Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some light reading
It's the perfect book to carry around with you and pass the odd minute here or there, at the bus stop, waiting to be called at the doctors office, just as long as you don't mind peolple staring at you when you hit a really funny one and start smiling and laughing to yourself.
Published on 6 Feb 2003 by Z. Sawdon

versus
160 of 184 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First draft to The Deeper Meaning of Liff, save your pennies
I am deeply disappointed that both books are still in circulation. The Deeper Meaning of Liff (TDMOF) is an updated edition of The Meaning of Liff (TMOF), it contains all the definitions found in TMOF and a significant number more. So why oh why is TMOF still being sold???? Don't make the same mistake I did, I bought both together.
Published on 1 Sep 2004 by R.C. Bartholomew


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some light reading, 6 Feb 2003
By 
Z. Sawdon "scarletohaahaa" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
It's the perfect book to carry around with you and pass the odd minute here or there, at the bus stop, waiting to be called at the doctors office, just as long as you don't mind peolple staring at you when you hit a really funny one and start smiling and laughing to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 2 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
First read the original version on the York to London train in April 1984, and by Stevenage was reading it aloud to my half of the carriage. My four children have been brought up on scullets, duddos, aboynes, goosnarge, kent expressions and, of course, clixbys. I have frequently been threatened with matricide for being exessively spreakly, but have never been accused of a ditherington. My husband has a fondness for my budbys, and has had consirable experience of poonas. I've had plenty of episodes of silesia, been occasionally duntish after being extremely solent, endured many a hoylake, committed the occasional hidcote bartram and have often been observed kelling. I'm also very adept at losing things in fiunaries. Anyone who understands some - or most of this - is at least as sad as I am, but probably, also like me, has more fun in life than many people.. Now have a copy of the Deeper Meaning, but haven't learned as many new words now my family have grown & flown. I still think a runcorn could be an athletes affliction, slimbridge a dieter's scales, and saundersfoot the irritating tapping made someone who is enjoying the sort of music you can't stand! Maybe they'll be an Even Deeper Meaning of Liff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, ground-breaking pocket editon of LIFF, 4 July 2005
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
Quite simply one of the very cleverest books. Have you ever read a dictionary? Did you remember much? No?
Well, this effect extends to TMOL (The Meaning Of Liff), because it is a 'dictionary' like no other.
All those needed but un-named words that describe everyday situations (standing in the kitchen, wondering why you are there = "Woking") have been listed and described without coining a single word.
By re-using place names no new words have been created, only new meanings. Humorous meanings, mostly, although some are plain waspish! The authors take their revenge on people and places that have (presumably) given offence.
And the advantage of the dictionary format is that all this wisdom and humour can be read and re-read almost indefinitely, since it is (after all) so hard to remember things when you read a dictionary. This small book will pass time for ages, and every loo should have one. Also suitable for cars, boats, and (especially) light aircraft with luggage limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you will ever need - almost, 25 Nov 1999
By 
Andy Ayres (Godalming, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I'm now on my second copy having worn out the first. It's travelled with me throughout the world and made me laugh even on the most boring flights and in the most tedious airport. Can be used anywhere when you want to embarrass yourself by laughing out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


160 of 184 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First draft to The Deeper Meaning of Liff, save your pennies, 1 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I am deeply disappointed that both books are still in circulation. The Deeper Meaning of Liff (TDMOF) is an updated edition of The Meaning of Liff (TMOF), it contains all the definitions found in TMOF and a significant number more. So why oh why is TMOF still being sold???? Don't make the same mistake I did, I bought both together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unique....a must-read for the humour-hungry, 22 Oct 2001
By 
N. Marik "Neelesh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
The meaning of Liff is unputdownable...not as much as in the best seller sense as a cigarette addiction..you will go back for the same stuff just because of its power of unalloyed joy
this book is a great party tool...can recollect the hours through several nights when 'Liff' has generated near-death experiences due to abdominal seizures of laughter..when one reads out and others get ready for getting convulsed and hit the floor
absolutely priceless creation..a different flavour of genius from the hitchhiker theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bible for wordplay fans, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
One of the wittiest, cleverest books I have seen in such a slim volume. All the words you'll never need are found in here. Hours of entertainment - Adams at his inventive best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Meaning of Liff, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
Listened to a Radio 4 program on the making of this book and found it fascinating. Not a laugh out read, more a coffee table book to dip into every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing!, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I really love this book. I first encountered it in a friend's bathroom for light reading! The words are all place names in and around Great Britain and they are attached to meanings for which no word exists, but should, such as Duntish (adj): mentally incapacitated by a severe hangover, and Camer (n.) A mis-tossed caber.
This is an excellent book to dip into as the mood takes you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Meaning of Liff, 18 Dec 2009
By 
S B DEMPSTER (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Meaning of Liff (Paperback)
I have read all Douglas Adams's books and every one has provided endless laughter... and astonishing imagination. One of the best authors EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Meaning of Liff
The Meaning of Liff by John Lloyd
4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews