Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard for the new generation!!!
I really enjoyed this film. Great performances from Foxx and Tatum, but most of all a Die Hard style gripping action movie. This is an action movie, it is fast passed and dramatic, with subtle humor added in. Despite being over 2 hours long the film does not drag at all. I was either griped by the drama, or distracted by an explosion the whole time.

The story...
Published 6 days ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whte House Down V Olympus Has Fallen
All told Olympus Has Fallen is the better all round film, however and I never thought I would find myself saying this but White House Down is more fun to watch than I thought it would be. A cheesey film but perfectly watchable.
Funniest Moment: Channing Tatum and Jamie Fox trying to escape by driving round and round the lawn in the "The Beast" or "Ground Force...
Published 7 months ago by S. Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars two movies, same plot, but well worth watching, 14 Aug 2014
I don t know why they make two different movies, at the same time, on the same subject, but both this one and "Olympus" are well worth watching for pure fun. Many others have compared this to Die Hard, and indeed it is. I would say "white house" is indeed more fun than Olympus, there are more jokes, weird scenes, but both pack full action (and implausible plots - but who cares). The Washington DC views are quite impressive (having just been there on vacation to visit, it was an added bonus). Have a look at this, you will have a good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheese, but good quality cheese, 13 Oct 2013
White House Down (2013) Directed by Roland Emmerich

Roland Emmerich is the end of the world-meister. As long as you don't mind your end of the world experience peppered with cliched dialogue and an over-reliance on visual effects and let's face it, if you're not willing to utter the odd cliche as the world ends in smoke, ash and fire then when are you going to. Emmerich seems to have the ability to attract audiences despite recent efforts being well below the par of his apotheosis; Independence Day. His last two films did well at the box office despite being silly in the extreme. In the totally ridiculous 2012, for example, the effects become so gratuitous we could hardly see the actors efforts and we lost the sense of tension early on when our lead, John Cusack, escaped certain death with such regularity he was reduced to a basic plot device rather than the hero.

With White House Down Emmerich strikes a more assured note, achieving what the other terrorists-in-the-White-House drama released this year (Olympus Has Fallen) totally fails to manage, a sense of humour. In White House Down Channing Tatum, which might well be a form of punishment as well as somebody's name, is our down on his luck underdog hero and Jamie Foxx the Obama-esque black, liberal and reasonably cool President (although actually not as cool as Barack himself). If you are seeking something cerebral or thought-provoking then leave this well alone, but if you want to leave your brain at home and just enjoy explosions, running, jumping, shooting and evil-genius dialogue this is absolutely for you. In some of the most ironic and engaging scenes we watch the President targeting a bad guy's car with a rocket propelled grenade balanced out the half-open window of his limousine. Channing Tatum is as lumber-limbed and thick-skulled as we need him to be in the hero role, managing to avoid the Bruce Willis disease of donning a white vest through the action scenes. Oh yes and brace yourself for a contender for the cheesiest movie movement of 2013 in the final fifteen minutes involving a small, patriotic girl (Channing's character's daughter) and POTUS's flag with the seal of office. Be up-standing for the cheesiness.

White House Down is a popcorn movie through and through, lots of energy, little taste and full of hot and explosive air, but it isn't pretending to be anything else which makes it a very honest and effective picture too. An action blockbuster that you'll find thoroughly enjoyable unless the small kid inside you has been utterly curdled by the exigencies of adult life.

*** Three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White House Down Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I liked Olympus Has Fallen so was keen to see how this film compared as they are dealing with the same situation. But I'm afraid I was disappointed with White House Down. The 'father has to save his daughter' thing has been done before and it just frustrates the progress of the film. OK, it's done to introduce a caring and emotional angle to the film, but us blokes like a serious, believable action movie. The film is very corny with deliberate attempts to create humour. Many of the situations and scenarios just wouldn't happen. It could have been better without the clichés and why is there always an insider traitor? And CGI helicopters that look totally unreal. But the worst part of the film was the ending. In such a serious situation would the President really go on a joyride? I think not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Olympus Was Better, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White House Down Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Trying to rip Die Hard off, doesn't work! Shocking CGI Limo scene! Endless Whitehouse lawn! Channing Tatum is not Bruce Willis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Channing Tatum fan was looking forward to this film. I thoroughly enjoyed the humour between the two lead characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Corny actioner, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: White House Down (DVD)
Good fast-paced action film with a plethora of stars and familiar faces, but rather outrageous and hackneyed plot. Held my attention, though, but don't expect anything terribly intelligent either from the script or the rather half-baked attempts at character-building (obviously not seen by the director as necessary for the enjoyment of the film). Watch out for the hero in the vest - wonder where they got that one from!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars White House GROAN!!, 10 Feb 2014
The acting is awful especially from Channing Tatum,the plot is similar to the FAR SUPERIOR "Olympus Has Fallen!",i was looking forward to this,but then noticed the 12 certificate and thought,oh dear,and it is pretty lame and slow to say the least.quick plot,an embittered retiring employee wants to take his revenge out on the president with a team of guerillas taking over the white house.the bad acting makes it very child like and corny and from the man that gave us Independence Day and The Day after Tomorrow,yes this was a DISASTER TOO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hopeless, hapless time killer, 21 Jan 2014
This is nothing like Olympus Has Fallen, it is tame 12a rubbish.
Channing Tatum has the charisma of a mannequin and is no Gerald Butler. Jamie Foxx is miscast as an Obama clone and the action is lame.
However the bad guys are fun,Jason Clarke is good as disgruntled Special Forces Op.
However James Woods is back to his smarmy best as a the main villain, he is like his Family Guy persona.
Also Air force One blowing up was another highlight.
On the whole,it's good to watch in your bedroom TV to kill some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Olympus Has Fallen wannabe, 22 Jan 2014
By 
David S. Haazen (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is something trully annoying when a movie about a terrorist attack on the whitehouse is done almost as a comedy.....It wasn`t??..Oh sorry..its just that the double act was trully irritating and the Benny Hill segment when the `Beast` is driven all over the Whitehouse lawn while the double act exchange one liners was just too hard to take. Brilliant movie?????which one were you watching, I must have missed it. Olympus Has Fallen blows this mince right out of the water, the better movie by a million miles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great effects!, 14 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Marie E. Gaskin "Sun Worshipper" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White House Down (DVD)
I loved this film in fact it is probably the best action packed film I have ever seen. I am not sure if it is supposed to be funny as well but it made me laugh out loud on numerous occasions. A must see in my opinion. Plot a bit lame but everything else made up for it and some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White House Down Steelbook [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews