Customer Reviews


1,943 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,099)
4 star:
 (463)
3 star:
 (244)
2 star:
 (84)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
The story of Soloman Northup is both horrifying and heartbreaking and all the more devastating when you know that it is true. I have seen the film and although it is excellent, I feel that the book explains in more detail exactly what happened. There are parts in the film where I would have wondered why situations developed as they did and the book fills in those gaps...
Published 6 months ago by Chrissywissy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ohhh...
I know its probably a sin to say it but I found this book really boring, even the fact it was a true story couldn't keep me gripped. It was too slow for my liking. I can't believe I am saying this but I think I would rather have watched the film!
Published 4 months ago by Nichola J Langton


‹ Previous | 1140 141 142195 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars THE GOOD OLD DAYS!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Mike "ulmar" (Ulster, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
For the most part this was a cracking story which held the readers attention throughout. However the author seemed to run out of steam in the closing chapter almost as if he'd had enough of his 'fellow man.' Couldn't blame him considering the 'righteous folks' who kept slaves. I'd like to think they came to a terrible doom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
This book moved me to tears so many times, it is hard to believe people can be so cruel to other human beings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Moving, harrowing, eye-opening, yet written with no self pity. Couldn't put it down. Cannot wait to see the film now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to read the book before I see the film. I will be very interested to see how this will translate into the film as the book was written in the narrative. Very much about his feelings and observations. Loved the language, very old fashion as was written so long ago, have to admit I had to look some word up. Thank goodness for a Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Twel Years a Slave, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Am finding this hard going,but wont give up or take it off my Kindle.The Film was great.But will keep on trying with the Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Execellent, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The book is very well written. it was easy to picture the scenery and the weather, you are right in there in the story all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve years a slave, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Really got into this true story. It is a sad and uplifting story, but fortunately a happy ending recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A very well told account of events which it is hard to believe are in such recent history.

Why amazon feel the need to dictate the length of your review is a mystery though!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Most of us knew how slaves must have suffered but to read the true account of how awful it actually was something else. I cannot imagine how any of them could survive such dreadful, cruel treatment for in most instances for something quite trivial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the honesty in his writing, one can really gain a realistic picture of how things were..the good and the bad. There is little judgement in the writing, one really is left to decide for themselves what they feel about slavery and the people enforcing it. After reading this as a true story, one can only be moved. Description of the court case was a little confusing and the book ends rather abruptly, but a good overall read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1140 141 142195 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave
Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews