Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classy Summer Listen
Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt have been together as a duo fo a long time and are so good they refuse to be put into a category. The music world knows how good they are though and you will to once you listen to Tracey Thorn's lovely and silky vocals on the Ben Watt songs. Diana Krall's long time producer Tommy Lipuma gives this CD exactly the right feel.
Thorn and Watt...
Published on 12 Jan 2003

versus
5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glossy eighties production, second rate songs
This is probably the weakest of all the EBTG albums. The songs aren't as strong as previous albums
and the music is rendered hollow and soulless by the dreadful eighties sounding production.
The addition of the contemporary "jazz" musicians doesn't help. Where Miles Davis and Chet Baker
may have added some edge, Michael Brecker and Joe Sample just soften...
Published on 28 Mar 2008 by M. Cole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classy Summer Listen, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt have been together as a duo fo a long time and are so good they refuse to be put into a category. The music world knows how good they are though and you will to once you listen to Tracey Thorn's lovely and silky vocals on the Ben Watt songs. Diana Krall's long time producer Tommy Lipuma gives this CD exactly the right feel.
Thorn and Watt took a vacation from England to sunny California and this CD has a light and sunny feel all the way through. Even the more serious "Meet Me in the Morning" and "The Language of Life", about a man without the words to communicate with his wife and children are given such a classy pop production it doesn't bog things down. This effort from Everything But the Girl is like a cool wet mist in your face on a hot drive along the coast with the top town.
This is pop music the way it is suppose to sound and one listen of this CD and you'll be looking on Amazon for more.Tracey Thorn has one of the most beautiful voices in the business and Watt writes some incredible songs with equally great arrangements. If your tired of the mundane and long for something in the light jazz and pop area then start with this CD. Good music is still being made and here is absolute proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album, 8 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
If what counts are the songs this is the best
album E.B.T.G. made so far.Two albums before the
huge success of"missing" and during the acoustic
period of the duo,Tommy LiPuma provided an impre-
ssive line up of musicians and a sophisticated,
but never overproduced, sound that respected and
served the songwriting style of E.B.T.G.
Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn provided a collection
of songs that makes it almost impossible to find
a weak moment.
I've enjoyed all their albums.This one is at
the top of the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how all re-releases should be done!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Over recent years music fans have seen their favorite albums repackaged in so many formats that it gets confusing to keep up to date.In many cases these repackaged CDs don't really hit the spot of what the fan is actually wanting especially in most cases they will be bought by the hardcore fan and not the casual listener. The key reason for this is simply that the artist has not got involved and handed over control to the record company- what a mistake and fortunately EBTG did not allow this. This is a band that not only cares about how it's backlist is represented but most importantly the fan. I have been so satisfied with every release- so a huge thank you to Ben & Tracey for simply caring. Your backlist has been in my life for many years and it is a joy for me that these new editions add a new dimension to a really diverse and beautiful list. Lastly all the extras are truly appreciated! So if you are reading this do not hesitate in buying these releases while they are available!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Robert Machin (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Not just the most underrated EBTG album, but an absolutely underrated classic by any standards. Beautiful, bitter-sweet (sorry) songs, great musicianship, swinging arrangements, Tracey Thorn in tremendous voice - what's not to love about this great album? I must have played it a thousand times, but it comes up fresh every time, and has never dated like some of the Girl's earlier (and even later) stuff. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near-Perfect, 24 April 2014
By 
Steve C "Steve C" (Staffordshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Some people 'complain' it's over-produced; I like to think of it being superbly engineered and well-produced, delivering their songs and sound without no irritating 'it could've sounded so much better' moments.
Perfect, laid-back, Sunday morning neo-jazz ... sounding as good now as it did decades ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, A+, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Really good to finally have this item, been waiting for it for a long time. Very glad to finally have it at last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jazzy album from EBTG!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
The had a little change in this album....they collaborated with some of the best talent people from the jazz music scene. Love this album so much especially Driving, Imagining America & The Road. I have the original release but i decided to get this 2 CD expanded edition to hear more.... Those bonus tracks sound so fresh to me, i feel good & satisfied :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for fans., 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
This is an excellent album. Some of the production is a little dated. A few sax and guitar solos will make you cringe. But the songs are very well written and both Tracey and Ben really pushed themselves in terms of their vocals. The bonus disc contains an unreleased track, some interesting demos and remixes, and a few essential live performances. This is a unique album in the EBTG discography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic EBTG, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
A beautiful reissue of the classic EBTG album. Well selected bonus disc. A must have for all fans BUY NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss it ! Absolutely Brilliant., 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Language Of Life (Audio CD)
Since the release of the first 4 Deluxe EBTG albums , which i by the way didn't buy , because i already had all those B-Sides , live tracks , and the US version of the first album . The demo versions presenting no special interest for me ( i could have gone weak for an acoustic version of Angel or Little Hitler but as it didn't happen , i was waiting for the Plus Version of The language of Life ,which is a very special album to me .
Don't call me a freak , but i have this album as cassette, vinyl , and three CDs . The german edition , the american , and the japanese one, the latter sounding lightly better than the rest . I am a kind of audiophile and i've been a sound perfectionist for the last 25 years . This album is musically speaking one of the best Tracey and Ben did . The production including " la creme de la creme " of sessions musicians of the time , like Omar Hakim, Russel Ferrante , Michael Landau , John Pattituci, Kirk Walhum , Larry Williams , Lenny Castro , Joe Sample, Michael Brecker and Stan Getz among others is of a very high level . The music , the arrangements , Tracey 's voice , all of this is brilliant . Sadly the sound enginnering didn't match the quality of the music. I don't mean it sounds bad . It's by far a lot better than Baby the stars shine bright , which is EBTGs worst sounding album from an audiophile point of view . But it's not as good as Amplified Heart . I wish they had hired someone like Gary Pagzosa who did such great jobs like on a lot of Alison Krauss' productions . This could have been a better sounding album as it would really have desserved better engineering and mixing quality .
I am very happy with this new package . There are the live songs i was looking for . I met Ben Watt on the first of his solo concerts in London back in August this year , and told him how much i miss a live album . I loved very much the bonus live tracks on the Missing Single and would have given up a kidney for the whole set . He told me they were about to release some albums with some demos and live tracks . And this is what i was longing for . Unfortunately no acoustic set , but the 5 tracks recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon in October 1990 are stunning , especially Me and Bobby Dee . These 5 Songs alone are worth buying the CD, even if Meet Me In The Morning was already released as a Bonus on the " Twin Cities " Single .
You get also two demo songs Tracey and Ben played to Tony Lipuma in his studio in New York to convince him produce the album and you will feel how much heart and soul they were putting on that rendition . There's a great alternative version of The Road on which Stan Getz is playing his solo part a different way , and some alternative takes of Michael Brecker on Driving and Letting Love Go . The remixes of Driving and Take Me are worth discovering if you don't have them already .
I like very much the synth bass line on the home version of Driving which is a gem .
Another track , which didn't make it on the album is also included here . Will The Roof Fall In is a beautiful song . It is closer to the songs on Idlewild than those of The Language Of Life and of course has the same ugly drum machine which almost ruined the beautiful songs of Idlewild :-) . I'm happy they didn't use it anymore . I still don't understand why they didn't hire a proper drummer for the studio sessions . There's a bootleg of a Liverpool concert they did in march 1988 on the web , and they are playing with Damon Butcher on keyboards , Steve Sanger on drums ,Steve Pearce on bass and Pete King on sax who is doing an absolutely great job and you can hear the difference .
So i hope we will get the chance to become that whole Hammersmith Odeon concert integrally or a a whole acoustic set recorded in the UK , France, Canada, Japan or elsewhere ... Ben and Tracey , we have been following your career for nearly 30 years now and we won't give up . So please work on that !!!
5 stars , what else ? I wish i could give it more ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Language Of Life
The Language Of Life by Everything But the Girl (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews