Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read
Before I begin my review, I must say that I received an ARC for free from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Having never read any of Claires books before, and often giving up on non-fiction books halfway through, i was a little dubious, however I needn't have been. I found the book a really easy read and interesting.
Even as a Tudor enthusiast, I...
Published 21 months ago by Leanne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ann boleyn collection 11
I was looking forward to reading this book, but found it very repetitive in fact quite boring at times, I don't think I even finished it.
Published 15 months ago by butterfly11


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
Really nice book yo read. And very easy to follow so if looking for a light read but full of facts then try this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars anne, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
As ever always enthral led by this woman, bourght the book and read it very quickly, a good purchase quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Claire has done it again!, 2 April 2014
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
Once again Claire Ridgeway offers the reader an excellent source of information on the life of Anne Boleyn, being careful to separate fact from fiction. She writes in a clear, explicit manner making it easy for even a new fanatic of Tudor history to understand. For those of us who love history - most specifically Tudor history - Claire's books are not only an excellent read but a reliable source of information. Along with her historical work I can only hope she will use her knowledge and talents to write a fictional account to fill in the blanks of Queen Anne's life as she thinks it might have happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
This book is a collection of articles which have also been published on the author's website. She has done a lot of research and collected a lot of interesting material. Where she has no direct proof of what happened her conclusions make sense. Anyone interested in Anne Boleyn, her family and the Tudors would want to read it. Personally I would have done more editing before putting the articles into a book. Many things are repeated in several articles which in a book would not be necessary, as you follow the story from one chapter to another. However, it's very interesting and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tudor, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
Easy purchase, cheap and worth the purchase. I love anything about Tudor England. I would recommend this course of action if you like Tudor England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Boleyn, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
As an history lover, I have read alot of books about Anne, I find her life interesting and tragic a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more Boleyn information, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
I am incredibly interested in the subject of Queen Anne Boleyn, and i have managed to read many of the published works. This is certainly a read for anyone interested, and the 'chatty' way the information is presented makes it easy to read. Recommend for light hobbyist research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More, more, more!, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
I received an ARC from Claire for this book in return for an honest review.

As per usual, Claire Ridgway has done her homework. This book is a detailed set of chapters where she discusses some of the various myths and rumours that have grown up around the Boleyns over the years. Claire agrees with some and dismisses others but does so politely and effectively. Where Claire disagrees with the theories of others she does so with reasoned argument. She also provides a detailed reading list so that readers can look up the sources and more recent works for themselves to make up their own minds.

There are detailed family trees and a considerable period of work has gone into providing all this information - I hadn't known that the Boleyns apparently descended from the Counts of Boulogne!

A number of pictures are included such as the brass commemorating Thomas Boleyn, various photographs taken in and around the Tower of London and photographs of churches in which members of the extended family were buried.

Claire also discusses the depictions of various Tudor personalities in modern television and film such as Philippa Gregory's 'The Other Boleyn Girl, and 'The Tudors'. She acknowledges that the depiction of Jane Rochford in the Tower during her imprisonment in 1542 was more accurate - and I also believe that the actress who played Jane (Joanne King) gave a superb performance of this much maligned individual - than many people might have thought. Jane Rochford is usually depicted as a fairly nasty and vindictive person whereas Joanne portrayed her as a more sympathetic character.

Whether you agree with Claire's thoughts and opinions on Tudor personalities and/or authors who have discussed them ever since - or not! - this book is one that should not be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really interesting historical book., 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, and was so interested in the chapters on the BUTLER family as my maiden name was BUTLER. Yes a very good read, it's more for people who are interested in the historical facts, the author has a nice easy way of explaining the truth or hearsay, and gave many references to other authors on the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection II: Anne Boleyn and the Boleyn Family (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read.
Thought I knew Anne's story....but learnt so much from this.
Has definitely changed my opinion of Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews