Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent so far
I bought this a bit nervously on the back of a frustrating experience with my Samsung CLP-325W Colour Laser Printer (Wireless), a similarly-styled machine, which I find keeps dropping out of wireless contact and has rather poor print quality.

But in this recent addition to their range Samsung really seem to have pulled their socks up. Although I've had it for...
Published 9 months ago by hardatwork

versus
41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compact with useful wireless features, but beware high running costs and flimsy build
Bought this as a second printer for a small home office. Main criteria were compactness, good (black and white) print quality, wireless connectivity and low running costs (compared to an inkjet).

Pros;
1) Very good print quality, certainly on a par with some mid-range mono laser printers and much better than inkjets in the same price bracket.
2) Very...
Published 6 months ago by semu5


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compact with useful wireless features, but beware high running costs and flimsy build, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
Bought this as a second printer for a small home office. Main criteria were compactness, good (black and white) print quality, wireless connectivity and low running costs (compared to an inkjet).

Pros;
1) Very good print quality, certainly on a par with some mid-range mono laser printers and much better than inkjets in the same price bracket.
2) Very fast initialisation and first print - typically less than 5 seconds. Compare that to the 60 seconds or more you can wait for an inkjet to run through it's cleaning cycle. Print speed of around 20 ppm is also pretty good.
3) Very compact and unobtrusive.
4) WiFi setup is very easy with the WPS feature, provided your router supports this. Unfortunately not so easy if you have to enter your WiFi passcode.
5) NFC (Near Field Communication) feature is quite handy, allowing you to print directly from an NFC-equipped mobile phone or tablet simply by placing the device on the NFC tag. On Android devices, you'll need to have the free Samsung Mobile Print app installed (if it's not already installed, the NFC feature helpfully takes you directly to the Google Play store to install it). This app is actually very good, and a lot less fiddly or limited than some other mobile printing apps I've tried.
6) Eco Driver feature is actually quite handy and more than just a gimmick - particularly if you're printing from web sites etc. and don't necessarily need all the background graphics.
7) Installation procedure via supplied CD very straightforward. It automatically checks for the latest updates so don't bother downloading drivers from the Samsung web site.

Cons;
1) For a mono laser printer, the running costs are actually quite high. The Samsung M2020 Toner Cartridge - Black standard yield toner cartridge will set you back between £36 (best price on Amazon) and £55 (from Samsung store) and is supposed to last 1000 pages, representing a cost of between 3.6p and 5.5p a page - almost double the cost of some other budget mono lasers. Additionally, the genuine Samsung cartridges are relatively difficult to find - most high street stationery stores don't stock them. I wouldn't recommend using non-branded compatibles.
2) The fold-out input and output paper trays are made of very flimsy plastic. Wouldn't last 5 minutes in an office environment, but probably just about adequate for home use as long as you keep the toddlers away. The internal construction seems OK but obviously not built for heavy use.
3) It only supports 2.4GHz WiFi, so if your network is on 5GHz (as mine was) you'll need to reconfigure, or resort to USB cable.
4) No auto-duplex or 'straight-through' paper path, but that's hardly surprising in this price bracket.
5) Gets quite hot when printing large documents, but again that's not unusual for lasers.
6) It only comes with a 'starter' 500-page (i.e. half empty) toner cartridge in the box. Sadly common practice for budget printers but still deeply annoying.
6) The supplied 'quick start' guide sheets are so generic as to be virtually useless, so it's just as well the setup is fairly straightforward. There's no printed user manual supplied - just the PDF on the CD or downloadable from the website - but I personally don't mind that as a cost saving (and environmentally friendly) feature.

All in all, some nifty features and probably worth the asking price, but you get what you pay for.

PS if you want wireless features, remember to get the M2022W model rather than the basic M2022.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent so far, 16 Dec 2013
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
I bought this a bit nervously on the back of a frustrating experience with my Samsung CLP-325W Colour Laser Printer (Wireless), a similarly-styled machine, which I find keeps dropping out of wireless contact and has rather poor print quality.

But in this recent addition to their range Samsung really seem to have pulled their socks up. Although I've had it for only a few days, I'm posting this report now as I am so impressed with it, and there is as yet no other review here.

The M2022W is a seriously light and compact printer, ideal for the snuggest home workspace. The design is very clean and attractive. The build is a little flimsy in places, such as the paper feed tray which is just a hinged flap, but if like me you're not figuring on using the machine as a football you should be able to live with this.

For me the big things are, and in each case by contrast with my CLP-325W:

(a) it is very easy to set up. The hardcopy instructions and cd installation program are clear and straightforward. Introducing the printer to your wireless network requires just a few clicks, from a PC/laptop connected either wirelessly or via USB. Once it's on the network, you can easily set up communication from other computers, again wirelessly, including iPad etc via Airprint.

(b) it stays in reliable wireless contact. So far it hasn't dropped out once, and shows no signs of doing so. (In fact the accompanying 'Easy Printer Manager' application also recognises and manages separately my CLP-325W, and for some reason seems to find it more readily than does its own software.)

(c) the print quality is excellent. There is also a toner-saving 'eco' option producing a less intense black, but still very sharp and good-looking.

For this kind of product users' experiences can vary, and I expect reviews will appear reflecting this. If my own experience changes then I'll update this review. So far, though, I'm really pleased with this printer and would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Black and White printer, 26 April 2014
By 
Katia (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
This was an urgent purchase, after my old HP inkjet printer gave up in the middle of a long document. I needed one delivered the same day so I bought it almost blindly without researching it properly. My criteria were a simple, black and white, quick and non-fussy laser printer. This turned out to be a great choice.

The best things about it:

1. It is easy to set up, it took me about 20 minutes to have the printer out of the box, plugged in and set up for wireless printing.

2. It is small and sturdy, in a compact square shape that takes up little space on my desk. I was a bit skeptical when I read on another review that the paper trays are flimsy but I found them normal. On a solid surface and with no unreasonable pressure, I don't see that anything would go wrong.

3. Really fast initialisation. It starts printing at the click of a mouse. You don't have to wait for the printer to warm up, and it's refreshing to no longer have the frustration of inkjet cartridge cleaning every time you initiate a print job.

4. The printing speed is fantastic. It prints flowingly, without too much noise, about 20 pages per minute. No paper jams yet.

5. Reliable wireless printing (although it does come with a USB cable too). I print from my PC, from my iPad and from my Chromebook, and wi-fi connection has never dropped so far.

6. Very good quality black and white prints, clear and crisp, and you can choose to use the eco feature to save toner by removing graphics and formatting.

And the rest:

- What this printer does not have, is automatic double-sided printing. However, it does give you a semi-automatic `print on both sides' option, which is surprisingly easy and efficient: If you check this option, then your document is printed by skipping a page and once it finishes you simply feed the printed pages again as a bunch (you don't need to sort them as the printer does this for you), and the full document is then printed double-sided. It's very simple and quick and I do print mostly double-sided.

- The main thing that bugs me about this printer is that it uses up quite a lot of toner. And the Samsung toner cartridges for this model cost anything between £35 - £48 on Amazon, so they are not exactly cheap. In my case the printer came with a brand new and full toner (or so says the Samsung printer manager when I set it up). This is supposedly meant to last for about 1,000 pages, but after a few weeks of moderate use I am getting an indication that the toner is now at 55%, and I have not printed nowhere near even 250 pages, and always print with the eco feature on.

So my only real issue is the toner cost - other than that, this is a great printer, at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I have wasted so much time trying to get it to work ..., 12 July 2014
By 
Mr. Bruce Gilbert (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
This is the most awful printer I have ever owned.

When it goes to sleep my PC loses connectivity to it (e.g. pings drop) and the only way I can print to it is to turn it off and on.

Setting a static IP doesn't help.
On the latest firmware (Nov 2013)

It's not possible to disable sleep mode (only set it between 1 and 60 mins).

I have wasted so much time trying to get it to work and got nowhere. I wish i'd just purchased a printer with a wired network interface (perhaps a 2nd hand HP).

It's not just me that is having this trouble, it's on the forums, but no solution yet.

I don't think I have managed to print a single useful page yet.

Also, it won't register with Google Cloud print (even though it is supposed to support it). Error 96 (?)

What a load of garbage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars samsung enough said, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
i love samsung products i needed a cheap reliable decent quality laser printer but didnt expect to find this little gem wireless easy to setup uses samsung mobile setup from a samsung smart phone wgich prints directly from pictures documents stored on device brilliant for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Air Print / Google Printer, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
Brilliant printer. A little bit of setting up (and a few searches) and this will now print from my MacBook (Mavericks) and my iPhone from literally anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Samsung printer m2022w, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
Don't buy this printer if you have a chromebook it is a nightmare, the user manual tells you to visit Google.com enter the printer's IP address and login the SyncThru Web Service, google.com is google.co.uk and is just a search engine entering the IP address just displays what it is and pages of useless comments it does not open SyncThru, all other suggestions are equally useless. I have to print via my tablet which sync's to the chromebook and works fine with then printer but is not exactly 21st century. Don't bother trying samsung online support they don't even mention chromebook and the telephone help line is disconnected.
Samsung products are great, they work beautifully in isolation but the excellent chromebook has been left out in the cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung M2022W, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
Very pleased-nicely compact but functionally good printer. Managed to connect to google cloud from chromebook once the printer was detected on my cloud settings but needed to load the software onto a laptop first for this to happen. Print quality is good and I now at last can print from chromebook to the M2022W ( must be the W model though.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compact and handy, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
Easy to set up and get going. Didn't realise the ink would be included so bought an extra cartridge. Bought it for creating black and white images for etching and for labelling and non colour jobs. So inexpensive and handy. It starts up quickly and doesn't need a drink of ink to get going if not used very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geeat product, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer (Accessory)
The printer is smaller than I expected. My previous Samsung had a bottom paper tray loader so I was a little disappointed that this one didn't but that aside, it prints super fast and has a black top finish which goes well with my PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samsung M2022W A4 Printer Xpress Mono Wireless Laser Printer
£79.90
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews