Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
A fantastic follow up to the first movie, If you have seen the first film this picks up where the first one ends
Published 15 months ago by Linda Phillips

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious 2
This was frankly Awfull , go re-watch the excellent first movie , try watching the first insidious alone in the dark
or Sinister but give this one a wide berth ...
Published 9 months ago by Vash


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 9 April 2014
By 
Linda Phillips (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic follow up to the first movie, If you have seen the first film this picks up where the first one ends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great watch, 10 April 2014
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
really enjoyed this film. as a complete and utter horror fan this kept me gripped to the screen until it ended and unfortunatly there are not a lot of films that do that. a must for all horror lovers. 5 stars
angie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For good or ill more of the same from the first., 13 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Could be part two of the same movie, Well that's what it's supposed to be. Yes but all to often a sequel is just thrown together to exploit the success of the original and isn't as good because of it. This does actually feel like a continuation of the story line and maintains the same standard of production. It fills in some of the unanswered questions of the first and gives insight to the back stories. So if you enjoyed the first you'll enjoy this and by the same token if you didn't you won't or maybe no maybe, if you were a little undecided, watching both may give you a more fulfilling story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, 16 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike the first Insidious film which is actually not bad, this sequel is just dreadful in everyway! Was a complete let down, don't waste your money on this rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie starts as a prequel then as a continuation of Insidious. The acting is to be desired and the story bounces back and forth from insidious to what your watching now. There is a very clever seen towards the end but I found the flashbacks annoying. Chapter 2 is not frightening maybe one or two scenes that are jumpy, what is frightening is the predictability of the story which like the plot is slow. I did like the concept but as a whole I would not go out of my way to watch this again, I only hope chapter 3 will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
It's rare that a sequel surpasses the original but it definitely did in this case. I just can't wait for the third instalment now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Loved it brilliant film kept me interested all the way through scary as hell a must watch I would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable even for horror fans, 2 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best horror series I have seen in years.In an age when we all know to expect, the fake scare then the real scare, going outside in a white nightie might not be the best idea, especially if some git is playing scary music nearby and exploring a scary house, whilst forgetting to put a single light seems to be the norm for all protagonists.. This was a pleasant surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "oh that's why that happened", 13 April 2014
By 
Mr. C. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Insidious 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Are peoples expectations of what makes a film good and scary that low these days? Seems to be so,as so many rate this crap very highly!?! And just to insult and laugh at us even more as we line these so-called film-makers pockets, they blatantly feel the need to use a character to TELL us the connection of a plot thread, which i'm sure most people would've sussed anyway! Not clever, and definately NOT a good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get your hopes up for this disappointing sequel., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this was a huge let-down. What on earth happened? Where did all the scary demons and shocks go? What about the red-faced monster? Yes, Insidious part 1 ripped off a lot of well-known films such as Poltergeist but at least it did it with a solid script and some pacey storytelling that kept me gripped and had genuinely scary monsters and a tense atmosphere throughout.

This second part continues to harvest its material from Poltergeist (even has an appearance from a spooky television!) but also thieves shamelessly from sources as diverse as Ghostbusters (geeks catching ghosts), The Shining (crazed man attacks family), Back To The Future (yep, time travel), Amytyville Horror (possessed good guy goes bad) and Blair Witch (yes, there are tedious 'found footage' style scenes in here).

James Wan this time has dispersed of the varied and scary demons of part 1 and opted instead for lame, pathetically non-scary ghosts, in particular the 'bride' ghost from part 1 - for whom a lame backstory has been retro-fitted needlessly.

I would say the dreadful "retro-fitting" is one of the main problems with Insiduous Chapter 2. It felt like an explanatory guide at times rather than a thriller, and the result is a mess of a tale that has all of its tension sucked out of it.

The red-faced demon of part 1 was awesome and made the whole film work. Without him/it, this is just a by-the-numbers ghost story with no real scares or punches.

It also felt very "sequel-ish" by which I mean it feels like an add-on with reduced budget and exhausted ideas thrown up on screen for the sake of extending the story.

Insidious seems to be sliding into the trap that the SAW series did, which is to gradually weaken the story by retro-fitting sub plots and characters around the events we've already seen. Trying to be clever by showing us previous events from a different perspective? Not clever, just dull.

The problems are: (1) No more red faced demon, (2) So many re-used cliches from other films, (3) Simply not scary, (4) Too much retro-fitting that feels forced and awkward.

The acting is fine but the storyline was terrible and boring. Oh, and the ending was downright annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Insidious 2 [DVD]
Insidious 2 [DVD] by James Wan (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews