Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Tack Listing- Someday, Someway Next Stop Padise?
MIDNIGHT SPECIAL
THE ORIOLE RECORDS STORY
1956 - 1962 has
50 original recordings by the original artists.
Well I say original for quite a lot of the British releases were `cover versions' of USA rleases.
The Oriole label was founded in 1952 had a really mixed bag of artists many of whom are not so well known today.

These sets really...
Published 11 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a curiosity
I just wanted this for the Spotnicks tracks,there are some early Motown tracks which some people may like.
I'd forgotten how clunky some of Oriole's output,sounded,I think they used to make "Embassy" records for Woolworths 'nuff said
Published 7 months ago by Mr. R. A. Russ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Tack Listing- Someday, Someway Next Stop Padise?, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
MIDNIGHT SPECIAL
THE ORIOLE RECORDS STORY
1956 - 1962 has
50 original recordings by the original artists.
Well I say original for quite a lot of the British releases were `cover versions' of USA rleases.
The Oriole label was founded in 1952 had a really mixed bag of artists many of whom are not so well known today.

These sets really are a steal at this price.
But the Decca label is one of the better ones because so many of the artistes are very familiar to the British Listener.

Why are these releases so reasonably priced?

The simple reason that these sets are as cheap as chips is that the tracks are public domain.

That means the rights to the music has gone and any old Dick or Harry can release them.

The bad news for the previous rights holders' means good news for us, the buyers for if the price is too high we will not buy.
So the sets are at a more than reasonable price.
Next year the law changes to fall in line with the Americans and the 50 year rule will be finished.

But Amazon have scrunched up all the tracks making it hard for people to read which tracks let alone which artist is on so I've spaced them out making it easier to read,

CD1

1. Midnight Special ~ Bob Lander & The Spotnicks
2. Sherry ~ Hugo Montenegro & His Orchestra
3. Like I Do ~ Maureen Evans
4. Devil In His Heart ~ The Donays
5. Three Coins In The Sewer ~ Alan Klein
6. Do You Love Me ~ The Contours
7. Geraldine ~ Terry Dene
8. Never In A Hundred Years ~ Billy Joe Royal
9. Beechwood 4-5789 ~ The Marvelettes
10. Freight Train ~ The Chas McDevitt Skiffle GroupWith Nancy Whiskey
11. We Will Make Love ~ Russ Hamilton
12. Little Sue ~ The Dowlands & The Soundtracks
13. Too Many Beautiful Girls (And Not Enough Time) ~Clinton Ford
14. Volare ~ Domenico Modugno
15. The Passing Stranger ~ Lonnie Donegan
16. You Beat Me To The Punch ~ Mary Wells
17. Will You Love Me Tomorrow ~ The Raindrops
18. Rocket Man ~ The Spotnicks
19. The Big Hurt ~ Maureen Evans
20. I Saw The Light ~The Hallelujah Skiffle Group With Clinton Ford
21. I Found Myself A Brand New Baby ~Mike & The Modifiers
22. Pony Train ~ Titus Turner
23. Our Last Chance ~ Christine Quaite
24. Shake Sherry ~ The Contours
25. Johnny Summertime ~ Susan Singer

CD2

1. The House Of The Rising Sun ~The Chas McDevitt Skiffle Group
2. Too Young ~Lewis Lymon & The Teenchords
3. Your Nose Is Gonna Grow ~Christine Quaite
4. Don't Ever Change ~ The Dowlands
5. The One Who Really Loves You ~ Jacki Trent
6. The Reprieve Of Tom Dooley ~ Russ Hamilton
7. Move Mr. Man ~ The Contours
8. Orange Blossom Special ~ The Spotnicks
9. There Goes The Lucky One ~Jackie Lee & The Raindrops
10. The Outsider ~ Deek Rivers
11. Swing Pretty Mama ~ The Flairs
12. You Better Get In Line ~ The Contours
13. Paper Roses ~ Maureen Evans
14. Striped Purple Shirt ~ Alan Klein
15. Next Stop Paradise ~ Terry Dene
16. Old Love (Let's Try It Again) ~ Mary Wells
17. Come Prima ~ Domenico Modugno
18. Bla Bla Cha Cha Cha ~ Titus Turner
19. Bad Boy ~ The Donays
20. Hey Mae ~ Rusty & Doug
21. Bobby's Lovin' Touch ~ Susan Singer
22. Someday, Someway ~ The Marvelettes
23. Not Here, Not There ~ Little Abner
24. It's Too Bad ~ Mike & The Modifiers
25. Wedding Ring ~ Russ Hamilton
26. Onion Ring- Stevie D'Or and the Dockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks a Million One Day Music., 9 Oct 2013
By 
Howard Griffiths (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
When One Day Music start their excursion into record labels history . I got in touch with them asking if they would do a history into ORIOLE , that was around a year ago or so , they told that they had no plans to do this for sometime ,so with a little bit of perseverance and patience it's been worth waiting for . I would , as I told the team at One Day I would post my thanks to them , and I hope to all who buys this album will enjoy it as well . Some real classic's from the attic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Oriole Record Story, 31 Oct 2013
By 
R. Shaw "Ronboy" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
50 Great tracks from the Oriole label between 1956-62. Two lesser known tracks from Terry Dene."Geraldine" & "Next Stop Paradise", and Lonnie Donegan, "The Passing Stranger". With Tracks from Lewis Lymon, The Spotnicks, Mary Wells, and The Donays, making up a highly recommended 2 CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost forgotten, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
An almost forgotten label taken over by CBS in 1966, also responsible for woolworths embassy label.
Little chart success so good to hear rare items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic selection of tracks from a small British record label., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
I have long been a fan of the small independent Oriole label , and this release provides a very welcome opportunity to purchase many of its best singles in CD format , at a more than reasonable price. Highlights include tracks by Maureen Evans , Christine Quaite , Susan Singer , Jackie Trent , Russ Hamilton ,Domenico Modungo , Billy Joe Royal , the Donays , the Raindrops ( U.K. group ) , and Hugo Montenegro. There are a few duds on this 2-CD set , but overall it will certainly please music fans like myself who enjoy listening to early '60s pop music. There are some cover versions of American hits on these CDs , and I have to admit that I normally prefer the American originals , but in my opinion Christine Quaite's version of " Your Nose Is Gonna Grow " and Jackie Trent's take on " The One Who Really Loves You " are as good as the original versions by Johnny Crawford and Mary Wells respectively. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Record Label History, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
Bought this mainly for Maureen Evans and also The Spotniks.
Many other tracks I really didn't know about.
On balance though enjoyed the musical history that 'Oriole' presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a curiosity, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Russ (DOVER,KENT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
I just wanted this for the Spotnicks tracks,there are some early Motown tracks which some people may like.
I'd forgotten how clunky some of Oriole's output,sounded,I think they used to make "Embassy" records for Woolworths 'nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic label, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
Always consideredOriole to be underreated,good to listen to some of these songs without the Luxenburgh fade. Some tracks were new to me it has to be said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten British Label, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 (Audio CD)
Nice compilation, good mix of uk and us recording artists, some more in the way of sleeve notes would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62
Midnight Special: The Oriole Records Story 1956-'62 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews