Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Vnv never disappoint
Another GREAT album by an amazing band. They keep them coming every time. I Can't stop listening to this album!
Published 11 months ago by Chrissie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All filler, no killer
Every VNV Album has a couple of tracks on it which just grab you and don't let go. Even Judgement (for my money, their weakest before this one) had Testament and Nemesis to force your heartrate over a hundred and get your arse moving. Not so much here though; as another reviewer has said, it feels like the offcuts from the last three or four albums. The tracks here feel...
Published 13 months ago by Davywavy2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All filler, no killer, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
Every VNV Album has a couple of tracks on it which just grab you and don't let go. Even Judgement (for my money, their weakest before this one) had Testament and Nemesis to force your heartrate over a hundred and get your arse moving. Not so much here though; as another reviewer has said, it feels like the offcuts from the last three or four albums. The tracks here feel like those which just weren't good enough to find their way onto Automatic (A great album) or Faith, Power and Glory. Probably the best track is Lost Horizon, an instrumental which feels like the 'calm down, cool off' track which normally ends every VNV album. Here we find it in the middle, round about the point you might expect to find the biggest tracks.

I'm disappointed. Fingers crossed this is just a blip in an otherwise unbroken line of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vnv never disappoint, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
Another GREAT album by an amazing band. They keep them coming every time. I Can't stop listening to this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VNV Nation just get better and better., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
Well, if you liked 2011's Automatic, you will absolutely love 2013's Transnational.

1. Generator - A Wonderful trademark instrumental opener, just as it should be on a VNV Nation album.
2. Everything - uplifting, thumping rhythm, another good song.
3. Primary - even more thumping bass, really catchy synth hook, then an anthemic chorus, but all the time with that solid beat.
4. Retaliate - very definitely VNV Nation. Fabulous guitar-like sound, could be off FP&G, but brought up to date. One of my favourites.
5. Lost Horizon - another instrumental. Slow build up, then after a minute or so, drum and synth kick in for a minute then back to the almost choral effect, but with the drum coming back again. Perfect VNV Nation instrumental.
6. Teleconnect, Pt 1 - much more of Ronan's voice, sort of a nostalgic EBM poem, if there could be such a thing.
7. If I Was - soft keyboard opening, but only for about 15 seconds, then the rest kicks in. Halfway through, it goes to keyboard and voice for a while alone, then the rest come in with a lovely, large sound.
8. Aeroscope - In my very humble opinion, the best instrumental VNV Nation have ever done. Imagine "Control" but somehow louder.
9. Off Screen - Straight in with bass and synth, lovely almost harpsichord like synth halfway through. Good solid VNV Nation song, very catchy chorus.
10. Teleconnect, Pt 2 - An almost subtle beat and build up for 3.5 minutes, then the bassline starts, then 2 minutes later, the vocals then the drums, then slowly fades. A great ending to the album.

Apologies to all the diehard Faith,Power and Glory/Judgement/etc.. fans but Automatic was my favourite VNV Nation album.

I love all the albums, but for me, Automatic just brought it all together perfectly. On first (and second) hearing, Transnational is shaping up to be as good, if not even better than Automatic.

Please don't wait 2 years for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest album to date, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Dr. Johnson "Gabriel Sylvan" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
Transnational is an album of fillers. It has far too many instrumentals and it feels like the songs are the ones that didn't make the cut onto their previous album, 'Automatic'.

Banal lyrics, repetitive and boring music, in fact, if you could programme a computer to emulate the essence of VNV Nation then this would be the result, it's almost a homage to VNV, all the sounds but none of the passion. Quite ironic considering the futuristic Art Deco 'Metropolis' influence they were writing about.

It's lazy, there are songs such as 'Lost Horizon', that use identical sounds and could be parts of the same song as 'Photon' from their previous album, Automatic, both incidentally, instrumentals. Likewise the song 'Primary', it uses the same Georgio Moroder/Donna Summer sound as Streamline, again a song from Automatic.

Only a sycophant would rave about how good this album is, ignore them! I'm a fan for sure but this album is so disappointing it's insult to the intelligence of the fans who buy VNV's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have to accept that VNV will always innovate..., 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
...That said, Transnational does not quite land the killer-punches that happened frequently (and massively impressively) on "Automatic". However, let's put all of this into perspective: VNV are due an average LP, but this is not average. It's good, but I would suggest they need to stop rushing albums out of the door. Ronan is running out of lyrics, and needs some time to reflect and get his mojo back. It's not bad - you just can't keep looking for causes to sing about all the time without actually feeling for the causes. I love VNV and can't wait to see them in Islington, London in a week or so, but guys, slow down and give it a while before the next one! Love Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good...!!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transnational (MP3 Download)
Great album and love the new direction VNV taking with this. It is different to Automatic, but in a good way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transnational
Transnational by Vnv Nation
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews