Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superior compilation in a well-trodden field!, 28 Nov 2013
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
If you are wondering if you really need another compilation of obscure psychedelia and underground music - if it's this one then I'm afraid the answer is yes! David Wells (the Grapefruit label's main-man), ably assisted by John Reed, has produced a delightful compilation of tracks - some of which you may know, some you will not know and some which were unreleased at the time of recording.

Where this set scores over some of the similar compilations is that every track is licenced and full credit given to the sources used; the audio quality is very high - even though the sources are not 100% master-tapes, and the material itself is mainly very strong indeed. Many of these tracks could easily have been big hits at the time, and why they weren't is one of life's little mysteries. The 3 CDs run to nearly 4 hours between them with 65 tracks in total. Each CD takes a loose heading from the set's title - CD 1 being Love, CD 2 covering Poetry with CD 3 bringing on the Revolution - it almost works!

Even if you don't recognise some of the bands featured here, the helpful booklet details each track and you will find that many bands contained members "before they were famous" in their own right or with other bands. The booklet also features many, many illustrations of artists, record labels, posters and assorted memorabilia and full credits to all involved.

Love, Poetry and Revolution will take you back to another time - when John Peel was on Radio London and you could see a great gig for a few shillings! For me the set was worth it if just for Busy Bee - the working title and demo of the Tintern Abbey single; it could have come straight from an album by Love. But there are many, many gems to be found here and top marks to David and John for producing a superior compilation in a very well-trodden field. An unreserved five stars for every aspect of this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psych Treasure Trove, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
A compilation like this is the perfect example of how the job should be done. Intelligent and comprehensive sleevenotes by David Wells, fine layout by Andy Morten, some great mastering giving familiar tracks a new brightness and, above all, an outstanding mix of the familiar and the obscure. Too many highlights to detail, safe to say if you have a liking for 60s psychy-pop you should have this on your shelf or, if you want the perfect introduction to the genre, this could be the perfect introduction. In the unlikely event that other less meticulous reissue labels are paying any attention - this is what we want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Pieces, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
Pretty much most the content of this CD set I hadn't heard. So this makes a great purchase and allows you to fiill in some of the gaps that may exist in you're own music collection And in case you wondered .....there is some great tracks here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 60's or what?!, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Kev "Kev" (Nantwich, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
So, you are a child of the sixties. You grew up there with the music blooming all around you, and could not stop listening to the sheer vibrancy that enveloped and surrounded. Okay, there wasn't that much on the radio, only TOTP on the tv, but somehow you got to hear it all. Wrong! There are enough numbers on just the first cd of this 3cd compilation that will have you wondering just where your head was at, where you were when these tracks were made. I can give the excuse that after the initial relief of hearing the Beatles, the amazement of listening to The Stones, and the wide open wonder of the brilliant, cutting-edge bands that followed - The Kinks, The Who, The Small Faces, Spencer Davis...and many many more (you name your own if you wish) - I was swept up by the Soul bandwagon, so maybe my head was not quite in the right place for this at the time.
It matters not. It is here now, and the wonder is wide, the amazement is mesmerizing, the music is miraculous. On top of that it is also a really cheap buy, despite the beautiful box and the bountiful booklet. Enough already, except to say that if you are not a child of the 60's buy this and you will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy, fab and gear!!!, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
As the comprehensive main review by James B Spink states, this is all really rather excellent. A well selected treasure trove of cracking tunes from the psych era backed by amusing, incisive and informative notes on each track. There does seem to be more than a few psych comps out there, many of varying quality. This is one to get though. A job well done and a pleasure to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Psyche, Love This, It's Poetry, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Nicholls (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
This is a great compilation of British psyche, some familiar items but some of these are alternative versions, genuine rarities in a very well presented package. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vast, you'll need to find a point of entry..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
Hours and hours of uk psych/rock/etc. Fimiilar with some but not most of the artist here. Got the boxset and have been playing it randomly for a few months. Everything sounds good but then I'm in the right frame of mind and then 'hurry on sundown' by hawkind zoo fills the room... This that a saxophone in the initial build up? It's beautiful. Tunes like this could go on for days in my opinion. Principal Edwards magic theatre are up next and they've brought the best ever Amon duul violin groove.... And so it's continued. Fat mattress? the Liverpool scene? A bottomless pit of artists and musicians trying stuff out. Some tracks are less vital but overall, it you like your music with a bit of left feild 60s ness then you'll. really dig this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC COMPILATION!!!!!, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Edward J. mccarthy Jr. (new york new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
over the past 10 to 15 years i have many of these uk and psyche comps various uk labels that in some cases are still around and in others they are not, i to had to ask myself DID I REALLY NEED ANOTHER but when i read the press release from grapefruit and i was told by another amazon buyer to check into this I KNEW THE ANSWER WAS YES i had to spring for this, a few bands made this compilation that did not make any of the others and as for all the bands that made the other comps the song selection here is awesome!!!!! this discs sounds great with the remastering and all the information in the box will tell you everything you need to know, this sure was a fantastic 3 cd set to come out at the tail end of 2013, for my ears though the first 2 discs are the best and it also includes one of my favorite mike stuart span songs so buying this was a no brainer for me, i hope you enjoy this as much as i have!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and well-researched collection, 19 May 2014
By 
C. Lomas "c lomas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
This is not an era or type of music I'm familiar with, although some of the band names rang a bell as regards collectability and rarity. I'm thus not in a position to comment on the comprehensiveness of the selection, unforgivable omissions, or whether the set fairly represents 'British Psychedelia'. What I can say is that there is a lot of good music collated here, and a few really wonderful tracks. The accompanying booklet is excellent and very informative, and shows that the people who put this together really know their onions when it comes to this kind of music. A great place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A snapshot of time, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Poetry And Revolution: A Journey Through The British Psychedelic And Underground Scenes 1966 To 1972 (Audio CD)
There is something for everyone on this compilation,established psychedelic classics,rarities and total gems.The booklet is both fun and informative.All in all a must have piece at a really keen price.If it didn't exist you would have to invent it.Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews