Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Collection of Decorated Cakes
This is a collection of quite ambitious decorated cakes. If you have ever considered making a celebration cake, then this book is packed full of ideas, techniques and projects. There are plenty of themed cakes designs to choose from for many occasions. Some of the projects will require quite a bit of time and practice and perhaps some experience. There is plenty of...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, done better elsewhere
I was really disappointed with this book as I had been hoping for so much more.

The descriptions and techniques are pretty standard stuff but better explained/photographed in other books (my favourite is "The Complete Photo Guide to Cake Decorating" by Autumn Carpenter).

With the projects there are step by step instructions but only three...
Published 1 month ago by Amanda DAloia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Collection of Decorated Cakes, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Cake Decorating (Kindle Edition)
This is a collection of quite ambitious decorated cakes. If you have ever considered making a celebration cake, then this book is packed full of ideas, techniques and projects. There are plenty of themed cakes designs to choose from for many occasions. Some of the projects will require quite a bit of time and practice and perhaps some experience. There is plenty of information about equipment, ingredients and basic recipes for cake bases, icings and frostings before launching into the projects.

The content in the book is great, but if you are considering this in the Kindle ebook format, take note you can't increase the font size or zoom onto the page if you are reading it on a smart phone or smaller tablet. This means that sometimes the instructions are a little hard to read - especially if you are elbow deep in icing and trying to follow the instructions. There are a lot of photos which means that it takes a little while to load and is not really that well suited to a black and white only Kindle. This is a eBook best viewed on a larger tablet or PC. This is a book best read as a physical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Step-by-Step Cake Decorating (Kindle Edition)
All the basics, great tips and methods in easy to follow format. Only book you'll need to decorate fantastic celebration cakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because it's a lovely book, full of good picture illustrations and instructions. This book was bought as a present. well worth the money as it,s packed full of ideas and recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Nov 2013
I've got the hardcover version of this book and it has got lots of good ideas for cake decorating. I am glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, done better elsewhere, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really disappointed with this book as I had been hoping for so much more.

The descriptions and techniques are pretty standard stuff but better explained/photographed in other books (my favourite is "The Complete Photo Guide to Cake Decorating" by Autumn Carpenter).

With the projects there are step by step instructions but only three photos per project (which are quite small and not at all helpful to create the individual pieces).

It is an ok book but one I wish I hadnt bothered to get unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book!, 12 July 2014
Arrived very quickly, excellent service. Wonderful book. Very clear and iinstructive. Made me want to get into the kitchen and start baking! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't contains step by step illustration which I do very need...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Some really good ideas for beginner bakers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners and those wanting to improve, 12 Jun 2014
Having taught myself decorating purely from watching cake TV shows I thought it was time to get a book for the more adventurous techniques.

This gives plenty of step by step instructions on making almost any covering you want including royal icing, buttercream, chocolate ganache and tempering chocolate. At the back are handy basic cake recipes (chocolate, vanilla and coffee sponge, fruit cake and red velvet cake etc.). The book teaches you how to make small decorations and then progresses on to much larger projects which can range from serving 10-30 people and cover various themes such as girls and boys birthday, wedding and Christmas. All the large projects look very good and at the very big is a helpful template guide to use to ensure the various shapes are cut exactly like the instructions.

Overall this is a good book that helps to refine techniques of an amateur cake decorator while also providing some interesting large projects to aspire to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 6 Jun 2014
This is one excellent book, with lots of pictures and easy to follow instructions, brilliant if your new to baking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Step-by-Step Cake Decorating
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews