Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need to watch the first to understand the second
I loved the first one, so had high expectations for the sequel, and I wasn't disappointed. Without giving anything away, a lot of twists in the first are answered in the second. Would recommend to movie buffs who like a clever scare, rather than ghost jumps out the closet type.
Published 6 months ago by Hannah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get your hopes up for this disappointing sequel.
Well this was a huge let-down. What on earth happened? Where did all the scary demons and shocks go? What about the red-faced monster? Yes, Insidious part 1 ripped off a lot of well-known films such as Poltergeist but at least it did it with a solid script and some pacey storytelling that kept me gripped and had genuinely scary monsters and a tense atmosphere...
Published 1 month ago by O. Southwood


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need to watch the first to understand the second, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first one, so had high expectations for the sequel, and I wasn't disappointed. Without giving anything away, a lot of twists in the first are answered in the second. Would recommend to movie buffs who like a clever scare, rather than ghost jumps out the closet type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get your hopes up for this disappointing sequel., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious Chapter 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Well this was a huge let-down. What on earth happened? Where did all the scary demons and shocks go? What about the red-faced monster? Yes, Insidious part 1 ripped off a lot of well-known films such as Poltergeist but at least it did it with a solid script and some pacey storytelling that kept me gripped and had genuinely scary monsters and a tense atmosphere throughout.

This second part continues to harvest its material from Poltergeist (even has an appearance from a spooky television!) but also thieves shamelessly from sources as diverse as Ghostbusters (geeks catching ghosts), The Shining (crazed man attacks family), Back To The Future (yep, time travel), Amytyville Horror (possessed good guy goes bad) and Blair Witch (yes, there are tedious 'found footage' style scenes in here).

James Wan this time has dispersed of the varied and scary demons of part 1 and opted instead for lame, pathetically non-scary ghosts, in particular the 'bride' ghost from part 1 - for whom a lame backstory has been retro-fitted needlessly.

I would say the dreadful "retro-fitting" is one of the main problems with Insiduous Chapter 2. It felt like an explanatory guide at times rather than a thriller, and the result is a mess of a tale that has all of its tension sucked out of it.

The red-faced demon of part 1 was awesome and made the whole film work. Without him/it, this is just a by-the-numbers ghost story with no real scares or punches.

It also felt very "sequel-ish" by which I mean it feels like an add-on with reduced budget and exhausted ideas thrown up on screen for the sake of extending the story.

Insidious seems to be sliding into the trap that the SAW series did, which is to gradually weaken the story by retro-fitting sub plots and characters around the events we've already seen. Trying to be clever by showing us previous events from a different perspective? Not clever, just dull.

The problems are: (1) No more red faced demon, (2) So many re-used cliches from other films, (3) Simply not scary, (4) Too much retro-fitting that feels forced and awkward.

The acting is fine but the storyline was terrible and boring. Oh, and the ending was downright annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Answers questions from Insidious 1..., 21 Feb 2014
By 
P. F. Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In terms of a sequel, Insidious 2 works quite well, expanding on the original story and thus answering a few points from the first movie. The cast is mainly retained which obviously helps continuity, also the director, James Wan. Some will say that the film is somewhat 'samey', but I guess that is the whole point of a sequel as far as the studio's are concerned and if you enjoyed the first instalment you will probably like the second. A hint at the end suggests the story might continue but I think that might be one episode too far...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're inside-us !!!, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Insidious 2 (DVD)
Decent follow-on storyline that knits well with the original and offers some decent continuity... a few genuinely "gotcha" moments BUT like a lot of Sequels, isn't really quite as good.... quite simply, it's not as original as the original.
Not unexpectedly the Film ends with a twist... which is actually quite a neat touch... GASP, HORROR ??????!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Insidious 2....into the further...not so scary, but well written, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Insidious 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I must say to start with that I thought Insidious was a good horror, not great but it was well written and had a few heart racing moments. I would say this second chapter is a great little addition to the story, again it is very well written; tying in elements from the first and leaving it open for a third chapter. If you loved the first film as in was crazy about it then you may be disappointed slightly by the lack of scared in the follow up but if like me you enjoyed the first film but wasn't in love with it then I think you will appreciate the continuing story arc and respect the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable follow up., 11 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
First thing to remember is you are comparing this film to horror / scary movies of the past decades. Insidious one and two are the best I have seen since the original poltergeist ( remember the moment when the hand came from the TV people ? ) yes yes these films steal the idea but what doesn't these days. The fact remains they are both well made , well acted and enjoyable to watch. No sex , not much swearing, and no slasher violence. Watch them both in the one night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never explain what must stay unexplained, 13 Sep 2014
By 
Elleppi (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious Chapter 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not as good as the first chapter. Let's say if: I don't like when you need a sequel to explain a horror movie. I think that all the mystery and disturbing clues and suggestions encountered along the first chapter lost their effect once they found an explanation in the second one. And I really can't stand when what need to stay unexplained, finally makes sense, especially when the explanation rooted in the past and kind of rationally understandable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth trying if you liked the first, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Sequels can often go bad and most if not all horror sequels do, with the exception of this one. I was a fan of the first film and had to give this a try. It was a wonderful surprise to find the same cast as the first in place and another solid story line. Ok try to poke holes in it all you like but it has a great enjoyment factor and plenty of scenes to make you jump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rare quality in horror, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Insidious 2 (Blu-ray)
Runs closely after the first left of, so if you have not watched the first it would be fun to watch them both back to back. Very similar to the first; good script, acting and direction. The film is scarey stuff but has occasional humour which is a nice touch to pull off. Good film, pays respectful homage to various classics most notably Psycho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If your a horror fan then you will enjoy this one, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If your a horror fan then you will enjoy this one. Not as scary as the first one but! Still a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insidious Chapter 2 [Blu-ray]
Insidious Chapter 2 [Blu-ray] by James Wan (Blu-ray - 2014)
6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews