Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing I want to Do More,
THE SONGS OF LEIBER & STOLLER has 75 original tracks by the original artists but Amazon have scrunched up the tracks making it hard to see which tracks on nevermind which artists sing them

SO and this is a big SO this is a track listing to make it a little clearer to read.

YES I do accept it's not a proper review but it doeas make it easier to read...
Published 10 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not their best
Thought I would really enjoy this but there are a lot of very obscure songs here when there was a lot of their better stuff left off this set.Maybe label licencing difficulties made it impossible to include the better songs I don't know but a lot of these were average in my opinion
Published 2 days ago by Pauly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing I want to Do More,, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
THE SONGS OF LEIBER & STOLLER has 75 original tracks by the original artists but Amazon have scrunched up the tracks making it hard to see which tracks on nevermind which artists sing them

SO and this is a big SO this is a track listing to make it a little clearer to read.

YES I do accept it's not a proper review but it doeas make it easier to read and that can't be so bad for a collection of songs by Leiber and Stoller can it?

CD1

1. Hound Dog - Elvis Presley

2. Ruby Baby - Dion

3. Take It Like A Man - Gene Pitney

4. My Boy John - Baby Jane & The Rockabyes

5. Love Me - Johnny Burnette

6. Lucky Lips - Ruth Brown

7. It's My Turn To Cry - Jay & The Americans

8. Spanish Harlem - Ben E.King

9. Kansas City - Wilbert Harrison

10. Some Other Guy - Richie Barrett

11. I'll Be There - Damita Jo

12. Alligator Wine Screamin' - Jay Hawkins

13. Cafe Espresso - Leiber-Stoller Orchestra

14. I Keep Forgettin' - Chuck Jackson

15. Smokey Joe's Café - The Robins

16. Just Tell Her Jim Said Hello - Elvis Presley

17. Don Juan - LaVern Baker

18. The Bossa Nova (My Heart Said) - Tippie & The Clovers

19. All Is Well - Johnny Mathis

20. Fools Fall In Love - The Drifters

21. Falling - Sammy Turner

22. Hollerin' & Screamin' - Little Esther

23. Charlie Brown - The Coasters

24. Keep Tellin' Yourself - Marv Johnson

25. Love Potion No.9 - The Clovers

CD2

1. Stand By Me - Ben E. King

2. Baby I Don't Care - Buddy Holly

3. There Goes My Baby - The Drifters

4. Tears Of Joy - Etta James

5. Shack Daddy - Betty Jean Morris

6. Poison Ivy - The Coasters

7. The Chicken And The Hawk - Big Joe Turner

8. Riot In Cell Block # 9 - Wanda Jackson

9. Black Denim Trousers And Motorcycle Boots - The Diamonds

10. Blues For Me - Eddie Fisher

11. Drinkin' Fool - Big John Greer & His Rhythm Rockers

12. You Laugh - Jack Jones

13. Your Old Lady - The Isley Brothers

14. Jailhouse Rock - Elvis Presley

15. Corn Whiskey - Jimmy Witherspoon

16. The Snow Is Falling - Ray Charles

17. Heavenly Blues - King Curtis

18. You're The Boss LaVern - Baker & Jimmy Ricks

19. Dancin' - Perry Como

20. Lips - Roy Hamilton

21. Take My Love - Mabel Scott

22. Framed - Ritchie Valens

23. Sorry, But I'm Gonna Have To Pass -Lonnie Donegan

24. Don't - Elvis Presley

25. Jack O' Diamonds - Ruth Brown

CD3

1. Dance With Me - The Drifters

2. I'm A Woman - Peggy Lee

3. Kansas City - Little Willie Littlefield

4. You'll Be There - Clyde McPhatter

5. Searchin' - The Coasters

6. King Creole - Elvis Presley

7. Saved - LaVern Baker

8. Tricky Dicky - Richie Barrett

9. Drums - Jay & The Americans

10. The Draw - Sherman &The Teenagers

11. Hound Dog - Big Mama Thornton

12. Fanny Lou - Frankie Marshal

13. Back Door Blues - Jimmy Witherspoon

14. It's Been So Long - Jo Stafford

15. Teach Me How To Shimmy -

The Isley Brothers

16. Get Off My Wagon - Linda Hopkins

17. I Smell A Rat - Big Mama Thornton

18. Broken Patty - Andrews

19. Bazoom (I Need Your Lovin') - The Cheers

20. I Want To Do More - Ruth Brown

21. Treat Me Nice - Elvis Presley

22. Destination Love - Wynonie Harris

23. The Lady Wants To Twist - Steve Lawrence

24. Flesh, Blood And Bones - Little Esther

25. Here Comes Henry - Young Jessie

26. My Guy Glenn - Beverley Westwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Now Music composer retrospective..., 28 Oct 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
The Songs of Leiber & Stoller, 75 O Reginald Classics, NOT3 CD126

This new compilation with informative liner notes from Helen Akitt includes many of Leiber & Stoller's definitive songs. Elvis was a great interpreter of the songs of Leiber & Stoller and this collection includes 6 performances from him. The other 69 are from a host of well known names of the time be they middle of the road or pop performers. The wish to record a Leiber & Stoller song meant there was no shortage of takers such as Perry Como; Eddie Fisher; Jack Jones; Jo Stafford etc. Many of pops biggest names are on hand to demonstrate the groovy nature of the songs.
Leiber & Stoller met in 1950 and by 1953 they were successful in getting their songs recorded by a great many artists. A landmark recording for them was when Big Mama Thornton cut their " Hound Dog". Many charting compositions were to follow.
This 3 CD set is a time capsule of their compositions. CD1 covers the period 1952 to 1963; CD2 covers the period 1951 to 1961 & CD3 covers the period 1953 to 1962. Running times for the CDs are as follows CD1: 63.00; CD2: 60.51 & CD3: 62.44.
In 2009, Simon & Schuster published Hound Dog: The Leiber and Stoller Autobiography, written by Leiber and Stoller with david Ritz.
The CD set is nicely packaged with 8 photographs of the composers/recordings artists. The track info includes the year of recording. Overall sound quality is excellent as I find to be the case with both the Not Now Music & One Day Music compilations. Pricewise a snip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
L&S were geniuses. They could move from trash to sublime with ease , humor , and lots lots lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars talented writers, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
Considering these gentlemen penned Elvis's biggest hits, what else can be said. They just
don't write them like they use to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not their best, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
Thought I would really enjoy this but there are a lot of very obscure songs here when there was a lot of their better stuff left off this set.Maybe label licencing difficulties made it impossible to include the better songs I don't know but a lot of these were average in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stuff that dreams are made of, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
75 songs by Leiber & Stoller for the price of 3 pints sounds like the bargain of the century especially when so many are appearing for the first time on CD and were mainly unknown of before the CD Age
But this is a long way down the line from the days of the Coasters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who wrote what - who sang it first - who was influenced by this song?????? - a really good book., 18 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Hall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
The Lwnnon and McCartney of yesteryear - a mine of information and a great read - many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
This is quite good with lots of new material and famous rock stars performing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 July 2014
By 
A. J. Wallis "Adrian" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
A great collection of early R'n'R song by two of the best writers of the era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy The MP3 Version........., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller (Audio CD)
The MP3 version only has 35 tracks - not the full 75 tracks included on the CDs................

So make sure you buy the CD version - which in any case has Autorip.............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller
The Songs Of Leiber And Stoller by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews