Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars2,926
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2014
A horrifying and heartbreaking true story but well worth reading. I could not put my kindle down until I had finished. Very touching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
A harrowing tale. Northup's capacity for hope is inspirational. The horrors of slavery are emotively encapsulated in this true story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Fantastic first hand portrayal without trying to sway the reader, authentic language can be hard at times but adds to the experience.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
it was very interesting and educational, I would recommend this book to anyone, I will now watch the film to compare it with the book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
WAS EXPECTING IT TO BE RIVETING BUT, SADLY, NOT UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS. ONE OF THOSE RARE TIMES WHEN THE FILM IS BETTER THAN THE BOOK.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
... a harrowing, emotional and heartbreaking read ... but a necessity to read so the fact and reality of slavery never be forgotten.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
I bought this book after I saw the movie, as I wanted to have a more specifi view of the event seen by the author.
Really good !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Loved this book. Heartrending at times but written with an extraordinary frankness and honesty. I consider this book to be a classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Very well written,good narrative,unsentimental,more to add to the film which inspired me to read it,would recommend it as a good read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
enjoyed this book,did not know how hard life was for slaves.this book was not my usual kind of book and was not sure I would like it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.80
£1.37

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.