Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album
If what counts are the songs this is the best
album E.B.T.G. made so far.Two albums before the
huge success of"missing" and during the acoustic
period of the duo,Tommy LiPuma provided an impre-
ssive line up of musicians and a sophisticated,
but never overproduced, sound that respected and
served the songwriting style of...
Published on 8 Jan. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... and this has always been one of my least favourite CD's. However
I'm a massive fan of EBTG and this has always been one of my least favourite CD's. However, these amazing Deluxe editions have been a great buy. The care with which they have been produced has been worth the purchase. I particularly like hearing the difference in the demo's on songs such as Driving and also the live material.
Published 5 months ago by Mark Avellino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album, 8 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
If what counts are the songs this is the best
album E.B.T.G. made so far.Two albums before the
huge success of"missing" and during the acoustic
period of the duo,Tommy LiPuma provided an impre-
ssive line up of musicians and a sophisticated,
but never overproduced, sound that respected and
served the songwriting style of E.B.T.G.
Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn provided a collection
of songs that makes it almost impossible to find
a weak moment.
I've enjoyed all their albums.This one is at
the top of the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classy Summer Listen, 12 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt have been together as a duo fo a long time and are so good they refuse to be put into a category. The music world knows how good they are though and you will to once you listen to Tracey Thorn's lovely and silky vocals on the Ben Watt songs. Diana Krall's long time producer Tommy Lipuma gives this CD exactly the right feel.
Thorn and Watt took a vacation from England to sunny California and this CD has a light and sunny feel all the way through. Even the more serious "Meet Me in the Morning" and "The Language of Life", about a man without the words to communicate with his wife and children are given such a classy pop production it doesn't bog things down. This effort from Everything But the Girl is like a cool wet mist in your face on a hot drive along the coast with the top town.
This is pop music the way it is suppose to sound and one listen of this CD and you'll be looking on Amazon for more.Tracey Thorn has one of the most beautiful voices in the business and Watt writes some incredible songs with equally great arrangements. If your tired of the mundane and long for something in the light jazz and pop area then start with this CD. Good music is still being made and here is absolute proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how all re-releases should be done!, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Over recent years music fans have seen their favorite albums repackaged in so many formats that it gets confusing to keep up to date.In many cases these repackaged CDs don't really hit the spot of what the fan is actually wanting especially in most cases they will be bought by the hardcore fan and not the casual listener. The key reason for this is simply that the artist has not got involved and handed over control to the record company- what a mistake and fortunately EBTG did not allow this. This is a band that not only cares about how it's backlist is represented but most importantly the fan. I have been so satisfied with every release- so a huge thank you to Ben & Tracey for simply caring. Your backlist has been in my life for many years and it is a joy for me that these new editions add a new dimension to a really diverse and beautiful list. Lastly all the extras are truly appreciated! So if you are reading this do not hesitate in buying these releases while they are available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Robert Machin (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Not just the most underrated EBTG album, but an absolutely underrated classic by any standards. Beautiful, bitter-sweet (sorry) songs, great musicianship, swinging arrangements, Tracey Thorn in tremendous voice - what's not to love about this great album? I must have played it a thousand times, but it comes up fresh every time, and has never dated like some of the Girl's earlier (and even later) stuff. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near-Perfect, 24 April 2014
By 
Steve C "Steve C" (Staffordshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Some people 'complain' it's over-produced; I like to think of it being superbly engineered and well-produced, delivering their songs and sound without no irritating 'it could've sounded so much better' moments.
Perfect, laid-back, Sunday morning neo-jazz ... sounding as good now as it did decades ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would the Roof Fall in?, 17 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Is the deluxe edition worth splashing out the extra cash for? Is it worth replacing your original edition for? Yes, certainly. Most of the additional tracks, the live versions, home demos and variation mixes are a pleasant luxury. However, the song 'Will the Roof Fall in?' is an essential for all fans. What a beautiful song! How was it excluded from the original 10 tracks? Who knows. But it is never too late to correct a wrong. 'Baby. Would you cry if I told you everything I feel?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... and this has always been one of my least favourite CD's. However, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
I'm a massive fan of EBTG and this has always been one of my least favourite CD's. However, these amazing Deluxe editions have been a great buy. The care with which they have been produced has been worth the purchase. I particularly like hearing the difference in the demo's on songs such as Driving and also the live material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is still worth getting the delux version as you get some nice live stuff and demos done with the piano which ..., 18 April 2015
By 
B. J. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
I was a little dissapointed with the extras on disc 2 especially the last 4 saxaphone outakes where the song just cuts out. It is still worth getting the delux version as you get some nice live stuff and demos done with the piano which are great.Apart from the the outtakes its worth paying the extra for the delux version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They did it again.., 19 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Another great album from Ms Thorn and Mr Watts - more great tunes (though I had become used to the club version of "Drivin") and Tracey uses her voice to lift them into another league. Many would be happy if this were their greatest album ever - for EBTG it's just another day at the office..highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, A+, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Really good to finally have this item, been waiting for it for a long time. Very glad to finally have it at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Language Of Life
The Language Of Life by Everything But the Girl (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews