Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Belting album, 24 Nov 2013
By 
A. M. Mcdonnell (Burley-in-Wharfedale, W.Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savages (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album which builds nicely on their return to form. Very heavy but much more inventive than we're used to from Soulfy, who tend to paint by the numbers. Lots of cracking riffage and brilliant guest appearances with the highlight being Clutch's Neil Fallon on Ayatollah of Rock N Rolla, which is impossible not to get caught up in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NO Tribal anymore but defo Metal, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
Gone are the tribal elements of soulfly they are long gone what we have here is instead much more streamlined well thought out thrash/groovy metal album Opening up with the intensely groovy Bloodshed it has a killer Opening riff, the recording is very clear, and Max's Son is drumming on the album which is Awesome. The album continues much in the same vein with really ultra groove laden thrash metal riffs, Max's performance is stellar, The Guitars crunch and the bass rumbles on in a barrage of thrash assault this is their best album since at least Conquest, really good. Songs like Cannibal Holocaust just jump out the speakers like a rampage herd and batter your skull with Max's Staccato Vocal delivery, overladen with melodic almost spear like guitar leads, The album truly is a sharp assault, not heard in some time be any band it sound genuinely heavy and aggressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly - Savages, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Nicholas Green (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
Savages, the upcoming ninth album by metal titans Soulfly, follows up from 2012′s Enslaved which saw the band overall transition into a much more heavier stance and thus dropping their traditional tribal influences. Recently signing a deal with Nuclear Blast Worldwide – the label created by ex-Roadrunner A&R guy Monte Conner - Savages sees Soulfly release another album in quick succession. The album was produced by legendary producer Terry Date, who had previously mixed 3, Prophecy and Dark Ages – what I consider to be one of my favourite Soulfly albums.

Whilst I enjoyed Enslaved as an entire album because of it’s overall heavier tones and influence, Savages I feel will take an entirely different route in terms of altering Soulfly’s illustrious legacy. Enslaved at times I felt like it was trying to be more than it actually was and, for that, to me it came across as a rushed and poorly delivered album, although I enjoyed it for what it was. It was a brand new Soulfly album, I loved it. However Enslaved took its time to grow on me, whereas Savages I got into pretty quickly. Weird that…

With the recent retirement of David Kinkade from the drumming world, announced last year, Zyon Cavalera (Max’s own son) stepped in to play drums on the remainder of the tour and did a pretty impressive job of it from what I’ve read. So now that Zyon himself sits himself down on the drum seat let us remember he has big shoes to fill, from Roy Mayorga, to Joe Nunez, to David and now Zyon – it’s an impressive list of drummers. Apart from that, there are no changes within the Soulfly line-up: it’s Max on lead vocals and guitars, Marc on lead guitar and newest member Tony (formerly of Static-X and debuted on Enslaved) is on bass.

From the video updates that I saw and the two singles that have been released – the awesome opener “Bloodshed” and also “Master Savagery” - I can see that this album is heading into a more groove-orientated area for Soulfly, who have been known (especially on 2012′s Ensalved) to experiment with death metal a little. Savages to me is one of Soulfly’s better albums to date, definitely surpassing the material saw on Enslaved and even the material on Omen, and I feel that I’ve taken to this album more than I did because of the sterling job Terry Date has done. It’s true that he has gotten to known how Soulfly should sound and Savages, in its basic groovy heaviness, sounds exactly how Soulfly should sound.

With the opener “Bloodshed” you get the drums opening the song sounding like a marching drum rhythm, and then after a few moments where it builds and builds the groovy guitar-filled fire hits you in the face; it’s almost like a sledgehammer impact: harsh and crushing. From here on in, the album goes from strength to strength, as each song feels alive and free – with Soulfly, I hope, wanting the music to sound like this.

I’ve listened to this album definitely a few times over now and what’s clear to me this is that with Savages, unlike Enslaved, isn’t trying too hard to be overly heavy but yet it sits at the middle point of being comfortable and also being heavy. Gone are the tribal influences, but that’s no bother – this album still proves that Soulfly have made up for lost ground. Welcome back, Soulfly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. S. Davis "Gremlin" (Andover,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
Another great Soulfly album.Fast delivery, brand new condition! All Soulfly fans will want to add it to their collection. Savage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good s@#t!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I think this album has a nice blend of cavaleras modern metal style and old school metal style.......one of their best in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
I can only say this was received really quickly & was suitably packaged.
This is certainly not my kind of music but I'm sure it will go down well with the recipient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing music,you need to listen it,All of you!, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
Because its Soulfly and Max and I think that is strong argument!And they getting better and better every year like a wine.Territory!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Pretty Fine Album., 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
I've never been a massive Soulfly fan, but I've always listened to them when they release new music.

As you can expect with soulfy, its not exactly light music, and not always the most pleasurable thing to listen to. But this album is pretty strong. It has the heaviness you'd expect from Soulfly, but with what I feel, a more intense groove. The riffs from start to finish are pretty strong, the vocals are everything you would expect and there is some pretty damn groovy drumming.

Whether you're a massive Soulfly fan, or just a fan of heavy music in general, this is most certainly worth a few listens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid record, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Savages (Audio CD)
Another solid record from Max C. and his tribe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Savages
Savages by Soulfly
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews