Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent value collection of late 70's/early 80's dance music for less than £5!
Unlike many 12" compilations, this one actually contains the full-length original versions of most of the tracks, bar the edited Whistle Bump and Wear It Out. There are no shoddy remixes, re-recordings or live versions on here. What you get are some real rarities, e.g. the 12" versions of Working My Way Back To You and Is It Love You're After, to name just a couple. A...
Published 14 months ago by Customer Feedback

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The CD played well considering it is music from over ...
The CD played well considering it is music from over 30 years ago !!
Published 10 days ago by KEVIN HENRY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Collection., 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
I only have one beef with this compilation and that is the lack of information about the tracks. Virtually every track has alongside the title 12"/LP version. So which is it? I'd like to know and I'm sure others would too. Having said that there is not a duff track here and thee are a few that you won't find on other compilations. As well as being great for those of us who lived through the period this is a must have for any would be DJ. Sound quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
CD excellent and sounds great, very pleased with the CD. It is Various Artists at their best and very enjoyable. GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic, 6 Sep 2014
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
The bland title, very basic packaging, and the inclusion of an inferior re-recording of George McCrae's classic 'Rock Your Baby', don't suggest that a great deal of thought or care has gone into this collection of extended 12" versions of disco, from the 1970s and early 1980s. Yet, by drawing heavily upon Warner Music Group's vast back catalogue of material in this often dismissed genre, Rhino have actually managed to compile a strong, and eclectic, 3 CD boxset that belies its budget-price. With a track-listing of over 30 songs, The Collection balances cult club favourites that will have aficionados salivating like Pavlov's dogs, such as Mass Production's 'Welcome To Our World Of Merry Music' and Patrick Adams & Phreek's 'Weekend', with major crossover hits, like Sister Sledge's 'He's The Greatest Dancer' and The Trammps' 'Disco Inferno', which had normal folk believing they were Saturday Night Fever's Tony Manero when they stepped out on to the dancefloor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The burial of George McCrae, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
This not a bad compilation but I miss some liner notes. Rhino, as quality label, made a very big mistake with the track 'Rock your baby', the first track on CD2. This is definitely not the original version of George McCrae's million seller! What a pitty for the reputation of Rhino. Shame on you, compiler of this cd! Only for this reason il would like to have my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect 12'' disco compilation, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
I love disco music and allways liked collecting the 12'' vinyl.
Since my vinyl is no longer with me this album is perfect.A good selection of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
Fantastic 12inch grooves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what i expeted, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
its not all 12"versions as I have on vinyl but mostley lp versions not what I really wanted 12"versions to djs is longer versions of a lp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
excellent cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favourite music together in one collection, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
On disc two the tracks do not correspond to the track listing on the cover. they are jumbled up. All the music is there but not in the correct order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12" Disco - The Collection (Audio CD)
this collection of 12" disco tracks is ideal for all you disco fans who want their favourite tracks to last a bit longer its a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

12" Disco - The Collection
12" Disco - The Collection by Chic (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews