Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam studio albums
I had all the originals, but the remastered albums are incredibly high quality, great 180gramme vinyl! The extra stuff is great too!
Published 7 months ago by Rainey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music but crackly vinyl
Anyone looking at this probably knows what they're getting in terms of music - brilliant. However, my version can only be described as filthy. After removing a huge quantity of white dust (presumably a mixture of mould-release and paper from the sleeves) with a carbon record brush, the albums are still cracklier than my original 1970s Led Zep albums. In fact it's no...
Published 3 months ago by Mr G Muir


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam studio albums, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I had all the originals, but the remastered albums are incredibly high quality, great 180gramme vinyl! The extra stuff is great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money but attention to detail a bit iffy in places, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Having missed out on The Jam albums on vinyl when I was young enough to buy them the first time round, this is a great way to get all the records in a nice bundle. The packaging quality is fine with a sturdy box, decently produced book, and the records are pressed on decent weight vinyl - I haven't yet listened to all of them but so far so good. Some of the sleeves look scanned to me rather than properly reprinted from the original artwork, but that's not the end of the world. So far so good, but I wish record companies would do a little more to make everything perfect for vinyl hounds like me. We're not such bad guys, hearts of gold, smell a bit, wild staring eyes if we think something is wrong...when will mainstream labels start putting records in decent antistatic inners? They (EMI) did it for the Beatles Stereo box set, and also provided the 'authentic' paper sleeves too. This package has some plain paper sleeves and some printed lyric inners, which are appreciated, but it really wouldn't hurt to put an antistatic bag in there too. The package comes with a download ticket for the whole set, which is good value - seems almost all vinyl these days comes with such a ticket, but in this case the downloaded folders have absolutely no metadata other than song names. So when they are imported into iTunes the album, band name and track numbers are all missing - took me ages to manually edit it all. Also some song names had incorrect spellings. Of course none of the above takes away from the music and this package is a great way to get most of the Jam's output in one hit. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Chris (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Top quality stuff. I got this for my birthday and it's brilliant. I bought all the originals when they were released in the late 70's and early 80's and played them all to death, although they still sit proudly if not a bit dog eared on the shelf, they don't sound too good these days. This new set is a superb replacement, the sound quality is great, better than the remastered cd's in my opinion. The sleeves, inners and labels are true(ish) to the originals and of top quality as is the book and box. The two "extas special" vinyls are great as they have all the singles and b sides.
If you're a sad old 50 something Jam fan like me - you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music but crackly vinyl, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Anyone looking at this probably knows what they're getting in terms of music - brilliant. However, my version can only be described as filthy. After removing a huge quantity of white dust (presumably a mixture of mould-release and paper from the sleeves) with a carbon record brush, the albums are still cracklier than my original 1970s Led Zep albums. In fact it's no exaggeration to say that most 1.99 charity shop albums click less than these. Bit of a shame really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented box set, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The music of this speaks for itself & if you've got this far you're probably well aware of the quality on offer. All the original albums faithfully replicated plus two discs of b sides. My only gripe is that these are in a Matt finish whereas the originals were in a plasticised sheen finish but that's a minor issue. Buy it - play it, look at it, hold it, whatever you choose but an essential buy nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set but ....., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Studio Recordings [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The box set and the items inside lokks very well but the book will could loks better. This is very small , few pages..... The vinyls are very good , but I think the quality could be better..maybe next time. Paul Weller Box Set vinyls ....in the future ?? It's will be great !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Studio Recordings [VINYL]
The Studio Recordings [VINYL] by The Jam (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews