Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4th tale of "space lawyers"
"Against All Enemies" is the fourth book about Space navy officer Paul Sinclair.

It may or may not be the last book Hemry writes about him but it is definately the last in which he is the legal officer of the space cruiser USS Michaelson as Paul finishes his three year tour of duty on that ship during the course of the book.

The four books are:...
Published on 21 Aug. 2006 by Marshall Lord

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New
This is the fourth book in the series which relates the life and time of Paul Sinclair a 'space navy' officer of the near future. As in each of the previous books, there is some 'military' action with some courtroom activity following on as a consequence.
Hemry's space navy is very realistic (which probably follows on naturally from...
Published on 16 Feb. 2006


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New, 16 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This is the fourth book in the series which relates the life and time of Paul Sinclair a 'space navy' officer of the near future. As in each of the previous books, there is some 'military' action with some courtroom activity following on as a consequence.
Hemry's space navy is very realistic (which probably follows on naturally from Hemry's real life naval experience) the technology is on the whole well thought out and the main and subsiduary characters well developed - so why with these positive comments just the two stars? - probably fatigue!
Given the really solid writing skills that this author has, the idea of setting some of the activities in and around the (space) military courtroom was novel and interesting at first - however as this pattern is repeated in each book, this topic and approach has become stale. In fact I felt that the author provided us with no new insight into his world, or the motiviations of his characters with this current book; there was essentially nothing new in it.
I was extremely dissapointed, with such excellent characters and with such a believable world , Hemry could do so much with this series. We could have novels based upon Paul's naval/military activities, novels could be based around Paul as a detective or even a spy, but no, although these aspects are slightly touched upon in different books in this set, once more we end up with the basic pattern of a very short naval adventure and then back in the court - again!
So many Sci-Fi stories are limp re-hashes of 'old' tales, many successful Sci-Fi authors have good ideas, but can't write. Hemry has good ideas and can write - he is definately a 5 star author, but unless he can break away from the current 'formula' he is writing to, his next book won't even be worth 1 star.
The first couple of books in this set, I gave 5 and 4 stars to. They are really well worth reading. If you like military sci-fi you will almost certainly enjoy them - but even by the 3rd book in this set the whole thing was becoming repetative and I really can't recommend this current book (4th in the set).
I have great admiration for Hemry's skill as a writer so I trully hope that he will pull this series out of the nose dive it is currently in. I like Paul Sinclair, I want to hear more about his adventures, but Please, Please ... not in the court again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4th tale of "space lawyers", 21 Aug. 2006
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Against All Enemies" is the fourth book about Space navy officer Paul Sinclair.

It may or may not be the last book Hemry writes about him but it is definately the last in which he is the legal officer of the space cruiser USS Michaelson as Paul finishes his three year tour of duty on that ship during the course of the book.

The four books are:

A Just Determination

Burden of Proof

Rule of Evidence

Against All Enemies.

All four follow roughly the same pattern:

a) they start with some action and adventure in space,

b) something goes seriously wrong,

c) one of the participants faces a court martial,

d) Paul Sinclair's evidence plays a key role in determining

who is guilty or innocent.

The suggestion of what a far future space navy may be like appears to me to be interesting and probably as realistic as anyone writing now can hope to get. John Hemry was a naval officer and draws on that experience: in this book which is partly about espionage he used experienced gained when working for the US Naval Criminal Investigative Service from whom he learned in real life about catching those engaged in espionage.

I personally found all four books to be interesting and entertaining. Each stands on its own and you do not absolutely have to have read the first three to appreciate "Against All Enemies." Some readers who have read the first three Paul Sinclair books may feel that this is too similar to give them anything new.

I don't entirely share this view: for one thing each book introduces some new characters and each time Paul Sinclair has a slightly different role. Although the plot outlines are very similar, until the last two chapters I was in some doubt in most of the books - and more in this fourth book than any of the others - whether the person accused would be convicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!, 16 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this book down any more than I could put down the other 3 books in this series. I have only one complaint: why are there no more books? I feel invested in the main character and want to know what comes next. Does he carry on with his quest for justice or will he become something else - tired and cynical. Paul Sinclair is written as the kind of person we would all like to be - honest, hardworking, dependable - looking at that list makes him sound dull, but those are just his overall traits - he is also self critical, able to take a joke and basically kind. All the way through the 4 books, I found myself willing him to "win". Well done to the author - I had read his other series and left this one till last thinking it may not be as good - I was mistaken. I think these were my favourites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding legal SF 2.5 stars, 1 April 2013
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In the fourth (and final) book in this series, we once again find Lt Sinclair (as a ship's legal officer) dragged into the mire of legal issues. Someone on board his ship might be a traitor and Sinclair may have to turn spy....

Very easy reading with little in the way of tension or twists. The author's love for the Navy is obvious and it is nice to see that in his version of the future female officers have equal roles and provide some of the stronger characters. Lots of times you think there may be a twist or some big events may change but no, it goes in a straight and predictable line. Of the four books in the series this is probably the weakest I am afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jag in Space, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent series following the development of a new officer as he progresses through some interesting legal problems as he gets his space legs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, kept me reading, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As it says in the header, really. A good addition to the series, nothing complicated though and without massive depth but still an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is well written with a vast knowledge of the forces.
Although it is set in the future it would still be a good read set in any Navy throughout the world
The characters are very believable and enhance the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable series, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
Soloman (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the last in the four book series about a young officer in the space navy; who along with his assigned duties also has the additional role of being the ships legal advisor. Jack Campbell depicts life aboard as seen through his eyes. The books are best read in order as there are a few backward references, but it will not spoil your read if you don't. As with all of this authors books, there is a great deal of his own military background in his writing. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read that kept me interested, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book. Bought the whole series after reading other books by the same author. Recommend you try them yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author is always a good read. Interesting and well rounded characters, in a totally believable world/time. The legal angle is also interesting and the insight into Naval/Military life is enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews