Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value if you liked all his stuff, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
I must admit i thought long and hard about purchasing this as i loved the first 3 albums before his disco period so why would i want another 11 albums. Well i am glad i did as a lot of the albums were a pleasant surprise and quite good.
So what do you get for your money all the albums from the period 1971-2006 and this is a lot of music.The box is sturdy enough for the cds which come in small cardboard sleeves and there is a booklet with it with comments by Sayer on every album which is nice. As most box sets are a lot more expensive than this and the amount of music you get for your money its hard to be negative. However, the cardboard sleeve cds are jamed into a box which is not really big enough so its a problem pulling them out which wont add to the life of the cardboard sleeves after a while. So all in all good value for money new remasters and great sound i suppose it all depends if you liked his later work to go for the whole box but i am glad i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just a box..., 25 Aug 2014
By 
Jog (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
Although it doesn't really mention being remastered anywhere in the box or leaflet, the sound quality of this set is absolutely terrific. Comparing an earlier so-called digitally remastered US version of Endless Flight (with a quiet and hissy You Make Me Feel Like Dancing) with the disc in this box is like comparing night and day.

I played his first two albums to death when they first came out and love them still. I hate his Cliff Richard nonsense with Alan Tarney but love his latest self-produced Voice In My Head which is head and shoulders above anything since Endless Flight and can't wait for more albums if they're going to be like that...

If there was an extended or remixed version of You Make Me Feel Like Dancing, it's a shame it isn't included on the
bonus discs but other than that, this is so much more than just a box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just A Box - Leo Sayer, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Brad Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of all Leo Sayer's albums - some I had never heard before.

There are all the familiar tracks and quite a few unknown to me, which I am still working through. Leo seemed to fall out of favour after 5 years or so in the limelight, maybe due to the 'instant stardom' afforded others by reality TV shows. However within these albums is ample demonstration of the quality of a performer who is far more important than the 'here today gone tomorrow' stars of reality TV.

Excellent value and worth buying, even if you don't like everything. I am sure you would find more than enough in this collection to justify the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
Finally a definitive box set collection of all of Leo's albums - including two discs of rareities. Essential listening for fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding boxset with an outstanding price, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Leo Sayer and when I saw he was releasing a boxset that contained all of his albums, I just had to have it. This boxset is quite nice, it contains all of Leo's individual albums as well as a few discs of surprises that didn't make the albums. It also comes with a book that details the albums and tracks. Its wonderful to know the history behind the music. I fully recommend this boxset and you won't regret your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
This is absolutely fantastic. As a Leo Sayer fan I have most of his albums on vinyl; but to get them all together on CD is a real treat. I'm instantly back to my teenage years with the early albums. Don't think about it-buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast service and very nice cd's, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
Fast service and very nice cd's them
Very good songs not to miss and I reccomand them. Leo is a very good singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the entrance fee, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
A great introduction to the career of Leo Sayer. There are some real gems in here and they are not just the hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leo Sayer Box Set, 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
I do agree with the first reviewer.This is a really excellent value for money box set.It is nice to have everything together in one box.

Good points :
* Excellent value for money.You don't have to be a Leo Sayer fan to enjoy this.
* The two bonus cut cds are excellent featuring no LP B sides,non LP tracks, demos and unreleased music.
* Excellent informative booklet.
* Sturdy cardboard box.

Not so good points:
* Its a shame that the reverse artwork for some of the covers is taken directly from the LP artwork.In other words it says Side A and Side B.You would have thought that with the attention paid to doing the box set which is very good, small details like artwork could have been amended.
* In my case I had no problem with the card cd sleeves fitting into the box.My concern was that the booklet was too big to fit into the box with or without the cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just A Box - The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2006 (Audio CD)
Great package and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews