Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the recordings (well, nearly) in one box set.
The chances are that if you're reading this then you already know who Fields of the Nephilim are/were and what these albums are about, in which case what your probably really interested in is specifics such as the remastering quality and the additional tracks.

OK, first things first then, a note on the Beggars Banquet website states that Elizium was remastered...
Published 7 months ago by Andy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music great 5*, presentation not what I expected
I've been a fan of the Neph for (eek) over 20 years and as my original CD's have got quite scratched I decided to buy this set to replace them.
Maybe I was a bit naive to expect it, but I was disappointed firstly, not to have proper CD cases. The discs just sit in cardboard sleeves leaving them more likely to get scratched or damaged, especially as I'd intended using...
Published 2 months ago by MrsBartolozzi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the recordings (well, nearly) in one box set., 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
The chances are that if you're reading this then you already know who Fields of the Nephilim are/were and what these albums are about, in which case what your probably really interested in is specifics such as the remastering quality and the additional tracks.

OK, first things first then, a note on the Beggars Banquet website states that Elizium was remastered from the analogue originals but that the other recordings had to be remastered from digital sources for various reasons and it does sound as though most of the recordings have been remastered (or at the very least re-EQ'd) with the exception of Earth Inferno which to me sounds identical to the original. The remastering is subtle and sympathetic and not harsh and "in your face" as some other remasters have been, and as such there is a noticeable improvement over the original releases on this score - Dawnrazor now has more depth, sounding less tinny and sparse, The Nephilim is certainly clearer (and not at all muddy) and Sumerland (from Elizium) now has the same sonic balance as the rest of the album.

Next then we have the additional tracks which appear either tagged onto the end of their associated album or on an additional disc of Singles and Mixes, giving us all 5 versions of Psychonaut, 4 versions of Moonchild and 3 versions of Blue Water to name but a few. We don't get the live versions of Power and Vet For The Insane from the Moonchild 12" but we do get the full length version of In Every Dream Home a Heartache (with the false ending that was previously edited out on the Revelations compilation). So on the whole, a fairly exhaustive collection of songs that (nearly) includes all the bands recordings from their Beggars Banquet days.

So, all in all, a nicely put together collection of all the Fields of the Nephilim's recordings (well, nearly) in one box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Gothic., 25 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Jarvis "Rocco-man" (Warwickshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
Without doubt the finest Gothic band to have walked the earth in dusty boots!
This box set is just the best 15 anyone could spend, it contains the first three albums, live cd and rarities disc.
Dawnrazor (1987) displays great promise and includes some great songs but sounds like a collected body of songs rather than being an album proper. The sound is kinda generic for Beggars Banquet at the time so the band don't sound as unique and coherent as in subsequent albums; next is The Nephilim (1988) and the magic begins. Moving, haunting, emotive, this album sweeps you along bathed in strings, hypnotic bass and then Mc.Coy's sublime vocals. A truly great album which with songs like 'Moonchild' and the brooding yet epic 'Last Exit...' how could it get better? Well, strangely enough with 'Elysium' (1990). This is the masterpiece, this album from its opening note to the final fade is just beyond praise, still for me the epitome of the gothic genre. All the mood, atmosphere and depth of the previous album but here is a warmth and serenity that wraps around you and takes you somewhere otherworldly.As amazing now as it was the first time I heard it! Then comes 'Earth Inferno' (1991), a live album that shows that this band can capture all the facets that make their music so captivating even on stage. Well recorded for the time and with all the essential songs 'Earth Inferno' is a great testament to the creativity and musicianship of the band (particularly with this original line-up).
The bonus disc 'Singles & Mixes' is a little treasure box of alternate versions and mixes (all good, not messed with too much)!

Often imitated, these are the godfathers of gothic music (along with Bauhaus, Sisters of Mercy etc of course), later releases on other labels are 'Zoon' (1996), 'Fallen' (2002) (a conroversial release as Carl Mc.Coy claims the album was unfinished and not ready for consumption (it was released during a rift between Mc.Coy and Jungle Recs.) but is actually very good!! 'Mourning Sun' follows in 2005, a new line-up and a cleaner sound,(title track amazing)! Then most recently 'Ceremonies' (2012), a wonderful live collection also with DVD that leaves me gasping for more. New material is promised. Soon I hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ITEM !, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
For all middle aged Goths out there....The Fields of the Nephilim were never a trendy Goth band lacking the the catchiness of bands like The Cult and Sisters of Mercy...but that doesn't impair their ability to make music that makes you listen, think and immerse yourself into their world. This release contains their first 3 Studio albums, a live album and singles / remixes which always seems to be included in these packs. The strength of this band lies in the orchestration and dynamics of the songs along with Carl McCoy's haunting vocals that make FON stand out from the other Goth bands of this era. Stop listening during a song and you will miss something ! Currently on tour they capture the studio sound and atmosphere with ease and panache. Carl's performance on stage is nothing short of sublime and his understated lack of antics and screaming adds to the performance. There's no " let me see your hands in the air" rubbish here. Buy this album, turn up the volume, turn off the lights and listen to what goes bump in the night "At the gates of Silent Memory"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A top notch release for Nephilim fans, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
Chances are you already familiar with the band so I won't go into detail about the albums tracks, so I'll just mention the bits that are extra. Firstly, I've compared the albums to the original releases and it does appear that they have been remastered. The good news is they don't fall foul of compression. The sound is clear but still maintains the depth of sound and all tracks sound better than before. The difference is small, but it's there. The mixes and singles CD is a great extra and something I've wanted for a long time as most of the tracks found here were only available on vinyl (although some were included on a limited 2 disc version of revelations). The version of psychonaut that is bassless for the first 4 minutes or so is great and although released on CD single is quite rare, so great to have it included. Likewise with 'In Every Dream Home A Heartache'. The only thing I would change, and this is nit picking to be honest, is that the single version of 'psychonaut should have been on the 'Nephilim' album, not 'Elysium', which it is here. Just due to it being produced by Bill Buchanan. But as I say, this is really nit picking. Each CD comes in a thin cardboard sleeve with the original art work and all are housed in a rather lovely box. For the price this is a steal. Worth getting even if you already have these albums. A great release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
Really loved this - the sound quality is really good and i't great to get all the singles and mixes in one collection at last. Artwork is great and the box is cool too. Only one complaint - the live tracks from the Moonchild 12" and Sumerland 12" are not included which is a shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required listening for all FOTN fans!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
This is a bargain at the price I recently paid! The re-mastering sounds very good on Dawnrazor especially. The 12" mixes are wonderful as I love all the versions of Bluewater and Moonchild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 Mar 2014
By 
T. Waller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
Fantastic box set. I already had the albums but am a sucker for anything 'remastered' and did find one track in the Singles CD that I didn't have. For the money you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than worth the price...., 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. Hardy (Leominster, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
....just for Earth Inferno. Let down a little by the insipid singles and remixes disc but made up for by the extra tracks on each cd. A must for any Neph fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Douse yourself in flour,put on your cowboy hat,your there.., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
A band from my teens,i know they were pompous but i love it,in a fine package too for a very fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value but..., 2 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Albums Box Set - Dawnrazor/The Nephilim/Elysium/Earth Inferno/Singles and Mixes (Audio CD)
some of the tracks are incorrectly named. Definitely not a dealbreaker but how hard could it be to get it right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews