Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2013
Over recent years music fans have seen their favorite albums repackaged in so many formats that it gets confusing to keep up to date.In many cases these repackaged CDs don't really hit the spot of what the fan is actually wanting especially in most cases they will be bought by the hardcore fan and not the casual listener. The key reason for this is simply that the artist has not got involved and handed over control to the record company- what a mistake and fortunately EBTG did not allow this. This is a band that not only cares about how it's backlist is represented but most importantly the fan. I have been so satisfied with every release- so a huge thank you to Ben & Tracey for simply caring. Your backlist has been in my life for many years and it is a joy for me that these new editions add a new dimension to a really diverse and beautiful list. Lastly all the extras are truly appreciated! So if you are reading this do not hesitate in buying these releases while they are available!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
You really get some great stuff here. This was a busy time for ebtg and i remember seeing them in london. You get the full rich studio album (including b side stuff as well) and also...well basically ebtg went a little bit acoustic and did a lot of eps.They are all on here. You also get demos from the album played with piano so it has that acoustic feel. You get some live stuff reflecting the acoustic concerts era. I remember something from that era where talent was expressed with just voice and an acoustic guitar. You gets loads of tracks here squeezed onto 2 discs so if thats not worth the money anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
I have had "Worldwide" on CD since it came out and it's still an album I enjoy with some great tracks - Frozen River and Twin Cities are big favourites. I jumped at buying this one to get all the Covers and Acoustic EPs one one disc, and was pleasantly surprised to find even more - demos, remixes and a 7-track "Live 1990-1994" section. Good value and a great addition to my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
This release marks a difficult step in EBTGs career . Returning from the states after a successful , polished , adult contemporary jazz album which sold over a half million copies ( the language of Life ) and playing to large crowds , sell out venues in the US , Tracey and Ben found themselves in the diffcult situation of getting out of the box they were put in as a band and having lost their foothold within their audience , and being ignored in the UK again (as Tracey describes in her beautiful autobiography ) . With some stepping back , you can hardly notice very big inspiration in the songs except of the lovely and very honest British Summertime . Tracey and Ben were at the time not very proud of this release and consider it as their weakest . It 's not a bad album . It 's only refelecting the fatalistic mood they were in as they had to fulfill a contract and release a new album . Even the music press didn't bother rewiew it . It was gone under . The title the band wanted to have for this album was Understanding Understanding was vetoed Worldwide against by the record company . And there was no need to tour in the UK with it . They were very welcome in Japan , the States , but England ?
If you're a true fan like me , of course you own the original release already . The singles . The " The Only Boy Living In NY " and " I Didn't I Was Looking For Love " EPs , produced by Phil Ramone , which are indispensable not only because of the great acoustic tracks on them , The US release Acoustic which is a must have in any collection with its wondrous cover and acoustic versions ... So you ask yourself , why should i buy the new re-release ? Well , i advice you to do . Because this has a lot to offer . Beginning with the unreleased track Thirteen and the live tracks , recorded in Toronto, Canada in 1994 , and in London , especially that version of Carole Kings Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow ...
For my part I won't stop begging for a double or triple live album ... The Toronto concert , the Manchester one , The one In Minneapolis , or any concert with Kirk Whalum on sax from the language of Life tour :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
I have always had a big soft spot for this CD and OMG the extra's are amazing. I lived in London during this period of EBTG's career and was lucky enough to see them perform live during their acoustic tour. The extra disc is full of acoustic gems and more it hard to pinpoint one favourite i like it all. The great thing is I can now make space in my CD drawer as this has most of the EP's I have all on one CD. My only complaint are the liner notes are a little hard to read - but to be honest it's all about the music and this has some truly beautiful tracks on it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Love EBTG! They sound slightly different here, so fresh & innocent here. I need to press the REPEAT button for every song! I have the original release but i decided to get this 2 CD Expanded Edition to hear mooooooooooooore! I feel satisfied!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Every thing that this Band produce is 5 star, The extra live tracks and cover versions sound great and raw.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
A Must HAVE for fans of EBTG, long out of print eps reissued in a stunning deluxe edition with remixes demos and live tracks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Really good to finally have this item, been waiting for it for a long time. Very glad to finally have it at last.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
lovely soulful cd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)