Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now going to be essential reading for me, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
It started off with the bare, and potentially beautiful, bones of The Bathhouse story, which helped to win Michael Milton a place on a Masters Creative Writing Degree Programme.

It then went on to show the various line by line edits, and helpful tips from other authors with a second draft.

Then a few words of wisdom from the man himself.

BAM then we're hit with the the final draft of The Bathhouse, which is truly beautiful by the way.

For anybody looking to improve their creative writing this is a must have book, no wonder it was an Amazon Best seller.

I can see this as being an essential go to book, for a top up on the creative process, or simply to lift my spirits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for any aspiring writer., 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
Not only an excellent guide for any aspiring short-story writer, but also a great tale and a great source of inspiration to start writing yourself. Michael's prose is honest and a pleasure to read, and his tips are invaluable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short story review, 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
This book was really helpful. I'm a newbie to writing and all the tips were very helpful indeed - all really easy to understand with great examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-read for writers, 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
An excellent guide packed full of great tips and advice for any aspiring writer who just doesn't know where to begin with their own short story. From First Draft to Final Product, we get a complete and straightforward step-by-step breakdown of the writing process via one of the author's own piece of work, a touching story which is an added bonus to read. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
An interesting exercise with a detailed documentation, packed full of useful and out of the box tips perfect for anyone keen to improve their writing. Moreover, a genuinely lovely and touching story and a beautiful piece of writing. Great read, great advice, great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great companion when you're writing a short story, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
I read this while I was in the middle of writing my first novella/short story and it was a real friend and companion on my journey. If you are struggling, have ground to a halt and just looking for a nice book with an author who get's that, then this is a good, quick book to get you started again. After the nearly two years it has taken to complete, my book is on the verge of being published - yeh! It's authors of books like this one I give my grateful thanks to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener., 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
Michael managed to make it clear that there is a lot more to writing than just sitting down with an idea in your head and a keyboard. I have gained a genuine respect for writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, as interesting a read as the example short story itself., 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
A great read for anyone wanting to get their stories down on paper but aren't sure how to go about it. The author's own short story which he uses as a example is in itself an interesting read and keeps this guide fresh while at the same time allowing us to follow the creative process more easily by seeing its development from first to final draft. A must-read guide for aspiring short story writers, especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Writers' Guide, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
What Michael Milton has done in this writers' guide is, as far as I'm aware, unique, and quite brave. He has put in the first draft of his story, The Boathouse, then shown readers line by line feedback and comments (from other writers), then used these to write a second and ultimately a final draft of the same story. It was very interesting to see how this story evolved from being good to excellent. It reiterates the point that leaving your story to settle for a while and getting constructive feedback from others is essential.

Not only has he shown us this process, but this guide also has lots of hints and tips about writing and honing the craft. Part III of the book is titled: Simple Writing Tips I Wish I'd Been Told When I was Starting Out and it covers elements of 'character building', 'productivity', 'planning your story' and 'editing'.

Milton also looks at theories of writing, such as Campbell's Monomyth, or The Hero's Journey, and applies this to his story to create a clear understanding of how it can be applied in practice. Also covered is Syd Field's 3 Arc Structure, Gregory David Roberts' Architecture of Shantaram and David Mitchell's herringbone diagram. At the end of each theory is a 'Use If', i.e. the herringbone diagram "USE IF: You want a detailed plan in one place, on one sheet of paper, that can be stuck on the wall above your computer."

Finally there is a long list of resources for writers to use. Overall I think this is an excellent guide for writers and it reminds you of simple good practices as well as introducing you to some excellent new ideas. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I highly recommend this!, 12 Oct 2013
This review is from: SHORT STORY: From FIRST Draft to FINAL Product (Kindle Edition)
I'm new to writing and really didn't know how or where to start. Stumbled upon this book by chance and at a glance it seemed ideal. Its been a wise purchase!...I highly recommend this as a great starting point for anyone wanting to dip their toe into the world of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews