Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, weird, moving, beautiful, dark...
All these words and more can describe this album - if it can be described at all. Vangelis himself speaks of this as a "musical cityscape", much in the vein of his later "The City", but altogether a stranger album.
Eschewing traditional themes and, at times, even tonality itself, this modern-day Schoenberg-like journey takes you through different...
Published on 21 July 2001 by Callum MacAlister

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Diversion?
Beaubourg is a part of Paris where Vangelis used to live. It also contains the Pompidou Centre. According to Mark Griffin's biography of the composer, "Vangelis fell in love with the coloured tubes on the outside of the building and with the album invoked his personal view of the architecture."

It must be said that this is not an easy album to listen to: it is...
Published 20 months ago by Nicholas Casley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating, weird, moving, beautiful, dark..., 21 July 2001
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
All these words and more can describe this album - if it can be described at all. Vangelis himself speaks of this as a "musical cityscape", much in the vein of his later "The City", but altogether a stranger album.
Eschewing traditional themes and, at times, even tonality itself, this modern-day Schoenberg-like journey takes you through different areas of this imaginary city. Tying the disparate parts together is an underlying "almost-theme", which appears, fugue-like, through the piece, at times almost unrecognisable. Like seeing faces in a cloud, the ear of the listener provides the framework to see the theme when it appears.
Like a dream that often goes to places we don't want to see, this is a disturbing work, Yes, it is challenging and frustrating by turns, but I would disagree with the notion that this is one for completists only. If you are in the right mood, and wish your music to take you beyond the normal bounds of syth, I would recommend this.
But before embarking on your journey, be aware that it is going to be a strange one, and not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Diversion?, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
Beaubourg is a part of Paris where Vangelis used to live. It also contains the Pompidou Centre. According to Mark Griffin's biography of the composer, "Vangelis fell in love with the coloured tubes on the outside of the building and with the album invoked his personal view of the architecture."

It must be said that this is not an easy album to listen to: it is very avant garde and experimental. Vangelis said, "I wanted to do something really non-commercial." Like his later album `Invisible Connections', Vangelis here is exploring sound rather than presenting a structured vehicle with a recognisable beginning, middle, and end. Melodious, it is not; or rather, the melody comes in short bursts. (One cannot help but wonder if this album is a form of tribute to IRCAM, which is housed next to the Pompidou Centre.)

But just as a lover of Brahms might forego the music of Schoenberg, the listener to `Spiral' might want to leave `Beaubourg' alone. But if you are prepared to open your ears and listen to a great composer explore the sounds of capabilities of the electronic (and acoustic) instruments he has to hand, `Beaubourg' can be an enjoyable diversion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEAUBOURG..., 26 Jun. 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
Hot on the heels of the fabulous 'Albedo 0.39' and 'Spiral' came 'Beaubourg'.

Whilst the previous two albums were rich in colour, melody and creativity this is an entirely different kettle of fish.

Here, Vangelis experiments with sounds and soundscapes to produce two very quirky movements which seem to lack cohesion and too much direction or structure.

There are fans of Vangelis who 'get' this...I kind of see what he was trying to achieve, but it is a challenging listening experience and not for the faint hearted.

If you are looking for an intro to Vangelis and his music, don't pick this one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Completists, 17 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
Something that really bothers me is that far too many people approach an artists work as though the artist ought to be doing what the audience wants, rather than simply creating things for themselves, and hoping the audience can open their ears and perhaps even learn something new about themselves, the artist, or even music itself.

No this is not Chariots of Fire or Blade Runner. Its purpose is very different, and it ws created during the formative years of Vangelis. What's wrong with that?

So yes, if you only know Chariots of Fire, then you might be a tad surprised by the lack of humable melodies. But this one is something else entirely. In many ways it's more, deeper, and asks more of its audience. Some might call it "experimental" - which I won't disagree with too much.

But it's none the worse for that.

Perhaps not essential - fair enough. But to me it's entirely worthy, and if you have an open mind or what to hear something different, this might well do nicely.

If you like this then he took it to the nth degree with Invisible Connections, and even more abstract piece that I sometimes listen too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great suprise, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beaubourg (MP3 Download)
Looking at the previous reviews I was in 2 minds about the purchase but, as the price was so reasonable I thought what the hell. It is pure Vangelis and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars (bought this on vinyl in 1984) This album sounds like it comes out of nowhere, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
Can this album be compared to anything in the sonic universe?
Krell music?
A symphony of synaptic pulses?
A close encounter of the seventh kind?
And yet there is deep emotion here in rare, sublime passages - amidst the free-improvised alien jazz.
Analogue synthetic wallowing? Retro-futuristic exuberance? (bought this on vinyl in 1984)
This album sounds like it comes out of nowhere. It sounds as fresh as the day in the future when artificial intelligence is sophisticated enough to compute it (yet it will never be able to)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Secret Gem, 5 Mar. 2008
By 
Mark Taylor (Wakefield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
On initial hearing, this album has the capacity to offend everybody! Anyone familiar and used to Vangelis's more known works like Chariots of Fire and 1492 might find the lack of tunes and weird synth sounds unusual and distressing. On the other hand, anyone who is more at home in avant guard electronic music might find much in this record that could appear tacky and cheesy! Yet in spite all this, I think this record has a mastery and beauty that is unsurpassable. I think it's one of Vangelis's best works.

The album has a suggestion of one performer with one synthesiser, with much stereo panning thrown in for effect. There are many moods expressed in this record, including dramatic, reflective, slapstick and serious, with many haunting sections of great beauty. Much of the record uses sound based textures, but there are also many sections that hint at keys and tonality without indulging in it.

I have heard this album many times over many years and still find it amazing with many depths.

A much underrated work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atonal masterpiece - passable remastering., 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Patrick Gleeson (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beaubourg (Remastered) (Audio CD)
Adequate mastering of his most misunderstood album. A little too much added reverb changes the tone subtly, and the background hiss present on all recordings is more evident here, somewhat intruding on the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
The only one star review I will ever give on Amazon, and I love Vangelis.

Oh dear - an atonal Schoenberg type modern dirge with not a hint of a melody or musical phrase - - what were you thinking?

Avoid and buy ANY of his other albums or Greatest Hits instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I didn't get this at all, 27 Dec. 2009
By 
Julian Stevens (BRISTOL, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beaubourg (Audio CD)
I own and rate highly more albums by Vangelis than almost any other artist or band in my collection, all from 1979 onwards, starting with China, but Beaubourg, to my ears, was nothing but an abstract of odd and erratic little noises that seemed to have neither a beginning, a middle or an end. If, like me, you consider that music should consist of melody, rhythm and harmony and at least something in the way of thematic development, all of these things cornerstones of many of Vangelis' great works, you certainly won't find any of them here.

Music is, of course, very much a matter of taste but, in Beaubourg, I have to say that I simply couldn't identify any music. You may think it's marvellous, but I strongly advise a full audition before considering adding this to your collection.

For much more accessible material, try the Blade Runner 25th Anniversary 3 disc set, The City, Direct, Voices, Oceanic or the 1492 Conquest Of Paradise OMS ~ they're all excellent. But Beauboug decidedly isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beaubourg (Remastered)
Beaubourg (Remastered) by Vangelis (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews