Customer Reviews


3,054 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,755)
4 star:
 (700)
3 star:
 (372)
2 star:
 (138)
1 star:
 (89)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


199 of 213 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When All Else Fails, Only Hope Remains
The cruelty of the human race never fails to amaze me. I have no doubt that Solomon Northup's narrative is as accurate as it can be, but the content of this book is truly shocking. This glimpse into African American enslavement is one of horror and shows just how brutal man can be to his fellows.

Solomon is captured and enslaved against his will, removed from...
Published 18 months ago by Anari

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ohhh...
I know its probably a sin to say it but I found this book really boring, even the fact it was a true story couldn't keep me gripped. It was too slow for my liking. I can't believe I am saying this but I think I would rather have watched the film!
Published 13 months ago by Nichola J Langton


‹ Previous | 1154 155 156306 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Execellent, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The book is very well written. it was easy to picture the scenery and the weather, you are right in there in the story all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve years a slave, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Really got into this true story. It is a sad and uplifting story, but fortunately a happy ending recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A very well told account of events which it is hard to believe are in such recent history.

Why amazon feel the need to dictate the length of your review is a mystery though!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Most of us knew how slaves must have suffered but to read the true account of how awful it actually was something else. I cannot imagine how any of them could survive such dreadful, cruel treatment for in most instances for something quite trivial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the honesty in his writing, one can really gain a realistic picture of how things were..the good and the bad. There is little judgement in the writing, one really is left to decide for themselves what they feel about slavery and the people enforcing it. After reading this as a true story, one can only be moved. Description of the court case was a little confusing and the book ends rather abruptly, but a good overall read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Really interesting book couldn't put it down but can be a little difficult to read at times because of the way its written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent description of a seemingly hopeless situation for a person to find themselves in within a civilised (?) society., 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The strength of the author's spirit under relentless suffering is impressive and shines through the horror of slavery - an excellent read and an education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TWELVE YEARS A SLAVE REVIEW, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting story well wrote considering the year the story happened.
It must have been absolute hell to live this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 12 years a slave, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A very well written book,obviously by someone who was really there and not just from research.I cannot wait now to see the film1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Frightening because true.But brave and amazing as well.And full of detail about the farming methods of the time. i liked it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1154 155 156306 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave
Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews