Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Remastered Issue To Date!
For a truly definitive and distinct collection, this remastered disc really brings out all the nuances and subtleties of all the Simon & Garfunkel classics. With twenty great songs, I have to admit that even the over-played, "Bridge Over Troubled Water" has a new essence and urgency that lacked in earlier recordings. The ambience is so much stronger. "The Sounds Of...
Published on 10 July 2008 by Martin A Hogan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To be Avoided
Terrible, terrible, terrible. Appalling drumming and various other idiocies added that completely wrecks a number of tracks. Before buying this travesty, compare (e.g.) "Homeward Bound" here against the original on the "Best of" album.
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by .


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Remastered Issue To Date!, 10 July 2008
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco/Oakland, CA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
For a truly definitive and distinct collection, this remastered disc really brings out all the nuances and subtleties of all the Simon & Garfunkel classics. With twenty great songs, I have to admit that even the over-played, "Bridge Over Troubled Water" has a new essence and urgency that lacked in earlier recordings. The ambience is so much stronger. "The Sounds Of Silence" and "Old Friends" are so clean that it's actually odd not to hear any background hiss - the vocals and guitars are so crisp. The more upbeat songs like, "Cecilia", "The Boxer" and "I Am A Rock" seem to place more emphasis on the percussion than on earlier recordings. "America" and "My Little Town" make for perfect album closers, as they sum up just about all that Simon & Garfunkel have stood for and cared about for so many decades. For absolutists, the Box Set contains everything, but this disc captures the true sound and essence of Simon & Garfunkel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS BEWARE!!!, 23 Dec. 2011
By 
David Cook (Hurlford, near Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is a superb remastered collection of some of S & G's best work.

However, save yourself a small fortune and get the slip card case version of the cd. Unless your willing to pay a whole lot more just to have a plastic case.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWENTY MASTERPIECES, 14 May 2003
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This excellent compilation includes all of this famous duo's best loved classics. They had a flair for combining poetic lyrics with soaring melodies and ruled the charts for most of the late 1960s and early 1970s. The Bridge Over Troubled Water album - a greatest hits collection in itself - stayed on both the USA and UK charts for years. Sound Of Silence articulated a particular late 60s urban youth feel in its images of subway walls and graffiti, while Homeward Bound is filled with loneliness and redemption. Mrs Robinson appeared on a movie soundtrack and El Condor Pasa with its lovely Amerindian flutes remains quite unique. All these songs are classics, but my favourites include The Boxer, America, I Am A Rock and the lively, upbeat Cecilia. You can't go wrong with this album where every track is worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To be Avoided, 14 Sept. 2012
Terrible, terrible, terrible. Appalling drumming and various other idiocies added that completely wrecks a number of tracks. Before buying this travesty, compare (e.g.) "Homeward Bound" here against the original on the "Best of" album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You get what you pay for, 2 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of many CD's available by Simon & Garfunkel, but if you want the most comprehensive collection of there well known songs, this is it.The reproduction is very good quality and all in all very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not what I was expecting, recording quality issues., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
I may have just been unlucky and got a cd from a bad batch but I had to return this item. The volume of the tracks was inconsistent, some like cecelia were normal but then bridge over troubled water was hardly audible. Also the arrangements of some of the songs seemed overdone - trying to get too many intruments in the background.

Strange that so many 5 * reviews, so maybe I was unlucky. Anyway going for the concert in central park instead which I used to have on tape and I know is/was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Simon & Garfunkel (MP3 Download)
I like simon and garfunkel iv got it on cd as well but I can take this with me on my kindle fire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely "the best", 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A terrific compilation which really does comprise "the best of". Remastered to perfection with excellent sound quality. An absolute bargain at Amazon's price for either long standing aficionados or those newly discovering a body of work by master songwriters / vocalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I realised that I've not got one of their albums, so when this came up on offer I snapped it up. I love their work, though not everyone appreciates my attempts to sing along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of Simon and Garfunkel, 22 Oct. 2012
Contains a lot of all time classic tracks, how could anyone be disappointed, particularly when it cost only 99p. I thoroughly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Simon & Garfunkel
The Best Of Simon & Garfunkel by Simon & Garfunkel
Buy MP3 Album£10.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews