Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked It
Easy to set up, anda good picture is producud. Amazon did not state in the description that a connection was provided, so I bought one that I did not need. Lucky for me a relative was able to use it
Published 8 months ago by Howard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks refinement
Bought this from a local supermarket since it was cheaper from on here. I've been using it for around six months and in summary it works fine, but there are simply too many minor niggles for me to be truly happy with it.

On the plus side as I said, it works, and nice and quietly too. It's seems fairly reliable even on DVD+RW that have been recorded a few...
Published 2 months ago by Andrew S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked It, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
Easy to set up, anda good picture is producud. Amazon did not state in the description that a connection was provided, so I bought one that I did not need. Lucky for me a relative was able to use it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks refinement, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
Bought this from a local supermarket since it was cheaper from on here. I've been using it for around six months and in summary it works fine, but there are simply too many minor niggles for me to be truly happy with it.

On the plus side as I said, it works, and nice and quietly too. It's seems fairly reliable even on DVD+RW that have been recorded a few dozen times and are sometimes problematic on other DVD players. It's a physically small player too, so this was able to fit in a better place than the previous player it replaced.

On the downside the remote is truly appalling - it's physically tiny and feels cheap. I've had better feeling remotes from pound shops. More significantly the angle over which it is useful is very narrow so unless you are physically sat directly in front of the TV don't expect it to work first time.

This gets even more annoying in that the fast forward and rewind functions have multiple speeds but the settings for each are plain daft - the initial fast forward setting isn't much more than a mute button since it advances at perhaps 1.5x original speed. Going up a level isn't much better but the level after that skips minutes at a time - if the remote doesn't register your "play" button press you can easily find yourself half an hour away from where you told it to resume playback. To add insult to injury if you then try to rewind back to where you wanted to be you go past that point since the rewind speed is insanely fast even on the lowest setting.

As for USB playback, you are basically rolling the dice as to whether it works or not. If it works it works fine apart from the remote and those speed issues when searching - more important here since you don't have chapter marks. However, the range of formats it supports is very limited and not documented anywhere so you have no idea if a given video is going to play before you try it.

The rear connection is via phono socket but the British version I received came with a phono-SCART conversion cable. That works to get the image and audio to the TV but lacks any other support you'd get from a native SCART connection, such as automatic channel change to the DVD or automatic switching between widescreen and 4:3 aspect ratio.

So, yes, it works but I'm disappointed with it. In hindsight I would have rather spent another £10 on a player and got something altogether better than this unit. The annoying thing is that a lot of the problems are not even about cutting the cost of manufacture - fixing them would cost nothing extra on a per-unit basis. Rather they are down to a simple lack of care, attention and testing during product development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG DP132 Slim DVD Player, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. B. Wright "Book Wright" (Colchester, Essex. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
This item was bought for its simplicity and efficiency. Previously I had a DVD Recorder which became redundant when I installed a BT Box which records at the touch of one button. I tried to use the old recorder to play DVDs, but was reduced to 30 minutes of frustration and swearing as I was repeatedly told to "Insert Disc" and then when I complied it was spat out only to request again "Insert Disc".
Having seen the LG DP132 on Amazon, and read the full details, I was convinced it was the right appliance for me. It arrived quickly and was so easy to connect. Now I turn off the BT Box, use the TV Remote to select [AUX}, turn on the LG Player, insert the disc and sit back. No more crawling around and suffering frustration. BLISS.

Brian5W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargain!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
As soon as the LG dvd player arrived I set it up which was quite straightforward and it played back perfectly, the great thing about it is that it doesn't take up a lot of space and has a usb socket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact dvd player, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
The player arrived on time in excellent condition and in good working order. The price was good so overall pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EASY TO SET UP, EASY TO USE, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
Purchased this DVD player for my mother who needed to replace her old player. It is very compact and made her old DVD player look a bit of a monster. It is very basic and easy to use (my mother doesn't like too many confusing functions). It was very easy to connect and usable immediately, she is very pleased with it. If you don't require a DVD player with too many functions on it and just want it to play DVDs, then this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
Excellent item and very quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
good when it eventually got here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
compact and easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG DP132 Slim DVD Player (Electronics)
Great purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LG DP132 Slim DVD Player
LG DP132 Slim DVD Player by LG Electronics
£38.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews