Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow classics
This offer reflects perfectly the Rainbow world with ronnie and ritchie.
the best in the hard rock business.
world wide class.
thank you
Published 1 month ago by Sautarel

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Up above the streets and houses, Rainbow climbing high... (well the price anyway!)
This Rainbow box set contains all Rainbow's singles (including a chunk of foreign singles, not just UK) in CD form. Paying homage to the old 7" vinyl singles, each CD is housed in the relevant cover. They're a bit similar to the mini LP CD's that have been released, especially in Japan. 19 discs in all from Man On The Silver Mountain to All Night Long through to Stone...
Published 5 months ago by Stratpack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Up above the streets and houses, Rainbow climbing high... (well the price anyway!), 4 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
This Rainbow box set contains all Rainbow's singles (including a chunk of foreign singles, not just UK) in CD form. Paying homage to the old 7" vinyl singles, each CD is housed in the relevant cover. They're a bit similar to the mini LP CD's that have been released, especially in Japan. 19 discs in all from Man On The Silver Mountain to All Night Long through to Stone Cold etc. Fairly comprehensive and a nice looking box set that displays well. Comes with a mini hardback book explaining Rainbow's history.Thats the good bits.

On the downside - there is no new music here. This is essentially a glorified compilation of which Rainbow have a multitude. No bad thing in itself, a lot of bands don't have control over their own discography leading to a best of every few years. Thats the way the industry works. But how they can justify the price on this box mystifies me. I got this on preorder at the cheapest price so far (under 60 quid) and really grudged it. The Deep Purple singles box from a few years back was a similar idea, not as many discs but i'm sure I got it for less than 25 quid new. Same with the Gillan singles box from a couple of years ago. These sort of prices are what you'd expect from a box set aimed at long term fans who have all the music already - if this set had a lot of research done, interviews, pulling stuff out the archives etc that cost time and money then I'd understand. All thats happened here is they've copied all the single sleeves, spread out a Rainbow Greatest Hits over 19 discs and put them in a box. (Remember CD is a dwindling format too, although it probably doesn't apply too much to the age group this set is aimed at.)

Don't get me wrong I like it. It looks great, but it is an expensive bauble.
If you can get it for £20-25 then great but somehow I don't think it'll ever come down that far.

All thats really left to release for the Rainbow discography is a Deluxe version of the 1st album (to complete the Dio era) and a long overdue live release of the Monsters Of Rock gig in 1980 and I'd say thats about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid money, but lovely to look at., 5 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
Now that's a stupid amount of money to pay for a collection of singles, all previously released on vinyl, but now shrunk down to CD size. But then I'm stupid, and Rainbow singles were a stalwart of my miniscule record collection when I was 14. So, sold to the eejit at the back.

And, as box sets go, it's rather lovely.

So, what are you getting in what claims to be an indeterminate limited edition? Well, there are 19 singles (see below for tracks) in an assortment of foreign replica sleeves housed in a rigid box with lift-off lid. So at least it won't fall apart like so many others. And bonus points for making the 32 page booklet featuring detailed annotations on each release a hardback, rather than the flimsy booklets that have enraged me over the years.

Musically, some will moan that it's the remastered versions from a few years back, but this is just something to drool over, while firing up Discogs to look for that Dutch only 12" single you've been having wet dreams about since the eighties.

I loved all the various incarnations of Rainbow, but am especially fond of the live Joe Lynn Turner numbers I have on 12", and which will now be played more often than the neighbours will care for. I still think it's over priced, but it's just lovely to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow classics, 31 May 2014
By 
Sautarel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
This offer reflects perfectly the Rainbow world with ronnie and ritchie.
the best in the hard rock business.
world wide class.
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow fans, 23 Mar 2014
By 
J. Mcewan (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
bought as a gift, this didn't fail to satisfy. If you are a fan, it covers all the incarnations of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars box set, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
Just like the old singles great fun! Love the overshadow to get rid of all my old vinyl, this is just as good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NICE SET!!!!, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Edward J. mccarthy Jr. (new york new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
this is a nice cd singles set where the sleeves are replicas from the original sleeves from various countries all over the world, there is nothing unreleased here but if you are a deep purple collector or rainbow collector then i would add this to your collection, in fact i may not have bought this if i did not have the deep purple cd singles collection from 2002 and the gillan cd singles collection box from 2007, this sure took many years to come out but like the others said IT IS SUPER NICE TO LOOK AT!!!!!!, well done..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Songs, great Box ... but, 24 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 (Audio CD)
a unrealistic " Great" Price. The music is 5*, but such a rip-off box gets only 1 ( less is unfortunately not possible).
Guess Rainbow hard core fans will buy it, all others certainly not.

I love Rainbow's music and would also love to own this box, but never ever at this price. Shame on the record company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles Box Set 1975-1986
The Singles Box Set 1975-1986 by Rainbow (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews