rock I bought the album, hadn't been aware of Volbeat before this, think it's a great album with some classics - My Body and Doc Holliday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A work mate told me about this band, it is excellent stuff, I will definitely get more of the albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent cd, 5 Aug 2013
this band is awsom after hearing lola montez i bought this cd and now got tickets to see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant live act I was converted at Download and cam home and immediately bought their albums. Particularly like Cape of our Hero, Lola Montez, Sinner is You and Lonesome rider
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 25 July 2013
By 
Vixx H "vixx811" (Cannock, Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BRILLIANT - I love this CD, obviously Lola Montez is the number 1 track, really rockin, but make sure you give all the other tracks a good listen. This album is the story of various characters in a Western town, so have a good look at the song words. This is an amazing album and I shall be buying more Volbeat music. You should have seen the looks I got as I drove along playing this CD in my MX5 ( with the top down).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album. Influences of Metallica are evident on this spaghetti-western themed album. But listen a few times, and a number of influences are evident. I only found out about them following Download. This album should be a watershed for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies
Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies by Volbeat (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews