Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell deserve 13 out of 10, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Dean Harrison (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Well the boys from Hell have done it again. Not satisfied with their 2011 Masterpiece Human Remains, we now have their latest story Curse & Chapter. Picking up exactly where they finished off, in a world devoid of divinity, I wonder how many fans will get busy splicing the two albums together into one uninterrupted Book of Hell (I know I did).

The album opens with the expected fully orchestrated introduction, Kev Bower showing us the depth of his musical skills, and the unbelievable power of a Yamaha Motif (no orchestra involved here). Then straight into the blistering Age of Nefarious, the first new full song of the album, taking Hell into a new dimension (if not the 5th) as their second album gives us a mix of finishing the release of the back catalogue from the first time around, and looking forwards with new material. Not that the back catalogue is anything to be sneered at, as Disposer Supreme belies its age, sounding just as vital as a song written yesterday, even though as I hear the marionettes line I can still see the mime like shrug Dave Halliday used to do back in the day.

But then we reach the summoning of the Darkhangel, the magnum opus of the album. With an introduction so tasty you might think it was seasoned with Oxo, this is just an awesome track, and one that reaches unexpected heights live (check out the bonus DVD), but doesn't lose any of that drama without the band in front of you.

Then we're back to the back catalogue, though strictly speaking not Hell's, as Harbinger of Death is actually a cover, from the equally excellent Race Against Time. This was original singer Dave Halliday's previous band, but the song always formed a popular part of the set, and this version features the surviving R.A.T members on backing vocals.

Then you get to the curiously spelt End Ov Days, the first song on the album that hadn't already been released or played live in some manner. Of course it doesn't dissappoint, and wins the prize for the most persistent vocal hook on the album. You will have "Fear your God" stuck in your head for days - trust me. It's interesting to note that this song is written by Andy Sneap and Dave Bower, who weren't part of the band first time around, yet this still captures the sound of Hell perfectly.

Then we get to the track that the album would not have been complete without. Deathsquad, one of only two of the original Hell songs to get a vinyl release first time around. This instrumental has it's sounds planted firmly in the 80s synths, and it would have been so easy to update those sounds and heavily orchestrate this song, but mercifully they didn't, leaving us with a very faithful version keeping to the original charm.

Then it's time to get all dramatic again. On the new album frontman and professional Actor Dave Bower (or Beckford in his actor guise) shows us his acting chops throughout this album, but they really come to the fore in this Shakespearean inspired Something Wicked This Way Comes. It's sometimes hard to remember you are listening an album and not the sound track of some high budget West End Gothic Rock Opera.

Then another previously unheard song, this time Faith Will Fall with Tim Bowler literally thumping the message into the darkest recesses of your head. Probably the hardest hitting of all the new songs, sure to be the headbangers favourite.

Then back to the back catalogue with my favourite song, from seeing them first time around, in the shape of Land of the Living Dead. I was gutted this wasn't on the first album, but they're forgiven now.

Then another old live favourite, and given the bass line, probably Tony Speakman's favourite as well. It sounds a little out of place on this album, stylistically, but still well done, and featuring a guest appearance from Benny Hill.

Sadly it then comes to the end, all too soon, with another previously unheard Vespertine Legacy, telling the tale of things that move in the twilight hours. Starting with a curious little warning in Romanian, you plough on into dark domains with riffs and drama galore, before the album finally plays out to a mysterious ticking clock - just where are they taking us next?

They say the Devil has all the best tunes, well Hell certainly do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year....very probably!, 25 Nov 2013
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
I have to be honest here and say i never really listened in full to Hell's previous album,it wasn't that i didn't like it,just that i download a frankly ridiculous amount of music and it got lost in there somewhere! Anyway i did listen to this one yesterday,and it is quite frankly....brilliant! Fantastic production,songs,musicianship,everything! In fact i was very tempted to go back to the first song and start again!That doesn't happen very often,usually i get annoyed at average songs etc....but i repeat,this is fantastic. Simply,if you like Metal,get this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece no 2, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
This album sucks. It reminds me of when I discovered the comedian Stewart Lee; he makes every other comedian seem rubbish by comparison. With Curse & Chapter, Hell disappoint by further hammering home the fact that very, very few metal bands are releasing start-to-finish awesome metal albums these days. This isn't just my favourite album of the year - it's sadly, and quite easily, the ONLY candidate.

As his been touched on in other reviews, the big fear was if Hell could ever match (never mind top) 'Human Remains'. Well fear not, because it really does somehow better their excellent debut. A couple of years touring the album has clearly helped Hell really hone their craft, and every facet of C&C just seems a little tighter and more focused than Human Remains. Furthermore, with an album half full of brand new material - the best stuff on the album, I would add - Hell have confirmed that they are a legitimate new band in their own right, rather than a nostalgia trip resting on some 25-year-old heavy metal laurels.

As for the music on display here, Hell simply have their very own sound. However as a point of reference for those who haven't heard the band before, I can only describe it as a theatrical blend of Maiden, Priest, Rush, Mercyful Fate/King Diamond and Dio-era Rainbow. The album is exceptionally well paced; fast metal song, prog rock song, short song, long song, old song, new song... the album belts along without a moment of filler or the feeling that it starts to sound 'same-y'. I could go on, but there are only so many superlatives that can be used so I would just say go and buy it. And do go and buy a physical copy, because you will miss out on some extremely inventive packaging if you download.

I can only hope there is only a 2 year wait until album number 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy hell..., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Cannot recommend this CD highly enough! To begin with the digipack itself is tremendous value, giving you a fabulous fold out photo spread, a bonus live DVD from a band known for spectacular live shows, and of course the album itself

And good god is the album ever good! I really did not think they could beat the first one but they've done it. This one's even more polished in terms of the production, and the songs are like the old album on steroids. Yes that means songs with about 17,000 different riffs, endless clever production tricks, and catchy-as-**** vocal melodies, all tied together with a general theme of "religion is bad and hooray for Satan!". Musicaly there are more fast tracks than on the last album, which is good for any thrash fans out there, but it's still got it's share of beastly mid tempo epics too.

All in all I think this album and this band generally are the best of the best in metal at the moment. There's not one band out there with as much creativity and flair as these guys, and it's also nice to hear a band that isn't confined exclusively to any of the metal sub-genres. To a point if you've heard one black/thrash/death/etc etc album album you've heard them all, but you will *never* hear anything quite like this

5 billion inverted stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they've only gone and done it again, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
THE SCHEMING DEMONS ARE BACK, HITTING US HARD AND MAKING CAPITAL LETTERS, IN THE ABSENCE OF UMLAUTS, ESSENTIAL FOR THIS REVIEW.
ITS HARDLY A REVIEW, ITS A PAEAN FOR THE DIABOLICAL AMONGST US. THE FUTURE, SUCH AS IT IS, IS BURNING IN HELL. THIS ALBUM IS GLORIOUSLY INSANE, CATCHY, HEAVY,THOUGHT PROVOKING, CONTRAVERSIAL AND SO FULL OF VINTAGE/MODERN MAJESTY IT WILL KILL YOU JUST BY LOOKING AT YOU.
DE AMORE CANEM.
MONKS! MONKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Quite simply my album of the year for 2013, a superb follow up to Human Remains that I keep playing again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
I didn't think this could get close to the previous one but I am unable too separate them. Absolutely Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Album of 2013, 23 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Hell are incredible. Their rise to prominence in the last five years has been a long time coming and a complicated story that I'm not going to go into here. Curse and Chapter is Hell's second album and, amazingly, manages to better their first which is no easy achievement. This version includes a fabulous DVD recorded partly at the 'Church Of Hell' showcase gig in Feb 2013, a gig I was lucky enough to be at and partly at Bloodstock Open Air Festival 2013. Both are incredibly well produced (Andy Sneap is a master producer and also Hell's guitarist) and the whole package is very professional. If you like your Heavy Metal and Rock but haven't checked out Hell, then you really need to and soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best CD since King Diamond's Conspiracy, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Audio CD)
a thespian, british mercyful fate we have here, but with their very own amazing sound, vocals are incredible, it's a theatre show / pounding metal album, relentless, groovy, catchy, technical, inspired

in over 20yrs i never thought a band would ever float my boat again, these guys are unique, a perfect fit, 2 albums and two of the best albums in the last 15-20yrs.......... easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly new and different, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse and Chapter (Audio CD)
it is concistantly good and up lifting , it has a good sound quality and the mixing levels are all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD)
Curse and Chapter (Bonus One DVD) by Hell (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews